INDEX / DIRECTORY / JD SPORTS

JD Sports

Sports RetailFashion & Apparel 109 CITED SOURCES UPDATED 2026-09-08 METHOD V6.5
BDS-1000 Score 516 /1000 C Tier C - High
OWNERSHIP TREE 36 brands and group businesses View all

OpenIntel is reader-funded - no sponsors, no institutional money. Support OpenIntel →

Key Findings

  • Economic: JD Sports operated in Israel from 2022 through a 60%-owned joint venture with MGS, but disposed of its interests to MGS for nil consideration on 15 February 2026, with a £4 million exit provision.1
  • Digital: The former Israeli operation used Israeli-domiciled vendors WeDev, Priority Software and Kimonix for civilian e-commerce, retail-kiosk, ERP and merchandising functions; the evidence does not establish military or security end-use.2
  • Political: The political score is governed by Pentland’s historical, many-years provision of kit to Israeli Maccabiah teams, attributed to JD under the controlling-group doctrine. Rubin-family Wingate support and a verified £150,000 Foundation grant to UJIA in FY2024 are additional findings; the grant’s onward use is unspecified.3, 4
  • Not found: No public evidence identified of JD defence contracting, military supply, Israeli state-cloud participation, military/intelligence technology provision, or operations in settlements or occupied Palestinian territory.5

Target Profile

FieldDetail
Company NameJD Sports Fashion plc
JurisdictionEngland and Wales, United Kingdom; company number 01888425.6
HeadquartersHollinsbrook Way, Pilsworth, Bury, Lancashire BL9 8RR, United Kingdom.6
SectorMulti-brand sports-fashion and outdoor retail: clothing, footwear, accessories and equipment.7
OwnershipUK-listed company (LSE: JD.); Pentland Group Limited is immediate parent, Pentland Group Holdings Limited ultimate parent, and the Rubin family ultimate controlling party.1 A September 2026 notification recorded 55.9663% of voting rights in the Pentland chain.7
Key Executives / GovernanceRégis Schultz (Group CEO); Dominic Platt (CFO); Theresa Casey (general counsel and company secretary); Peter Agnefjäll (chair); Andy Long (Pentland executive director and shareholder representative on JD’s board).1, 8
Israeli-Nexus SummaryFormer majority-controlled Israeli retail joint venture and associated civilian Israeli retail technology suppliers; the equity interest was disposed of in February 2026, while documented controlling-group sporting and charitable acts remain in scope under the group-attribution doctrine.1, 3, 4

Key Facts:

Executive Summary

JD Sports Fashion plc is a UK-listed multi-brand sports-fashion retailer controlled through Pentland Group and, ultimately, the Rubin family.6, 7 Its principal documented Israel nexus was a commercial 60/40 joint venture with Israeli retailer MGS Sport Trading Ltd. JD held 60% interests in the Israeli entities during the relevant reporting period, with the venture operating JD-branded stores in Israel from 2022.1, 12 The documented locations were in Israel’s pre-1967 territory, including a Ben Gurion Airport Terminal 3 duty-free store and sites reported in Rishon LeZion, Eilat, Ashdod, Ra’anana, Nahariya and Yarka; no public evidence identified of a JD-owned store, warehouse, office, concession or other operation in the West Bank, East Jerusalem, Gaza, the Golan Heights, or an Israeli settlement.12, 13

The economic connection is mitigated materially by exit. JD announced that Israeli operations would cease from 1 February 2026 and completed disposal of its interests in the relevant JV entities to MGS on 15 February 2026 for nil consideration. Its FY2026 reporting records a £4 million provision associated with settlement of JD’s share of a bank guarantee to the venture’s external lender.1 The filings establish that JD no longer held the former equity interests after that date. They do not, however, expressly enumerate every possible residual contractual relationship; no public evidence identified of a continuing JD brand, franchise, supply, licence, royalty or other contractual tie with MGS after disposal.1

The former Israeli retail operation used Israeli-domiciled civilian technology providers. WeDev developed its Shopify Plus storefront, store kiosks, limited-release lottery mechanism and Priority ERP integrations; Priority Software supplied backend retail ERP; and Kimonix supplied AI merchandising for conversion optimisation.2, 14 WeDev describes its leadership as veterans of Israeli technology units who served Israeli state institutions including the IDF, but no public evidence identified of particular unit affiliations or that JD’s use of WeDev services involved military, intelligence, police, prison, settlement or other state-security end use.15 Likewise, no public evidence identified that JD participated in Project Nimbus, operated Israeli data-centre infrastructure, or supplied technology to Israeli military, intelligence or security bodies.5

The political score carries Pentland’s documented corporate conduct through to JD under the controlling-principal and integrated-group attribution doctrine. Distinguishing the legal actor does not exclude that act from the assessment. An institutional biography states that Pentland outfitted Israeli and UK Maccabiah teams “for many years,” and that the Rubin family supported Wingate Institute, including the Speedo Aquatic Centre.3 The available evidence does not establish dates, values, contractual parties, current continuation, or a JD corporate payment or direction. The Rubin Foundation Charitable Trust’s FY2024 report records a £150,000 grant to UJIA, but does not specify any restriction, onward beneficiary, military, settlement or programme allocation.4 UJIA describes programmes in Israel and an emergency intervention supporting mental-health assistance for IDF soldiers; that does not establish that the Rubin Foundation grant financed that intervention.16

The documented record does not support claims of JD military contracting, weapons supply, defence-prime integration, Israeli surveillance deployment, military logistics, settlement construction involvement, or conflict-specific political advocacy.5, 17 JD is not listed in the September 2025 OHCHR settlement-business database checked for this audit, and no JD entry was found in the referenced UN Special Rapporteur report; these are document-scoped findings, not proof of universal absence.18, 19 On the fixed, human-vetted V6.5 framework, the resulting BRS is 516, placing JD in Tier C (Substantial Complicity), driven principally by the political score and the historical economic-operation record rather than a military or digital-security nexus.

Timeline of Relevant Events

DateEvent
2021-07-28J.D. Israel Sports Fashion Ltd was incorporated in Holon, Israel; it became the legal vehicle associated with JD’s Israeli joint venture.20
2022JD entered Israel through a 60/40 joint venture with MGS and opened a first reported store at Ben Gurion Airport Terminal 3.12
2023-07JD’s franchise agreement with GMG was announced for GCC states and Egypt only, not Israel.11
2023-12The Israel Export Institute’s NRF 2024 catalogue included Selectika’s assertion that it worked with JD Sports; the catalogue did not identify the JD entity, market, deployment dates or current status.21
2024-08Public reporting described WeDev’s implementation of JD Sports Israel’s e-commerce site and in-store digital kiosks, including use at Azrieli Mall Rishonim.2
2024-11-26/27JD acquired 100% of Groupe Courir. JD’s account records 26 November 2024, while its completion announcement states 27 November 2024.1, 10, 22
2026-02-01Israeli reporting stated that the former JD Israel operation was to cease, with six stores identified as closing.23
2026-02-15JD disposed of its interests in the Israeli JV entities to MGS for nil consideration and recognised a £4 million exit provision.1
2026-09-03A regulatory holding notification recorded 55.9663% of JD voting rights in the Pentland ownership chain.7

Corporate Overview

JD Sports Fashion plc is a UK-incorporated public company and consumer retailer, not a defence, construction, infrastructure or dedicated technology company.6, 7 It sells third-party branded footwear, apparel, accessories and outdoor goods alongside a smaller private-label offering.9 Pentland Group Limited is its immediate parent, Pentland Group Holdings Limited its ultimate parent, and the Rubin family its ultimate controlling party; JD’s annual report states that it carries on its main activity independently from its controlling shareholder under a legally binding relationship agreement.1

JD’s former Israeli presence was a majority-controlled retail joint venture rather than a franchise. At 31 January 2026, its annual report listed JD Sports Fashion Israel (2021) Limited Partnership as trading and JD Sports Fashion Israel Ltd as non-trading, both 60%-owned and registered at HaMelacha 8, Holon; it also listed MGS Duty Free Partnership as a 29%-owned trading undertaking at that address.1 These reporting-date listings should not be treated as evidence of current ownership because the disposal to MGS occurred on 15 February 2026.1

The review found no public evidence of a JD-owned Israeli factory, research-and-development centre, data centre, accelerator, logistics hub, or settlement-based retail or supply operation.13, 17 The company’s former local commercial footprint therefore establishes an Israel-market connection, but not an occupied-territory operation. The public filings do not provide a post-disposal registry extract establishing the current ownership, activity, dissolution or renaming status of the former Israeli entities.1, 20

JD acquired Groupe Courir S.A.S in late 2024. Courir’s FY2025 reporting identified Israel among franchise jurisdictions, but FY2026 omitted Israel and listed other franchise jurisdictions without it. This omission is evidence against classifying a Courir Israel franchise as current, but is not an express closure notice; no public evidence identified of current Israeli Courir operations, their franchisee, store count, locations or end date.1, 10

Domain Summaries

Military: Military

Mechanism of Involvement

No public evidence identified of a JD Sports Fashion plc, former JD Israel entity, Pentland-controlled entity, or named controlled-entity contract with the Israeli Ministry of Defence, IDF, Israel Prison Service, Border Police or another Israeli security body.5, 17 The audited Israeli operation was described in JD’s filings as a civilian retail joint venture, and the filing identifies no military, security-force, prison-service, settlement or occupied-territory customer or contract.1

No public evidence identified of JD supplying weapons, munitions, tactical products, military-grade equipment, dual-use products, physical goods, logistics, base services, warehousing, freight, components or services to Israeli security bodies or defence primes.5, 17 JD’s military-discount programme in the United Kingdom is an individual consumer discount subject to retail terms; it does not identify a Ministry of Defence procurement authority, tender, purchasing commitment, military specification, delivery requirement or Israeli connection.24

No public evidence identified of a JD store, warehouse, supply point or military-adjacent operation in occupied territory, or of JD equipment or services connected to settlement construction, demolitions, checkpoints, the separation barrier, military bases or detention infrastructure.13, 17

Counter-Arguments and Evidence Limits

The strongest defence is that JD is a civilian consumer retailer, and its documented Israeli activity was a commercial retail JV that has since been disposed of.1, 9 Its disclosed products and infrastructure concern consumer retail; retailer-supplied third-party brands should not be converted into JD corporate military attribution absent evidence of a JD-specific act.9, 17

The absence findings are source-bounded. A lack of a JD-specific record in reviewed public materials does not prove that no relationship exists in non-public, classified, inaccessible, unindexed, non-English or otherwise unretrieved records.17 Conversely, protests at JD stores over Puma were directed at Puma’s former Israel Football Association sponsorship and do not substantiate a JD defence relationship.25

Named Entities and Evidence Map

Digital: Digital

Mechanism of Involvement

JD’s former Israeli retail operation used Israeli-domiciled commercial technology suppliers. WeDev Technologies acted as systems integrator for the Shopify Plus website, store kiosks, limited-release lottery mechanism and Priority ERP integrations; Priority Software provided retail ERP; and Kimonix provided AI merchandising for e-commerce conversion optimisation.2, 14 These are documented civilian retail applications.

WeDev states that its leadership includes veterans of technology units who served Israeli state institutions including the IDF.15 That self-description is not evidence that JD obtained defence, intelligence or surveillance services, nor does it identify unit affiliations such as Unit 8200 or Talpiot.15 The former Israeli platform used AWS cloud infrastructure, but no public evidence identified of the AWS region used.2

A January 2024 catalogue entry by the Israel Export Institute states that Selectika works with JD Sports and describes inventory tagging, e-commerce personalisation and returns/overstock reduction. The entry does not identify the JD contracting entity, market, dates, deployment status or military, intelligence, police, prison or settlement end use.21

Counter-Arguments and Evidence Limits

No public evidence identified that JD used Israeli-origin facial recognition, biometric identification, gait analysis, behavioural analytics, predictive policing, social-media monitoring or workforce-surveillance products in its operations.5 No public evidence identified that it operated Israeli data-centre infrastructure, participated in Project Nimbus, supplied data-resilience services to Israeli institutions, or provided AI, cyber, surveillance or digital-weapons capabilities to Israeli state, military or intelligence bodies.5

The digital record should not be hardened beyond its evidence. Israeli incorporation of a vendor, or a vendor leader’s past service, does not itself establish military end use by JD. The exact identity, scope and continuing status of the Selectika lead remain unresolved.15, 21 JD’s former Israel equity interest was disposed of in February 2026; retained technology or contractual relationships are not enumerated in the filing, though no public evidence identified of a continuing JD relationship after disposal.1

Named Entities and Evidence Map

Economic: Economic

Mechanism of Involvement

JD’s central economic nexus was its former majority interest in the Israel retail JV. The company entered Israel in 2022 through a 60% JD / 40% MGS venture, operating JD-branded stores and holding 60%-owned Israeli entities at the 31 January 2026 reporting date.1, 12 During the venture’s operation, JD would have been entitled to its share of any distributed venture profits; no public evidence identified of separately disclosed Israeli revenue, taxes, workforce, dividends, distributions or actual profit repatriation.1

The venture was reported as underperforming and was disposed of to MGS for nil consideration on 15 February 2026. JD recognised a £4 million exit provision connected to its bank-guarantee share for an external lender.1, 23 The primary filings establish exit from the former equity interests, while leaving open but undocumented the possibility of residual commercial arrangements. No public evidence identified of post-disposal JD revenue, profit, royalties, supply income, franchise fees, licences or other economic benefit from Israel.1

No public evidence identified that JD directly procured Israeli, settlement-origin or occupied-West-Bank goods, or that its former Israeli entities sourced settlement-origin goods into JD’s global supply chain.9 JD’s disclosed principal sourcing countries for own/private-label goods are India, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka, though country-level disclosure cannot rule out all indirect Israeli-origin inventory.9 No public evidence identified of JD investment in Israeli sovereign debt, Israel Bonds, defence finance, settlement lending or Israeli acquisitions.1, 17

Counter-Arguments and Evidence Limits

JD’s strongest defence is that it had a time-limited civilian retail investment rather than a settlement, defence or state enterprise, and that it exited the investment entirely in February 2026 at nil consideration.1 The known reported former store locations were within Israel’s pre-1967 territory, and no public evidence identified of JD-owned operations in occupied Palestinian territory or settlements.13

The exit is significant mitigation but cannot prove the absence of every residual relationship because the filings do not expressly negate all potential trademark, supply, licence, royalty, franchise or service arrangements.1 The evidence nevertheless does not identify any such continuing arrangement. Courir’s historical Israel franchise reference is similarly insufficient to establish a current operation after its omission from FY2026 franchise jurisdictions.1, 10

Named Entities and Evidence Map

Political: Political

Mechanism of Involvement

No public evidence identified of a JD corporate statement on Gaza, Israel-Palestine, a ceasefire or related humanitarian solidarity, or of Israel-specific political donations, lobbying, anti-BDS advocacy, settlement-event sponsorship or military-welfare funding by JD.17, 26 JD’s ESG communications address human-rights and supply-chain matters generically, rather than the conflict specifically.26

The governing political finding is Pentland’s corporate sporting association, attributed directly through JD’s controlling group. Family-level findings are also reviewed under the controlling-principal doctrine. The International Jewish Sports Hall of Fame biography for Stephen Rubin, listed as a 2008 honoree, states that Pentland outfitted Israeli and UK teams competing in the World Maccabiah Games “for many years” and that the Rubin family supported Wingate Institute, including development of its Speedo Aquatic Centre.3 Maccabi World Union describes the Maccabiah as a major initiative that connects participants to the State of Israel; its 2024 report also describes governmental support for the planned 2025 Maccabiah and activities involving IDF soldiers and the IDF Disabled Veterans Organization.27 Those organisational statements do not establish that JD, Pentland, Rubin family members or the Rubin Foundation financed or directed those activities.27

The Rubin Foundation Charitable Trust is an owner/family-associated charity rather than a demonstrated JD corporate vehicle.4 Its FY2024 report records £989,257 in donations, including a £150,000 UJIA grant. The filing does not specify purpose, restriction, onward beneficiary or military, settlement or programme allocation.4 UJIA’s own materials identify Israel-focused programming and an emergency intervention offering mental-health support for 100 IDF soldiers, but no evidence links the Foundation’s grant to that intervention.16

Counter-Arguments and Evidence Limits

JD’s annual report describes a separate board and a relationship agreement requiring its main activity to be conducted independently.1 That is a legal-governance distinction, not evidence sufficient to defeat the rubric’s controlling-group attribution: the same record identifies Pentland control, a shareholder representative and related-party commercial integration.1, 7, 8 The adjudicated score therefore treats the documented Pentland corporate kit association at Direct proximity, without requiring a separate JD payment or signature. The corporate association lasted many years, supporting M6.5; the available evidence does not prove a current renewal or post-ICJ continuation, and no such claim is made.3

The historical Pentland and Rubin-family references are materially incomplete. No primary record retrieved establishes their dates, value, legal recipient, contractual terms, funding source, current continuation, or JD corporate involvement.3 Wingate’s present statutory status cannot determine its legal status at the time of undated support.28 The UJIA grant’s onward use remains unverified. No public evidence identified in retrieved Foundation filings of grants to the IDF, FIDF, settlement organisations, JNF/KKL, reservist funds, Israeli defence firms or military-welfare bodies.4

Named Entities and Evidence Map

A July 2006 report also names Andy Rubin as a panellist at a UJIA fundraiser whose event total exceeded £4,000. It does not identify that total as his own donation or establish a continuing role; this historical participation is not the governing political frame.29

BDS-1000 Score

Method: V6.5

DomainIMPV-Domain Score
Military0.000.000.000.00
Digital0.000.000.000.00
Economic5.503.007.302.36
Political6.506.509.006.04

V_MAX is driven by Political: Pentland’s sustained corporate Maccabiah kit association supports Institutional Legitimation at I6.5, nearly-full-scale M6.5 and controlling-group Direct proximity P9. The UJIA grant does not govern that score and is not established as military financing. Economic reflects JD’s former majority-controlled Israel retail operation, moderated by the February 2026 disposal and the absence of verified settlement activity or identified continuing economic ties. Military and Digital remain zero because the audit found no public evidence of the required military, security, surveillance or state-technology nexus.

The V6.5 assessment records evidenced activity, scale and directness. It applies controlling-group attribution to documented acts, while excluding identity-based inference, unverified allegations and unrelated supplier conduct.

Methodology Note

Footnotes

  1. https://www.jdplc.com/wp-content/uploads/2026/07/2026-Annual-Report-and-Accounts.pdf ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9 ↩10 ↩11 ↩12 ↩13 ↩14 ↩15 ↩16 ↩17 ↩18 ↩19 ↩20 ↩21 ↩22 ↩23 ↩24 ↩25 ↩26 ↩27 ↩28 ↩29 ↩30 ↩31 ↩32 ↩33

  2. https://retailtechinnovationhub.com/home/2024/8/12/jd-sports-israel-teams-with-wedev-technologies-on-complex-and-rewarding-launch-of-new-in-store-digital-kiosks ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8

  3. https://jewishsportshof.org/listings/r-stephen-rubin/ ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8

  4. https://register-of-charities.charitycommission.gov.uk/en/charity-search?_uk_gov_ccew_onereg_charitydetails_web_portlet_CharityDetailsPortlet_objectiveId=A12784062&_uk_gov_ccew_onereg_charitydetails_web_portlet_CharityDetailsPortlet_priv_r_p_mvcRenderCommandName=%2Ffull-print&_uk_gov_ccew_onereg_charitydetails_web_portlet_CharityDetailsPortlet_priv_r_p_organisationNumber=327062&p_p_cacheability=cacheLevelPage&p_p_id=uk_gov_ccew_onereg_charitydetails_web_portlet_CharityDetailsPortlet_p_p_lifecycle=2&p_p_mode=view&p_p_resource_id=%2Faccounts-resource&p_p_state=maximized ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7

  5. https://www.jdplc.com/wp-content/uploads/2026/07/2026-Global-Impact-Report.pdf ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9

  6. https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/01888425 ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4

  7. https://www.jdplc.com/holdings-in-company-42/ ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7

  8. https://www.jdplc.com/corporate-governance/our-board/ ↩ ↩2

  9. https://www.jdplc.com/esg/environment/sustainable-sourcing/ ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6

  10. https://s204.q4cdn.com/980191062/files/doc_downloads/results_centre/2025/05/24467_JD_Sports_AR25_Web.pdf ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5

  11. https://www.agbi.com/retail/2023/07/jd-sports-deal-for-50-middle-east-franchise-stores/ ↩ ↩2 ↩3

  12. https://www.ynet.co.il/economy/article/s1gfbwq0h ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6

  13. https://www.kycisrael.com/companies/516440567/j-d-israel-sports-fashion-ltd/ ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4

  14. https://www.kimonix.com/customers/jd-sports ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4

  15. https://wedev.co.il/en/pages/about-us ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5

  16. https://ujia.org/connect/emergency-appeal/ ↩ ↩2 ↩3

  17. https://www.jdplc.com/wp-content/uploads/2026/07/2026-Global-Impact-Report.pdf ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9 ↩10

  18. https://www.ohchr.org/en/press-releases/2025/09/un-human-rights-office-updates-database-businesses-involved-israeli ↩ ↩2

  19. https://www.ohchr.org/en/documents/country-reports/ahrc5923-economy-occupation-economy-genocide-report-special-rapporteur ↩

  20. https://www.kycisrael.com/companies/516440567/j-d-israel-sports-fashion-ltd/ ↩ ↩2

  21. https://export.gov.il/wp-content/uploads/2023/12/NRF-2024-Catalog.pdf ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4

  22. https://www.jdplc.com/?p=5935 ↩

  23. https://www.mako.co.il/finances-consumer/Article-b490dd01da7bb91027.htm ↩ ↩2

  24. https://www.jdsports.co.uk/customer-service/emergency-services-and-military-discount/ ↩

  25. https://www.thecanary.co/uk/2023/12/15/cardiff-psc-protest-puma/ ↩ ↩2

  26. https://www.jdplc.com/esg/overview/default.aspx ↩ ↩2

  27. https://www.maccabi.org/images/impact_reports/Maccabi_ImpactReport_2024_r4_Digital112.pdf ↩ ↩2 ↩3

  28. https://main.knesset.gov.il/apps/legislation/main/laws/2016295 ↩ ↩2

  29. https://www.ynetnews.com/business/article/3271562 ↩