INDEX / DIRECTORY / TENCENT / ECONOMIC

Tencent ECONOMIC

ECONOMIC AUDIT UPDATED 2026-09-08
Economic Score 6.10 /10 C Tencent - BDS-1000 542
Economic 6.10

Evidence-only forensic audit. Scoring happens downstream - see the main dossier for the composite assessment.

Forensic audits like this are reader-funded - no sponsors, no ads. Support OpenIntel →

Supply Chain & Sourcing Relationships

Tencent’s reviewed public disclosures describe a technology and internet holding structure rather than a food, retail, or physical-goods procurement chain, which limits the visibility of any Israel-origin merchandise sourcing nexus in the materials reviewed for this audit.1, 2, 3 Tencent’s reviewed 2025–2026 public materials continue to describe an internet, software, gaming, cloud, fintech, advertising, and investment-holding group rather than a food, grocery, or physical-goods procurement chain.1, 4

No public evidence identified for direct supplier relationships with Israeli agricultural exporters in the Tencent annual report, Tencent policy pages, Tencent Cloud commercial materials, or the updated Israel-facing partner materials reviewed for this audit.1, 2, 3

No public evidence identified for an importer-of-record structure involving Israeli-origin goods in the reviewed Tencent public disclosures and commercial pages.1, 2, 3

No public evidence identified for seasonal sourcing patterns from Israeli suppliers in the source classes reviewed for this audit.1, 2, 3

No public evidence identified for third-party or indirect sourcing of Israeli-origin consumer goods through Tencent in the reviewed materials.1, 2, 5, 3

GateHub’s eCommerce page states that “Full Service” is provided by Tencent Cloud and GateHub and describes logistics, customs, cross-border tax, and customer-service functions, but those statements describe a partner-channel offering and do not on their face show Tencent itself acting as importer of record or buying Israeli-origin goods.6

Product Origin, Labeling & Regulatory Compliance

The reviewed sources do not describe Tencent as a retailer or consumer-goods importer, which weighs against a product-labeling record concerning Israeli-origin or settlement-origin goods in this evidentiary set.1, 3, 7, 8

No public evidence identified for Tencent involvement in settlement-origin product sales or related labeling disputes in the reviewed materials.1, 3, 7, 8

No public evidence identified for a Tencent public labeling policy that addresses occupied or contested territories on the policy pages reviewed in this pass.3

The negative finding on labeling is limited to the reviewed record set and does not establish that no such policy exists outside those sources.3

No public evidence identified for labeling-compliance or enforcement actions concerning settlement-origin goods in the reviewed Tencent materials.1, 3

Investment, Capital & Financial Exposure

The research record states that Tencent was not identified by name in the 30 June 2023 OHCHR settlement-business database update during this research pass.7

A 2 August 2024 OHCHR progress report describes methodology and update status for the settlements database rather than publishing a fresh annexed company list in the same form as the 2023 and 2025 updates.9

The research record states that Tencent was not identified by name in the 2 July 2025 Special Rapporteur report A/HRC/59/23 during this pass; this is a document-scoped absence check rather than proof of broader absence.8

UNISPAL’s summary of A/HRC/60/19 states that OHCHR updated the settlements database and listed 158 business enterprises from 11 countries, while the supplied local full-text pre-scan reported no Tencent mention in the local copy of A/HRC/60/19; this remains a document-scoped absence check only.10

The same supplied local pre-scan reported no Tencent mention in local copies of A/HRC/59/23, DBIO 2024/2025, the June 2024 PAX financier report, Who Profits: Financing Land Grab, HRW Bed and Breakfast on Stolen Land, and Ensuring Genocide (Insurance); this is a document-scoped finding rather than proof of broader absence.8, 9, 10

Calcalist reported in October 2017 that Tencent led an US$11 million investment round in Israel-based Phytech, which is evidence of a historical direct investment nexus to an Israeli company.11, 12 The reported US$11 million is the round total and does not establish Tencent’s individual contribution, ownership percentage, instrument, or rights.11, 12

No current Tencent filing, Phytech cap-table disclosure, regulatory ownership record, or Phytech-issued announcement was identified in the targeted research that establishes Tencent’s present Phytech stake, a disposal, write-down, or continuing capital exposure.1, 11, 12, 4 The status of Tencent’s historical Phytech investment is therefore unknown rather than confirmed absent.1, 11, 12

TechCrunch reported in January 2015 that Singulariteam’s US$102 million second fund was backed by founders of Tencent, but the article frames the exposure as founder-level backing of an Israel-focused venture fund rather than a disclosed Tencent Holdings acquisition of an Israeli operating subsidiary.13 The current status of that founder-linked fund exposure was not established in the reviewed materials.1, 13, 4

A March 2022 PR Newswire release states that Tencent led a new investment round in Future Crops, described there as an Israeli-Dutch venture, and that researchers from Israel’s Agricultural Research Organization were integral to the technology while the company maintained a strategic partnership with ARO.14 The announcement does not disclose Tencent’s contribution, ownership percentage, investment instrument, board rights, or recovery rights.14

Future Crops Coöperatief U.A., a Dutch cooperative registered under Chamber of Commerce number 66254868 and based in Poeldijk, was declared bankrupt on 24 January 2023 under case F.09/23/23.15 Contemporary reporting also described the bankruptcy in January 2023, while the trustee record is the controlling source for the present entity status.16, 17, 15

The trustee’s report no. 13, dated 4 May 2026, records that the insolvency remains under administration and does not state that Future Crops Coöperatief U.A. has been dissolved.15 It states that operations were not temporarily continued after bankruptcy, apart from limited delivery to final customers and safeguarding work; a restart bidding process occurred, but no integrated asset transaction materialised.15

The trustee reports that movable assets from the vertical-growing facility were sold through a Troostwijk online auction and that the landlord’s €80,000 excluding VAT payment for certain retained movable assets had reached the estate by 7 March 2024.15 The May 2026 report identifies no purchaser or restarted operating business and records continuing insolvency administration, including completion of the regularity investigation.15

These records establish entity-level operational cessation and asset disposal for Future Crops Coöperatief U.A.; they do not establish the status of a separate Future Crops-related entity, whether Tencent disposed of or wrote down any investment, or a group-wide conclusion about Tencent’s Israeli activity.14, 15

No public evidence identified in the reviewed trustee material of a Tencent-specific creditor claim, recovery, asset-purchaser role, follow-on investment, post-bankruptcy Future Crops restart, or continuing Tencent-linked Israeli activity attributable to the March 2022 round.14, 15

ONE ZERO Digital Bank’s current official board and shareholders page states that, in December 2021, the bank completed a US$120 million international funding round led by Julius Baer, Tencent, and SBI, which supports participation in that financing round but does not disclose Tencent’s current ownership percentage.18

ONE ZERO’s 2025 financial statements identify Professor Amnon Shashua, through Fin-Digit Ltd., as the controlling shareholder at 31 December 2025 and report 124,076,558 issued and paid-up ordinary shares, but do not provide a minority-shareholder cap table.19 The statements record later 2023–2025 capital raises from “existing shareholders” and a further 2026 SAFE commitment by the controlling shareholder, but do not name Tencent; the disclosed totals therefore cannot be attributed to Tencent or used to establish whether it participated.19

No public evidence identified in the reviewed current official materials of a Tencent disposal from ONE ZERO, Tencent’s current ownership percentage, or Tencent participation in the bank’s 2023–2026 capital injections.18, 19

No public evidence identified for Tencent holdings in Israeli sovereign bonds, Israel Bonds distribution, sovereign-debt underwriting, insurance exposure, direct lending nexus, or disclosed fund holdings in Israeli sovereign instruments in the reviewed public disclosures and commercial pages.1, 3

No Israel-domiciled public-security or sovereign-bond holding was identified in the text of Tencent’s 2025 annual report reviewed during this pass.1

No public evidence identified in the reviewed current Tencent disclosures and official Tencent public pages for Tencent owning an acquired Israeli subsidiary or a controlling Israeli operating ownership position.1, 4

Operational Presence & Market Activity

Tencent Cloud’s public partner directory states that GateHub is “Tencent Cloud’s first strategic partner in Israel,” which is the clearest current evidence in the record of an Israel-focused commercial channel.2

GateHub’s Tencent Cloud page describes one-stop business solutions for China–Israeli enterprises and lists a Tel Aviv address, indicating Israel-market activity through a local partner rather than, on its face, proving a Tencent-owned Israeli office.5 The page continues to market business-localisation and cloud solutions including cloud computing, data processing, cloud operations, video, gaming, fintech, website, WeChat, and education offerings.5

GateHub’s current About page states that the company operates globally to implement Tencent Cloud services, says it facilitated the launch of WeChat Cross Border Payment in Israel and EMEA, and gives a Tel Aviv address.20

GateHub’s Smart Tourism page states that Discover Global is a WeChat mini-program developed by Tencent and GateHub and describes functions including ticketing, transportation, hotels and accommodation, attractions, and geo-targeting.21

GateHub’s eCommerce page states that “Full Service” is provided by Tencent Cloud and GateHub and describes logistics, customs, cross-border tax, payment, and marketing functions.6

These GateHub materials evidence Israel-market activity through a local partner channel, but they do not establish that GateHub is Tencent-owned, that every marketed offering has been deployed by a customer, or that Tencent operates an Israeli office, warehouse, data centre, or subsidiary.2, 5, 20, 6, 21, 4

Tencent Cloud’s global infrastructure page lists 24 regions and 68 availability zones, including Riyadh and Frankfurt, but no Israel cloud region appears on that reviewed page.22 That infrastructure listing weighs against evidence in the reviewed public materials of a Tencent-owned Israel cloud region.22

Tencent’s 2025 annual report identifies its registered office in the Cayman Islands, its group head office in Shenzhen, and its principal place of business in Hong Kong.1 As at 30 June 2026, Tencent’s interim report continues to identify a Cayman Islands registered office, Shenzhen group head office, and Wan Chai, Hong Kong principal place of business.4

No Israel office or Israel subsidiary was surfaced in the annual-report text reviewed during this pass.1 The 2026 interim report contains no textual mention of “Israel,” “Phytech,” or “Future Crops,” which is a document-scoped full-text finding rather than evidence of the absence of all Israeli activities or investments.4

Israeli trademark case no. 263065 lists Tencent Holdings Limited as owner, shows registration on 29 February 2016, and records a renewal dated 8 January 2024 with effect from 1 February 2024, while also listing an address for service in Bnei Brak, Israel.23 The extract covers classes including class 39 transport, logistics, and travel services and class 43 temporary accommodation and hospitality services, which is an IP-registration fact rather than proof that Tencent itself operates those services in Israel.23

Israeli trademark case no. 373372 lists Tencent Holdings Limited as owner, shows an application date of 25 April 2024, acceptance on 1 December 2024, and a change in the list of goods and services published on 23 February 2025, and lists the same Bnei Brak address for service.24 The visible extract covers software, hosting, data storage, cloud computing, IT support, computer-security consultancy, and game-related goods and services.24

These trademark records are direct evidence of Israeli IP-registration and regulatory maintenance continuing after 19 July 2024 and after November 2024, but they do not by themselves establish settlement activity or a Tencent-owned operational site.23, 24

No public evidence identified for a Tencent-owned workforce in Israel or an Israeli tax registration in the sources reviewed for this audit.1, 25, 4 ONE ZERO reported 393 employees at 31 December 2025, all directly employed in Israel, but this describes ONE ZERO’s operational footprint and is not evidence of Tencent ownership or Tencent-attributable employment.19

The eToro 2026 SEC filing confirms that eToro’s headquarters and many employees operate from Bnei Brak, Israel, but it is not evidence of a current Tencent holding.25

No annual-report or investor-page language was identified that characterises Israel as a strategic growth market, regional hub, or separately reported market for Tencent.1, 4, 26

Corporate Structure & Foundational Ties

Tencent Holdings Limited remained, as at 30 June 2026, a Cayman Islands limited-liability company listed on HKEX, with its registered office at Cricket Square, Grand Cayman, group head office in Shenzhen, and principal place of business in Wan Chai, Hong Kong.4

As at 30 June 2026, Ma Huateng was Tencent’s executive director, Chairman, and Chief Executive Officer.4 The interim report also lists Jacobus Petrus (Koos) Bekker, Charles St Leger Searle, Li Dong Sheng, Ian Charles Stone, Yang Siu Shun, Ke Yang, and Zhang Xiulan as directors.4

As at 30 June 2026, MIH Internet Holdings B.V. held 2,055,231,800 Tencent shares, or 22.60%, and Tencent states that MIH is wholly owned by Prosus N.V. and controlled through Naspers Limited.4 Advance Data Services Limited held 804,859,700 shares, or 8.85%; Tencent states that it is wholly owned by Ma Huateng, with 95,000,000 of those shares held indirectly through Ma Huateng Global Foundation Limited.4

The 2025 annual report previously listed MIH Internet Holdings B.V. at approximately 22.80% and Advance Data Services Limited at approximately 8.82%, with Ma Huateng connected to the latter through a wholly owned foundation vehicle.1 The updated 2026 disclosure refreshes those percentages without indicating Israeli state ownership or an Israeli controlling shareholder.1, 4

No public evidence identified that Tencent was founded in Israel, is headquartered in Israel, holds Israeli tax residency or PTE-type status, maintains dual or legacy headquarters in Israel, or has Israeli beneficial control.1, 4

No public evidence identified for Tencent owning a controlling stake in an Israeli operating company or maintaining an Israeli acquired subsidiary as a disclosed group operating asset in the sources reviewed for this audit.1, 2, 22, 4

The Singulariteam, Phytech, ONE ZERO, and Future Crops items are evidence of historical or minority investment exposure rather than verified evidence in this audit of a current Tencent-controlled Israeli operating subsidiary.13, 14, 11, 18, 12, 19, 15

No public evidence identified for Israeli state or institutional linkages such as critical-infrastructure designation, government board appointees, or similar formal state-embedded ties in the reviewed materials.1, 3

No public evidence identified for structural governance features tying Tencent to Israeli state policy objectives.1, 3

The Israeli trademark records are evidence of IP and regulatory maintenance in Israel, not evidence of Israeli domicile or Israeli beneficial control.23, 24

Profit Repatriation & Economic Contribution

No public evidence identified for revenue attributed to Israel as a distinct market in Tencent’s 2025 annual report, 2026 interim report, or other reviewed Tencent public materials.1, 4, 26

No public evidence identified for quantified profit flows between Tencent and Israel in the reviewed disclosures.1, 2, 13, 14, 11, 18, 12, 4, 19, 15

The historical financing items and GateHub partner-channel evidence establish commercial and investment touchpoints, but they do not quantify repatriated profits, dividends, management fees, royalties, tax flows, contract value, customer numbers, payment volume, or Tencent-recognised revenue between Tencent and Israel.2, 5, 13, 14, 11, 20, 6, 21, 18, 12, 19, 15

The current record supports Israel-facing partner-channel, payment, tourism-platform, and trademark activity, but those items do not quantify revenue, profits, dividends, tax contribution, local capital expenditure, or Tencent-attributable employment.23, 24, 20, 6, 21, 19

No public evidence identified that Tencent is designated in the reviewed public record as a key Israeli employer, infrastructure provider, or sector anchor.1, 2, 5, 20, 21, 4

The strongest current market-facing evidence is the Tencent Cloud partner relationship with GateHub in Tel Aviv, which supports a limited commercial presence through channel partnership rather than a documented Tencent-owned operational footprint.2, 5, 20

No public evidence identified for Tencent operations, offices, warehousing, listings, sourcing, or service delivery in settlements in the West Bank including East Jerusalem or in the Golan Heights in the reviewed record.7, 8, 10

Footnotes

  1. https://static.www.tencent.com/uploads/2026/04/09/62d786fcf3d3c8cb7e54791ee95439ac.pdf 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28

  2. https://intl.cloud.tencent.com/partner/Partnersearching?lang=en 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12

  3. https://www.tencent.com/policies/ 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13

  4. https://www1.hkexnews.hk/listedco/listconews/sehk/2026/0825/2026082500556.pdf 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20

  5. https://www.gatehub.co.il/tencent-cloud 2 3 4 5 6 7

  6. https://www.gatehub.co.il/ecommerce 2 3 4 5

  7. https://www.un.org/unispal/wp-content/uploads/2023/06/OHCHRDATABASEOPT_300630.pdf 2 3 4

  8. https://static.poder360.com.br/2025/07/relatorio-Francesca-Albanese-para-conselho-de-direitos-humanos-jul2025.pdf 2 3 4 5

  9. https://www.un.org/unispal/document/ohchr-report-02aug24/ 2

  10. https://www.un.org/unispal/document/business-database-26sep25/ 2 3

  11. https://www.calcalist.co.il/articles/0%2C7340%2CL-3722189%2C00.html 2 3 4 5 6 7

  12. https://www.calcalistech.com/ctech/articles/0,7340,L-3722189,00.html 2 3 4 5 6 7

  13. https://techcrunch.com/2015/01/28/singulariteam-vc-fund/ 2 3 4 5

  14. https://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/future-crops-announces-new-investment-round-led-by-tencent-301501691.html 2 3 4 5 6 7

  15. https://www.faillissementsverslagen.com/faillissement/verslagen/verslag/09_dha_23_23_F_V_26/pdf 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11

  16. https://www.hortidaily.com/article/9498181/nl-future-crops-goes-bankrupt/

  17. https://www.agf.nl/article/9533797/nieuw-verslag-faillissement-future-crops-bevestigt-slechts-wat-al-te-zien-was/

  18. https://www.onezerobank.com/en/company/board 2 3 4 5

  19. https://www.onezerobank.com/warehouse/userUploadFiles/Image/One%20Zero%202025%20FS%20-%20Translated.pdf 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

  20. https://www.gatehub.co.il/about 2 3 4 5 6

  21. https://www.gatehub.co.il/smart-tourism 2 3 4 5

  22. https://intl.cloud.tencent.com/global-infrastructure?lang=en 2 3

  23. https://trademarks.justice.gov.il/TradeMarkSearch/ReportView?TMCaseNo=263065 2 3 4 5

  24. https://trademarks.justice.gov.il/TradeMarkSearch/ReportView?TMCaseNo=373372 2 3 4 5

  25. https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1493318/000121390026022034/ea0278371-20f_etoro.htm 2

  26. https://www.tencent.com/investors/financial-reports/ 2