Key Findings
- Economic: Schneider Electric operates a wholly-owned Israeli subsidiary, Schneider Electric Israel Ltd (Kadima), with offices in Tel Aviv and Petah Tikva and an estimated 200-400 staff.1, 2 It also sells to Israel Electric Corporation, a state-owned utility.3 Israel is not disclosed as a separate revenue segment.4
- Settlements: Pelco, a Schneider subsidiary from 2007 to May 2019, is documented as the supplier of 320 CCTV cameras installed in Silwan, East Jerusalem, in 2012.5, 6 The audits describe the supply route as indirect, and Pelco was divested in 2019.7, 8
- Political: Schneider made a $10M investment in Grove Ventures’ Grove II fund, an Israeli VC whose partners have IDF intelligence backgrounds.9, 10 It issued no public statement on the post-October 2023 conflict.11
- Not found: No verified contract with the IMOD, IDF or Israeli security bodies, no supply relationship with Israeli defence primes, and no Israeli-security digital deployment were identified.12 The company was not found in the UN OHCHR settlement database searches, and the BDS Movement does not list it as a primary target.13, 14
Target Profile
| Field | Detail |
|---|---|
| Company Name | Schneider Electric SE |
| Jurisdiction | France (Société Européenne under French and EU law)4 |
| Headquarters | Rueil-Malmaison, Hauts-de-Seine, Île-de-France, France4 |
| Sector | Energy management and industrial automation (electrical distribution, UPS, switchgear, software)4 |
| Ownership | Listed on Euronext Paris (ticker SU). Major institutional holders are BlackRock (~5%), Capital Group and Amundi, with no controlling shareholder and no French or Israeli state stake identified.4, 15 |
| Key Executives / Governance | Philippe Brami, Country President Israel (since 2018).16 Léo Apotheker was a board member 2008-2020 and Vice-Chairman.15 Current CEO/Chairman: unresolved. The Political audit could not confirm leadership names from its sources. |
| Israeli-Nexus Summary | Wholly-owned Israeli sales and distribution subsidiary and startup investments, plus a historical (2007-2019, divested) subsidiary link to cameras in Silwan. No verified defence contracts. |
Key Facts:
- Schneider Electric Israel Ltd: reg. no. 511055329, Industrial Park, Tzoran-Kadima; LEI 549300YK0MVVK2ZYL459.16, 1
- Long-lived assets in Israel were disclosed as $418M (2024) and $438.9M (2025) in SEC 20-F filings.17
- AVEVA (acquired 100% in January 2023) has a distribution presence in Tel Aviv and no confirmed Israeli R&D facility.18, 19
Executive Summary
Schneider Electric is a French energy management and automation group. Its Israel footprint is a wholly-owned commercial subsidiary, a channel-partner (EcoXpert) network, supply of software to a state utility, and venture investments in Israeli startups.1, 20, 3, 9 Israel is not reported as a standalone segment, and the company does not describe it as a strategic growth market.4 The Economic domain, with V_MAX 5.49, drives the score.
The most serious documented settlement-related link is historical. Pelco, owned by Schneider from 2007 to May 2019, supplied 320 CCTV cameras installed in Silwan in January 2012, described by the Palestinian Initiative for the Promotion of Global Dialogue and Democracy (POICA) as directed at Arab residents’ houses.6, 5 The audits characterise the supply as indirect, mediated through Schneider Electric Israel Ltd and local distributors rather than a signed parent-company contract with a settlement entity.7 The Military score rests on an examiner adjudication treating this as a settlement-type frame under the Settlement Nexus Escalator, with group-unitary treatment of a wholly owned subsidiary. Pelco was sold to Transom Capital in May 2019.8
The evidence does not support several allegations. No verified contract with the IMOD, IDF, Prison Service or Border Police was identified. There is no documented link to Elbit, IAI, Rafael or Israeli Military Industries, and no involvement in Iron Dome, F-35 or similar platforms.12 No Project Nimbus participation or Israeli intelligence-sector digital contracts were found.21 The Digital score is zero. An Afula firm, “Schneider Electrical Engineering Ltd”, is recorded as a classified Israeli MoD contractor. The Economic audit treats it as apparently a separate Israeli firm sharing the name, not a Schneider Electric SE subsidiary, so that status is unverified for attribution and not scored.22, 23
Politically, Schneider presents Israel as an ordinary market and made no public statement on the conflict after October 2023, unlike its 2022 Ukraine response.11, 24 It invested $10M in Grove Ventures’ Grove II fund.9, 10 Under V6.6 the result is BRS 499, Tier C (Substantial Complicity).
Timeline of Relevant Events
| Date | Event |
|---|---|
| 13 Feb 1985 | Schneider Electric Israel Ltd (reg. 511055329) registered per the Israeli registry listing; a Digital source cites registration “since 1999”, a discrepancy in the audits.1, 25 |
| 2007 | Schneider Electric acquires Pelco for $1.54 billion.8 |
| Jan 2012 | 320 Pelco CCTV cameras installed in Silwan, East Jerusalem (during Schneider ownership).6, 5 |
| Mar 2017 | Avantis PRiSM software agreement with Israel Electric Corporation (4,100 MW).3 |
| Aug 2017 | Claroty partnership announced via Schneider’s CAPP programme.26 |
| 2018 | Plan to invest in 12 Israeli startups (est. $25M initial); Philippe Brami becomes Country President.27, 16 |
| 2018 / Feb 2020 | $10M in Grove II. The Economic audit dates it 2018 and the Digital audit February 2020 (unresolved).28, 9 |
| May 2019 | Pelco sold to Transom Capital Group.8 |
| Aug 2020 | Motorola Solutions acquires Pelco for $110M.8 |
| Feb 2022 | SE Ventures joins $20M Series B for Prisma Photonics.29 |
| Jan 2023 | Schneider completes 100% acquisition of AVEVA.30 |
| Sep 2025 | OHCHR updates its settlement database to 158 entities; the Military audit says whether Schneider/Pelco is listed needs direct query.31, 32 |
| Mar 2026 | Israel’s MoD announces a halt to new defence procurement from France (not Schneider-specific).33 |
Corporate Overview
Schneider Electric SE traces its origins to 1836 (Schneider & Cie) and has no Israeli founding origin.4 It historically made arms and munitions and divested that activity after WWII. The defence heritage is not leveraged in current branding.34
In Israel, two registered entities carry the Schneider name. Schneider Electric Israel Ltd (Kadima, 1985) is the confirmed wholly-owned subsidiary, with profits flowing to the French parent.1, 4 Schneider Electrical Engineering Ltd (Afula, reg. 510963705, 1983) is recorded as an MoD contractor but appears to be a separate firm, so it is unverified as part of the group.23, 22 The Economic audit lists the first entity’s offices as Tel Aviv and Petah Tikva, and AVEVA’s distribution presence as Tel Aviv.1, 18 The EcoXpert network includes Afcon Control & Automation.20
The audits disagree on R&D. The Political audit cites an Innovation Center affiliated with Tel Aviv University, with partnerships with Weizmann, Reichman and Ariel universities.35 The Digital and Economic audits find no company-run R&D facility, and the company’s Chief Innovation Officer said partnerships are “more significant than establishing an R&D center”.12, 28, 36 This remains unreconciled. No Schneider offices, warehouses or assets in the West Bank, Gaza or Golan were identified.37
Investments include the Grove Ventures stake and Claroty, and the company has invested in startups such as eVolution networks, Quality Line, Atlantium and Nova Lumos.9, 27, 38
Domain Summaries
Military: Military
Mechanism of Involvement
No direct defence contract, SIBAT listing, defence-prime supply link, or base-services contract was identified.12 Schneider markets ruggedised UPS and power products to defence end-users globally, but no supply to Israeli defence end-users is documented.39 The Military score (I=6.5, M=4.5, P=7.8; V=4.18) derives from an examiner adjudication: the Pelco/Silwan matter is a settlement-type frame, so Impact sits in the 6.1-6.9 floor, with Proximity 7.8 under group-unitary treatment of a wholly owned subsidiary. The audit’s own text records an indirect supply route and a pre-2019 period.7, 6
Schneider has also partnered with Claroty, an Israeli OT-security firm described as having Unit 8200 veterans, and invested in 12+ Israeli startups. The audit says this does not constitute defence prime supply.26, 38
Counter-Arguments and Evidence Limits
- Pelco was divested in May 2019, and the cameras date from 2012 during prior ownership.8, 6
- NGO sources characterise supply as indirect, with no signed parent-company contract identified.7
- No photographic, UN or OCHA evidence of Schneider-branded equipment at barrier or demolition sites was identified.
- France’s 2024 licences to Israel (€387.8M, including €76.5M dual-use) are an aggregate with no Schneider-specific breakdown.40, 41
- No investigation, enforcement action or court case on Israel-related export control was identified. PAX does not focus on Schneider, and the BDS Movement does not list it as a primary target.42, 14
- Whether the OHCHR database enumerates Schneider/Pelco needs direct query.31
Named Entities and Evidence Map
Pelco (Kairos Response, POICA)5, 6; Schneider Electric Israel Ltd1; Claroty26; Who Profits profile43; AFSC Investigate database reference44; OHCHR database31.
Digital: Digital
Mechanism of Involvement
No qualifying frame was found, and the score is zero. The documented digital links are the Claroty integration within EcoStruxure and the sale of Avantis PRiSM software to Israel Electric Corporation, a state-owned utility that is not a defence or intelligence body.26, 3 Claroty management is described as drawn from Unit 8200.26, 45
Counter-Arguments and Evidence Limits
- No Project Nimbus participation.21
- No evidence of facial recognition or biometrics: the Pelco basis concerned hardware cameras only.6
- No security or intelligence contracts for digital services.
- No AI or autonomous-systems supply to Israeli bodies.
- No offensive-cyber activity, and no OECD NCP complaints or regulatory inquiries.46
- Schneider’s ICS/SCADA products are inherently dual-use, but no deployment for Israeli military or surveillance use is documented.6
Named Entities and Evidence Map
Claroty26, 45; Israel Electric Corporation3; Grove Ventures (Grove II)9; Prisma Photonics29; AVEVA30, 19.
Economic: Economic
Mechanism of Involvement
Schneider has a wholly-owned subsidiary, a partner network, an estimated 200-400 staff, and about $35M in innovation investments across Grove and the 12-startup programme.1, 20, 27, 38, 28 Long-lived assets in Israel were disclosed as $418M (2024) and $438.9M (2025).17 The company is a technology supplier to Israel Electric Corporation, which plans $1-1.5B in annual procurement for 2023-2027. No Schneider contract awards were identified in 2023-2024 tender records.3, 47 The audit also records Pelco’s 320 cameras in Silwan, a settlement dual-count.6, 5
Counter-Arguments and Evidence Limits
- Israel revenue is not disclosed and is not a reportable segment. The headcount is an estimate from trade press.4
- No settlement-origin goods sourcing or labeling issues, and no assets in the occupied territories.37
- The company is not a “sector anchor” or “strategic investor” by any designation.
- Schneider is not listed in the UN Special Rapporteur’s A/HRC/59/23 report as a named company, nor in the DBIO V 2025 report (104 companies).48, 29
- The Economic audit says Schneider is not listed in the OHCHR database. The Military audit says verification needs direct query. The audits differ over the update year (2023 vs September 2025) for the 158-entity list.49, 31
- The Who Profits sources conflict: the Military audit reports a company profile, while the Digital audit reports no direct-search result.43, 50
- The Afula MoD-contractor entry is unverified for attribution to Schneider Electric SE.22, 23
- No statement on operational continuity after October 2023 was identified.
Named Entities and Evidence Map
Schneider Electric Israel Ltd1; Schneider Electrical Engineering Ltd (separate-entity caveat)23; Israel Electric Corporation3; Afcon20; Pelco/Transom Capital8; POICA5; Grove Ventures9.
Political: Political
Mechanism of Involvement
The Israel portal presents ordinary commercial content, and the Universal Registration Documents treat Israel as a standard market.51, 4 The company issued no identified statement on the conflict that began in October 2023, in contrast with its Ukraine response (€2M in donations, €4M in equipment).11, 24 The audit interprets the asymmetry as editorial choice. The $10M investment in Grove II is relevant: Managing Partner Lior Handelsman spent 11 years in IDF Intelligence Corps Unit 81 and has been on reserve duty since 7 October 2023, and Grove promotes defence-tech investment.9, 10, 52
Counter-Arguments and Evidence Limits
- Silence on the conflict is not alignment, and no pro- or anti-Israel advocacy, donations or lobbying were identified. EU lobbying (€800,000 annually) covers energy and industrial policy.53
- The Foundation’s priorities are Africa, Southeast Asia and Latin America. No Israel-specific programme or Brand Israel participation was identified.54
- The raison d’être and statutes are standard commercial.4
- Employee-speech enforcement: no public evidence identified.
- No sanctions, regulatory or parliamentary action concerning Israel operations was identified.
- Current CEO and Chairman roles are unresolved in the audit, and no personal donations or statements by named executives were identified.
- Whether any resellers operate in settlements is a stated evidence gap. Equipment sales or service in settlements are not documented.55
- The Who Profits listing relates to electrical infrastructure products.43
- Grove’s profile concerns its partners and portfolio; the audits do not tie it to Schneider’s decisions.
Named Entities and Evidence Map
Grove Ventures and Lior Handelsman9, 52, 10; EU Transparency Register 46302264606-4453; Schneider Electric Foundation54; BDS target list56.
Complicity Index Score
Method: V6.6 (vetted).
| Domain | I | M | P | V-Domain Score |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Military | 6.50 | 4.50 | 7.80 | 4.18 |
| Digital | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 |
| Economic | 6.20 | 6.20 | 8.00 | 5.49 |
| Political | 3.50 | 6.50 | 9.00 | 3.25 |
- V_MAX: 5.49 Avg_OTHERS: 2.48
- BRS Score: 499 Tier: C (Substantial Complicity)
V_MAX is set by Economic: a wholly-owned subsidiary (P=8.0) with moderate scale. Military (4.18) rests on the examiner-adjudicated Pelco/Silwan frame, with a divested, indirect basis and no direct defence contracts. Political is high on Proximity because of the in-country subsidiary, but low on Impact because the posture is an ordinary commercial one. The tier reflects the V_MAX plus 20% of the average of the other three domains. The method is scale-free, evidence-only and human-vetted. Formula: V = I × min(M/7, 1) × min(P/7, 1); BRS = ((V_MAX + 0.2 × Avg_OTHERS) / 12) × 1000.
Methodology Note
- Evidence-only: every claim traces to the four domain audits, and where checks found nothing the dossier says “No public evidence identified”.
- Scale-free scoring: Impact reflects activity type, Magnitude reflects scale, and Proximity reflects directness. Scores are fixed and human-vetted.
- Temporal rule: divested or exited operations (here Pelco, sold in 2019) are mitigated, and the Military score reflects the examiner-prescribed adjudication.
- Entity attribution: no transitive guilt. The Afula “Schneider Electrical Engineering Ltd” MoD status is unverified for attribution and not scored.
- Settlement operations dual-count Economic and Political where applicable.
- Audit inconsistencies (registration year, Grove II date, R&D facility, OHCHR/Who Profits listing) are disclosed rather than resolved.
Footnotes
-
https://www.kycisrael.com/companies/511055329/schneider-electric-israel-ltd ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9
-
https://www.se.com/il/en/product-subcategory/271724463-operations-management-software ↩
-
https://www.powermag.com/press-releases/schneider-electric-enables-predictive-maintenance-at-israel-electric-corporation-to-boost-reliability ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7
-
https://www.se.com/ww/en/assets/564/document/505720/accounts-full-year-results-2024.pdf ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9 ↩10 ↩11
-
https://poica.org/2012/01/israeli-sets-320-surveillance-cameras-in-silwan ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6
-
https://www.kairosresponse.org/companies_in_umc_investments.html ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9
-
https://whoprofits.org/company/schneider-electric/ ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4
-
https://www.calcalistech.com/ctech/articles/0,7340,L-3795836,00.html ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9
-
https://www.grovevc.com/af-news/defense-tech-startups-vcs-lior-handelsman ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4
-
https://www.se.com/ww/en/about-us/company-profile/corporate-governance/board-of-directors ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4
-
https://www.se.com/ww/en/assets/564/document/462017/notice-of-meeting-agm-2024.pdf ↩ ↩2
-
https://lei.bloomberg.com/leis/view/549300YK0MVVK2ZYL459 ↩ ↩2 ↩3
-
https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1327567/000132756725000027/R110.htm ↩ ↩2
-
https://www.aveva.com/en/about/news/press-releases/2023/aveva-announces-the-completion-of-its-acquisition-by-schneider-electric ↩ ↩2
-
https://schneidergroup.co.il/page_969.aspx.html?c0=723&bsp=3 ↩ ↩2 ↩3
-
https://www.kycisrael.com/companies/510963705/schneider-electrical-engineering-ltd ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4
-
https://www.se.com/ww/en/about-us/press/press-releases/schneider-electric-statement-ukraine.jsp ↩ ↩2
-
https://www.automation.com/article/claroty-announces-cybersecurity-partnership-with-s ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6
-
https://en.globes.co.il/en/article-schneider-electric-to-invest-in-12-israeli-startups-1001242485 ↩ ↩2 ↩3
-
https://blog.se.com/innovation/2020/12/14/israelinnovationecosystem ↩ ↩2 ↩3
-
https://www.aveva.com/en/about/news/press-releases/2023/schneider-electric-completes-acquisition-of-aveva/ ↩ ↩2
-
https://www.ohchr.org/en/press-releases/2025/09/un-human-rights-office-updates-database-businesses-involved-israeli ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4
-
https://www.un.org/unispal/document/business-database-26sep25 ↩
-
https://www.politico.eu/article/israel-halts-arms-purchases-from-france-over-antisemitism-accusations ↩
-
https://blog.se.com/innovation/2019/07/schneider-electric-global-innovation-summit-israel/ ↩
-
https://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/schneider-electric-and-claroty-partner-to-address-safety-and-cybersecurity-challenges-in-global-industrial-infrastructure-300500340.html ↩ ↩2 ↩3
-
https://www.diplomatie.gouv.fr/fr/politique-etrangere-de-la-france/securite-desarmement-et-non-proliferation/controle-des-exportations-d-armements/ ↩
-
https://www.middleeasteye.net/news/israeli-orders-french-arms-experienced-record-year-2024 ↩
-
https://euobserver.com/214004/france-topped-eu-arms-sales-to-israel-while-backing-mini-sanctions ↩
-
https://paxforpeace.nl/publications/the-companies-arming-israel-and-their-financiers ↩
-
https://whoprofits.org/companies/company/schneider-electric ↩ ↩2 ↩3
-
https://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/claroty-secures-150-million-in-series-f-funding-to-lead-charge-on-securing-the-worlds-mission-critical-infrastructure-302667496.html ↩ ↩2
-
https://www.trade.gov/market-intelligence/israels-electric-utility-companys-1-15-billion-annual-procurement-plan ↩
-
https://law4palestine.org/wp-content/uploads/2025/08/Database-of-Companies-Named-in-the-UN-Special-Rapporteurs-Report-on-the-Economy-of-Occupation-and-Genocide.pdf ↩
-
https://www.ohchr.org/en/hr-bodies/hrc/sessions/database-on-israeli-settlements ↩
-
https://www.se.com/ww/en/about-us/investor-relations/annual-reports.jsp ↩
-
https://www.kairosresponse.org/companies_support_isr_occup.html ↩









