Supply Chain & Sourcing Relationships
-
No public evidence identified in the reviewed Canon materials and focused searches of procurement from Israeli agricultural exporters, Israeli importer-of-record arrangements for regional-origin goods, seasonal agricultural sourcing, or Israeli-origin consumer-product white-label arrangements 1, 2, 3.
-
No public evidence identified in the reviewed materials of sourcing from Israeli settlements, country-of-origin enforcement action, customs or DEFRA findings, or a published Canon policy specifically addressing goods from occupied or contested territories 1, 2, 3.
-
Canon’s 2018 acquisition of BriefCam concerned a video-content-analysis software company, rather than a disclosed physical-product sourcing or manufacturing arrangement 4, 5.
-
Canon’s reviewed group-directory and annual-report materials did not identify an Israeli manufacturing site, although those documents cannot establish group-wide absence 6, 7.
Product Origin, Labeling & Regulatory Compliance
-
No public evidence identified.
-
No public evidence identified in the reviewed sources of Canon settlement-origin products, Israeli-origin consumer-product labeling disputes, country-of-origin enforcement actions, or published Canon policies governing goods from occupied territories 1, 2, 3.
-
Canon’s 2024/2025 Fact Book lists Canon Israel Imaging and Business Solutions Ltd. in Rehovot, Israel, established in 2017 with a listed workforce of eight, but the reviewed source does not establish its importer-of-record role or product-origin responsibilities 1.
-
DCS Laboratories represents itself as Canon’s authorized private-sector service provider in Israel for repair of Canon printer and imaging lines and provision of original parts, but this intermediary statement was not independently confirmed by a Canon corporate source in the reviewed evidence 8.
Investment, Capital & Financial Exposure
-
Canon announced on 9 May 2018 that it had entered a stock-purchase agreement to acquire BriefCam Ltd., an Israeli video-content-analysis software company headquartered in Modi’in-Maccabim-Re’ut 4.
-
Canon stated on 3 July 2018 that the acquisition had completed, that BriefCam had joined the Canon Group as a wholly owned subsidiary, and that it would continue under its then-current management and sales channels 5.
-
Canon’s 2026 Integrated Report continues to identify BriefCam as a Canon Group acquisition within its network-video-solutions portfolio, providing post-2024 reporting evidence of the relationship 9.
-
Canon did not disclose the acquisition consideration in the reviewed 2018 transaction announcements 4, 5.
-
No public evidence identified in the reviewed disclosures of Israeli sovereign-bond holdings, Israel-focused fund holdings, direct Canon investment in occupied territory, or Israel-specific financial exposure beyond the documented BriefCam acquisition 4, 5, 9.
-
Canon’s reviewed annual and integrated reports did not disclose Israeli revenue attribution, Israeli state ownership, Israeli-government-linked governance features, or Israeli portfolio investments 6, 10.
Operational Presence & Market Activity
-
Canon’s Fact Book identifies Canon Israel Imaging and Business Solutions Ltd. as a Canon group company in Rehovot, Israel 1.
-
Canon Medical Systems Europe identifies Ami Medical Technologies Ltd. in Hod Hasharon as an ultrasound sales contact and ElsMed Ltd. in Petah Tikva as a service contact, describing them as local contacts rather than Canon-owned offices 3.
-
Canon’s 2018 acquisition announcement described BriefCam technology as used in more than 40 countries and regions by law-enforcement and public-safety organisations, government and transportation agencies, enterprises, healthcare organisations, educational institutions, and local communities 4.
-
The announcement did not name Israeli state, military, police, settlement, border-security, or other Israeli security customers 4.
-
No public evidence identified in the reviewed sources of Canon-operated facilities, warehouses, retail stores, or offices in the West Bank, East Jerusalem, or the Golan Heights, or of reseller and service operations specifically located in settlements 1, 3, 6, 7.
-
No verified evidence identified in the reviewed sources of a Canon or BriefCam contract with the IDF, Israeli Ministry of Defense, Israel Police, settlement municipalities, or a named Israeli security agency 4, 5.
-
No public evidence identified in the reviewed disclosures of Israel-specific revenue, tax payments, market-share characterization, or Canon identification of Israel as a strategic regional hub 1, 4, 9.
Corporate Structure & Foundational Ties
-
Canon Inc. is a Japanese corporation founded on 10 August 1937 and headquartered in Ota-ku, Tokyo, Japan 11.
-
Canon identifies Fujio Mitarai as Chairman and CEO, Toshizo Tanaka as Vice Chairman and CFO, Toshio Homma as Vice Chairman and CTO, and Kazuto Ogawa as President and COO 12.
-
Canon reported 321 consolidated subsidiaries, 165,547 employees, and consolidated net sales of ¥4,624.727 billion as of 31 December 2025 11.
-
Canon’s 2025 annual report identifies Canon Inc. as the consolidated reporting parent and records securities listings in Tokyo, Nagoya, Fukuoka, and Sapporo 6.
-
Canon’s 2025 integrated report defined the reporting scope as Canon Inc. and its consolidated subsidiaries, covering 334 consolidated companies in 2024, including 60 in Japan and 274 overseas 10.
-
Canon’s corporate history and transaction disclosures record the 2018 acquisition of BriefCam as a wholly owned subsidiary relationship rather than a passive portfolio position 5, 13.
-
No public evidence identified in the reviewed corporate records that Canon was founded in Israel, headquartered or principally managed in Israel, Israeli tax-resident, controlled by Israeli capital, state-owned by Israel, or subject to Israeli government board appointments or golden-share arrangements 6, 7, 10, 11.
-
Canon’s 2025 Annual Securities Report states that, at filing, it had four outside directors and three outside Audit & Supervisory Board members and had notified Japanese exchanges that those outside members were independent 14.
-
The same filing records Fujio Mitarai’s concurrent membership of Yomiuri Shimbun Holdings’ Audit & Supervisory Board from December 2010 14.
Profit Repatriation & Economic Contribution
-
The reviewed Canon materials do not disclose BriefCam’s acquisition price, current Israeli headcount, Israeli revenue, Israeli tax payments, or the amount of profit retained in or repatriated from Israel 4, 5, 9.
-
The reviewed sources do not establish Canon Israel Imaging and Business Solutions Ltd.’s ownership chain, financial accounts, importer-of-record role, or current operational scale 1.
-
Canon Medical’s Israel contacts are described as local sales and service contacts, and the reviewed listing does not establish their ownership by Canon or their contribution to Canon group profit 3.
-
No public evidence identified in the reviewed records of Canon Israeli sovereign-bond holdings, Israel-focused portfolio investments, Israeli state ownership, or Israeli-government-linked structural governance arrangements 6, 10.
-
The supplied document-scoped checks reported no Canon mention in the 2025 OHCHR settlement-business database update or in the UN Special Rapporteur’s 2025 report, but those no-hit findings do not establish absence from other editions, databases, or future reporting 15, 16.
-
AFSC Investigate’s occupations database did not return a Canon listing in the page-level check, while AFSC states that its database is not a list of all companies doing business in Israel 17.
Footnotes
-
https://global.canon/en/corporate/pdf/pdf/canon-fact-book-2024-2025-s.pdf ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8
-
https://global.canon/en/ir/integrated/canon-int-print-2026-e-04.pdf ↩ ↩2 ↩3
-
https://eu.medical.canon/contact/local-offices-and-distributors/ ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6
-
https://global.canon/en/news/2018/20180509.html ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9
-
https://global.canon/en/news/2018/20180703-2.html ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7
-
https://global.canon/en/ir/annual/canon-annual-report-2025.pdf ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6
-
https://global.canon/en/ir/integrated/canon-int-print-2026-e-04.pdf ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4
-
https://global.canon/en/ir/integrated/canon-int-2025-e.pdf ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4
-
https://global.canon/en/corporate/profile/index.html ↩ ↩2 ↩3
-
https://www.ohchr.org/en/press-releases/2025/09/un-human-rights-office-updates-database-businesses-involved-israeli ↩