INDEX / DIRECTORY / KLARNA

Klarna

Payments & Fintech 44 CITED SOURCES UPDATED 2026-09-22 METHOD V6.5
BDS-1000 Score 383 /1000 D Tier D - Moderate
OWNERSHIP TREE 7 brands and group businesses View all

OpenIntel is reader-funded - no sponsors, no institutional money. Support OpenIntel →

Key Findings

  • Economic: Klarna’s documented Israeli nexus is historical: it acquired Israeli fraud-and-risk-management company Analyzd in 2011, operated a Tel Aviv office/Klarna Ltd. Israel, and recorded that site’s closure in 2018; later disclosures link the 2019 restructuring reserve to that closure.1, 2, 3
  • Political: Klarna’s advertiser policy lists “Palestine” and “West Bank (Palestinian Territory)” among restricted jurisdictions and regions, while not listing Israel; the policy supplies no conflict rationale or explanation of its treatment of settlements, East Jerusalem, Gaza, or Israeli merchants serving those places.4
  • Political: An Israel-localized PayPal alternative-payment-methods agreement identifies Klarna as an option for PayPal merchants, but does not identify participating merchants, locations, settlement connections, government customers, or transaction volumes.5
  • Not found: No public evidence identified in the reviewed materials of Israeli military or security contracts, settlement operations, Project Nimbus participation, or current Israeli R&D or office activity.6, 7, 8

Target Profile

FieldDetail
Company NameKlarna Group plc
JurisdictionEngland and Wales.9
HeadquartersNo public evidence identified in the supplied audits.
SectorFinancial services; the group operates as a licensed bank in the EEA through Klarna Bank AB and provides consumer-credit, payment, and e-money-related services.10, 11
OwnershipPublic company; ordinary shares trade on the NYSE under “KLAR.” At 31 December 2025, disclosed holders of at least five percent of voting rights included Sequoia Capital-affiliated entities, Heartland A/S, Sebastian Siemiatkowski, Victor Jacobsson, and Commonwealth Bank of Australia.10
Key Executives / GovernanceSebastian Siemiatkowski is CEO and a director; Sir Michael J. Moritz KBE is chair. The audited governance materials also identify Roger W. Ferguson Jr., Lise Kaae, Omid Kordestani, Niclas Neglén, Andrew Reed, Sarah Smith, Mateusz Staniszewski, and Markus Villig as directors.12, 13
Israeli-Nexus SummaryHistorical acquisition of Analyzd and a Tel Aviv/Klarna Ltd. Israel presence closed in 2018; an Israel-localized PayPal channel evidences potential availability to PayPal merchants but not identified Israeli, settlement, state, or military customers.1, 2, 5

Key Facts:

Executive Summary

Klarna’s documented Israel/Palestine nexus is principally historical and commercial rather than military. In 2011, Klarna acquired Analyzd, an Israeli risk-management and fraud-prevention company. Audit materials subsequently identify goodwill associated with Analyzd as mainly attributable to Klarna Ltd. Israel and record a Tel Aviv development office. Klarna’s 2018 ESG report records closure of that site during 2018; its 2019 annual report independently associates a restructuring reserve with closure of the Tel Aviv office.1, 2, 3

The remaining documented present-facing connection is limited. PayPal’s Israel-localized alternative-payment-methods agreement identifies Klarna as an option offered in cooperation with Klarna to merchants seeking to let buyers pay online using Klarna. That evidence establishes availability through a localized PayPal channel, not the identity, location, volume, or character of participating merchants. It does not establish a settlement, military, government, or state-security customer.5

A material policy concern is Klarna’s advertiser-policy list, which restricts use of services and certain advertising/shipping activity involving “Palestine” and “West Bank (Palestinian Territory),” without listing Israel. The reviewed policy does not state a rationale related to the conflict and does not explain how it treats settlements, East Jerusalem, Gaza, or Israeli merchants serving Palestinian territory. The record therefore supports documenting the territorial asymmetry, but not inferring intent, enforcement practice, or a particular settlement-related outcome.4

No public evidence identified in the reviewed sources of contracts or services for the Israeli Ministry of Defense, IDF, Israeli police, intelligence agencies, settlement authorities, or other security bodies; of defence-product supply; of Project Nimbus participation; or of a current Israeli office or R&D centre. The 2025 subsidiary disclosures’ absence of an Israeli entity and the reviewed UN/OHCHR non-mentions are bounded, document-scoped findings rather than proof that no relationship exists.6, 7, 8

Under the fixed, human-vetted V6.5 assessment, Klarna receives a BRS score of 383 and Tier D (Moderate Complicity). The score reflects the historical Israeli operational nexus, limited but documented Israel-localized payment-channel evidence, and the advertiser-policy issue; it does not treat historical activity as current military, digital-surveillance, or settlement involvement.

Timeline of Relevant Events

DateEvent
May 2011Klarna acquired Analyzd, reported as an Israeli risk-management and fraud-prevention company; reporting stated its Tel Aviv personnel would join Klarna’s data-driven risk-management organisation.1
2016A Swedish-Israeli Chamber of Commerce circular reported that Klarna AB received the Sweden–Israel Trade Award and that CEO/co-founder Sebastian Siemiatkowski accepted it; this documents an award and attendance, not a state contract or political advocacy.14
2018Klarna’s ESG report recorded closure of the Tel Aviv office site and identified Klarna Ltd. Israel in its office-energy and travel-emissions material.2
2019Klarna Holding AB reported that a restructuring reserve related to closure of the Tel Aviv office in Israel.3
31 December 2022Klarna Bank AB’s subsidiary schedule listed Analyzd Technologies Ltd. as a wholly owned Cyprus corporation and did not list Klarna Ltd. Israel; this records the schedule’s listed ownership structure on that date only.15
May 2024A corporate reorganisation made Klarna Group plc the group’s ultimate parent.10
September 2025Klarna Group plc completed its IPO, with ordinary shares admitted to trading on the NYSE under “KLAR.”10

Corporate Overview

Klarna Group plc is an England-and-Wales public limited holding company and the group’s ultimate parent following its May 2024 reorganisation. Klarna Bank AB (publ) remains the Swedish authorised banking subsidiary through which the group operates as a licensed bank in the EEA. Klarna Financial Services UK Limited is identified as authorised by the UK Financial Conduct Authority for consumer-credit and e-money services.9, 10, 11

The audited record does not support an Israeli founding origin or Israeli state ownership. Its identified Israeli corporate history stems from the 2011 acquisition of Analyzd Technologies and the associated Tel Aviv/Klarna Ltd. Israel operation. The available records do not disclose the acquisition price, the historical Israeli entity’s ownership chain at closure, office address, workforce size, client base, Israeli revenue, or whether particular staff or functions continued locally after closure.1, 2, 3

Klarna’s 2022 subsidiary schedule listed Analyzd Technologies Ltd. as a wholly owned Cyprus entity. Its 2025 consolidated-subsidiary disclosures do not identify an Israeli-incorporated group entity. These disclosures do not establish that all current or historical Israeli connections, cross-border customers, merchants, vendors, or contractual arrangements are absent.7, 15

The Israel-localized PayPal agreement is a documented channel relationship rather than a Klarna Israeli subsidiary, franchise, or identified direct-merchant portfolio. It supplies no evidence of particular merchant locations or operations in settlements, East Jerusalem, the West Bank, Gaza, or the Golan Heights.5

Domain Summaries

Military: Military

Mechanism of Involvement

No public evidence identified of a Klarna contract, tender, framework agreement, memorandum, financing arrangement, or service relationship with the Israeli Ministry of Defense, IDF, Israel Prison Service, Border Police, intelligence agencies, or another Israeli security body.6

No public evidence identified of Klarna supplying weapons, munitions, drones, targeting systems, military-grade products, defence software, tactical variants, export-controlled goods, logistics, construction services, or base-support services to Israeli military or security end-users.6

The historical Analyzd acquisition was described as involving e-commerce risk-management algorithms. The reviewed reporting does not identify military, security-force, tactical, or defence customers, and the historical acquisition does not establish later corporate status, customers, intermediaries, or defence end-users.1

Counter-Arguments and Evidence Limits

Klarna’s strongest defence is that the documented business is civilian financial services and historical commercial risk-management technology, not defence production or military contracting. The reviewed materials contain no identified Israeli defence customer, contract, procurement award, export licence, or end-user certification.6

The negative conclusion is necessarily bounded. Klarna’s public filings do not provide a merchant-by-merchant customer list, Israeli counterparty list, or comprehensive defence-procurement history. The absence of a public record in the reviewed source classes is therefore not proof of absence beyond those materials.6

A director-level connection cited in the audit is not an Israeli military nexus: Roger W. Ferguson Jr. has held roles at Red Cell Partners, which Klarna describes as focused on healthcare and defence sectors, but the reviewed filing identifies no Israeli defence customer, investment, contract, or end-user connection for Ferguson or Klarna.6

Named Entities and Evidence Map

EntityEvidence record
Israeli Ministry of Defense / IDF / Israeli security bodiesNo public evidence identified of Klarna contracts, procurement, or service provision in reviewed sources.6
AnalyzdHistorical 2011 acquisition; reported as e-commerce risk-management/fraud-prevention, with no documented defence customers.1
Roger W. Ferguson Jr. / Red Cell PartnersDisclosed outside-Israel board-level defence-sector association; no documented Israeli defence connection for Klarna or Ferguson.6

Digital: Digital

Mechanism of Involvement

Klarna selected AWS as its preferred cloud provider in December 2019. AWS described use of global infrastructure for scalability, redundancy, fault tolerance, security, regulatory compliance, and customer-data protection. The announcement does not identify deployment in AWS’s Israel Region, Israeli data residency, an Israeli state customer, or the current scope of the relationship.16

AWS announced its Israel (Tel Aviv) Region in 2021, but the region’s general availability does not establish that Klarna selected it, stored data there, or routed Klarna data through Israeli infrastructure.17

No public evidence identified that Klarna uses Israeli-origin facial recognition, biometrics, computer vision, predictive-policing, social-media monitoring, workforce surveillance, offensive cyber, or digital-weapons technology in connection with Israel or the occupied territories. No public evidence identified that Klarna technology has been deployed for Israeli military, intelligence, or law-enforcement surveillance.6, 7

Counter-Arguments and Evidence Limits

The historical digital nexus is Analyzd and the Tel Aviv development centre, both associated with a civilian fraud/risk-management acquisition. The Tel Aviv office was documented as closed in 2018, and no public evidence identified of a current Israeli R&D centre, engineering office, innovation lab, subsequent Israeli technology acquisition, venture investment, or research co-development arrangement.1, 2, 3, 7

The available sources do not disclose Klarna’s AWS-region selections, data-routing architecture, backup locations, or jurisdictional exposure. Accordingly, the audit cannot turn AWS’s Israel-region capability into a claim of Klarna deployment there.16, 17

Named Entities and Evidence Map

EntityEvidence record
AWSPreferred cloud-provider announcement; no identified AWS Israel Region deployment by Klarna.16, 17
Analyzd / Klarna Ltd. IsraelHistorical fraud/risk-management acquisition and related Tel Aviv presence; closure documented in 2018.1, 2
Israeli state, military, intelligence, and police bodiesNo public evidence identified of a Klarna technology contract, deployment, licence, or partnership.6, 7

Economic: Economic

Mechanism of Involvement

The central economic record is Klarna’s historical acquisition of Analyzd Technologies. Klarna’s 2018 annual report stated that goodwill arising from the acquisition was mainly attributable to Klarna Ltd. Israel, and described the acquired business as integrated into the group, with group companies receiving revenue under transfer-pricing agreements.18

Klarna maintained a Tel Aviv office through at least part of 2018. Its ESG report expressly records closure of the site during 2018, while the 2019 annual report records a restructuring reserve related to its closure.2, 3

No public evidence identified of Klarna purchasing Israeli goods, sourcing Israeli agricultural products, retailing Israeli- or settlement-origin goods, underwriting Israeli sovereign debt or Israel Bonds, lending to Israeli defence companies or OHCHR-listed businesses, or holding disclosed Israel-focused sovereign-bond or fund positions.18, 15, 6

Counter-Arguments and Evidence Limits

The strongest counter-argument is that the documented Israel-linked operating footprint was exited: the Tel Aviv site was closed in 2018, and subsequent materials do not identify a current office, support centre, warehouse, consumer-facing location, workforce figure, Israeli licence, or Israeli entity in the relevant consolidated-subsidiary disclosures.2, 3, 7, 15

The record does not disclose Israeli-specific revenue, profit, tax paid, post-closure profit flows, transaction volumes, or the exact status of all former functions and personnel. It also does not establish continuing Israel-related activity after July or November 2024. These are evidentiary limits, not affirmative proof of no continuing relationship.18, 10

Named Entities and Evidence Map

EntityEvidence record
Analyzd Technologies Ltd.Historical acquisition; 2022 schedule listed it as a wholly owned Cyprus corporation.18, 15
Klarna Ltd. Israel / Tel Aviv officeHistorical Israeli group presence; office closure recorded in 2018 and reflected in 2019 restructuring disclosure.2, 3
Israeli sovereign, defence, and settlement-linked businessesNo public evidence identified of the specified underwriting, lending, or investment exposure in reviewed disclosures.18, 15

Political: Political

Mechanism of Involvement

Klarna’s advertiser policy restricts use of its services by businesses registered or operating in listed jurisdictions and regions and restricts advertising involving merchants shipping from, or consumers with billing or shipping addresses in, those locations. The list includes “Palestine” and “West Bank (Palestinian Territory),” but not Israel. The policy does not state an Israel/Palestine-conflict rationale or explain the handling of settlements, East Jerusalem, Gaza, or Israeli merchants serving those places.4

PayPal’s Israel-localized alternative-payment-methods agreement identifies Klarna as an option offered in cooperation with Klarna to PayPal merchants. This supports availability through that localized channel, while leaving merchant identities, physical locations, settlement links, state customers, and transaction volumes unresolved.5

A 2016 Swedish-Israeli Chamber of Commerce circular records Klarna AB’s Sweden–Israel Trade Award and Siemiatkowski’s attendance. It does not establish a state partnership, settlement activity, political advocacy, or an ongoing relationship.14

Counter-Arguments and Evidence Limits

No public evidence identified in targeted searches of an official Klarna statement, press release, interview, or policy since 2023 expressly addressing Israel, Palestine, Gaza, settlements, occupation, or BDS.4

No public evidence identified of a Klarna state partnership, military or settlement-authority procurement arrangement, corporate donation or fee waiver for Israeli military or settlement-linked bodies, settlement-specific merchant integration, settlement-product policy, Israel/Palestine-specific employment action, or Klarna-specific legal, regulatory, OECD complaint, or organised boycott action alleging settlement operations.5, 7, 8

The PayPal evidence is not evidence of a settlement relationship. Nor do the reviewed 2023 and 2025 OHCHR materials’ non-mentions establish absence from every group entity, future update, or cross-border relationship. The audit treats both findings as document-scoped.7, 8

Named Entities and Evidence Map

EntityEvidence record
Klarna advertiser policyLists Palestine and West Bank (Palestinian Territory), not Israel; no stated conflict rationale or settlement-treatment explanation.4
PayPalIsrael-localized agreement identifies Klarna as an online-payment option for PayPal merchants; no merchant or territorial detail.5
Swedish-Israeli Chamber of Commerce2016 trade award and attendance record; not evidence of state contracting or political advocacy.14
OHCHR settlement-business materialsReviewed materials contain no Klarna mention; this is document-scoped only.7, 8

BDS-1000 Score

Method: V6.5.

DomainIMPV-Domain Score
Military0.000.000.000.00
Digital0.000.000.000.00
Economic1.507.007.501.50
Political4.507.009.004.50

V_MAX is driven by Political, reflecting the documented advertiser-policy territorial asymmetry and limited Israel-localized payment-channel evidence, with the stated limits on what those records establish. Economic reflects the historical Analyzd/Tel Aviv nexus, mitigated by the documented office closure and lack of verified current Israeli operations. This scale-free, evidence-only, human-vetted method does not convert unverified allegations, non-mentions, or historical/divested activity into stronger claims.

Methodology Note

Footnotes

  1. https://techcrunch.com/2011/05/04/klarna-acquires-analyzd-to-tie-social-to-finance-and-payments/ 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

  2. https://owp.klarna.com/legacy/assets/sites/3/2019/10/14132903/ESG-Report-2018-Final.pdf 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

  3. https://owp.klarna.com/legacy/assets/2020/04/Klarna_Holding_AB_Annual_Report_2019_EN.pdf 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

  4. https://docs.klarna.com/acquirer/klarna/resources/legal-and-compliance/more-solutions-guidelines/ad-policies-for-klarna-advertisers/ 2 3 4 5

  5. https://www.paypal.com/il/legalhub/paypal/apm-tnc?locale.x=en_IL 2 3 4 5 6 7

  6. https://s205.q4cdn.com/644747736/files/doc_financials/2025/q4/Klarna-Group-plc-20-F-2025.pdf 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12

  7. https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/2003292/000162828025012824/exhibit211-fx1.htm 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11

  8. https://docs.un.org/en/A/HRC/59/23 2 3 4 5

  9. https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/14467769 2

  10. https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/2003292/000200329226000007/klar-20251231.htm 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

  11. https://investors.klarna.com/governance/Governance-Oversight/ 2 3

  12. https://investors.klarna.com/governance/leadership/

  13. https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/2003292/000162828026038366/a2026agm-noticeofmeeting.htm

  14. https://www.swedenisraelcc.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/03/93949c_b9a8481004884d52bc73924101199af6-1.pdf 2 3

  15. https://owp.klarna.com/legacy/assets/sites/15/2023/02/27194134/2022-Klarna-Bank-AB_Annual-Report_EN.pdf 2 3 4 5 6

  16. https://press.aboutamazon.com/2019/12/klarna-selects-aws-as-its-preferred-cloud-provider 2 3

  17. https://press.aboutamazon.com/2021/6/aws-to-open-data-centers-in-israel 2 3

  18. https://eu1-klarna-prod-web.s3-eu-west-1.amazonaws.com/investor-relations/2018/Klarna%20Bank%20AB%20%28publ%29%20Annual%20Report%202018%20%28EN%29.pdf 2 3 4 5