INDEX / DIRECTORY / MASTERCARD / POLITICAL

Mastercard POLITICAL

POLITICAL AUDIT UPDATED 2026-09-08
Political Score 3.14 /10 B Mastercard - BDS-1000 615
Political 3.14

Evidence-only forensic audit. Scoring happens downstream - see the main dossier for the composite assessment.

Forensic audits like this are reader-funded - no sponsors, no ads. Support OpenIntel →

Corporate Communications & Public Stance

The reviewed sources describe Mastercard employee relief initiatives during October–November 2023.1, 2, 3 No public evidence identified of a dedicated, proactive corporate statement on the Israel-Gaza conflict comparable in tone or specificity to its Russia statement. On 5 March 2022, Mastercard issued a dated “Statement on Suspension of Russian Operations,” condemned the Russian invasion of Ukraine, and announced a full network suspension effective 10 March 2022.4 This provides a documented precedent for a corporate geopolitical statement paired with a business-suspension action in another conflict.4

Mastercard EEMEA publicized an employee-driven Middle East relief effort in November 2023, describing approximately $2 million raised through the “Tarahum – for Gaza” channel and employee matching.1 Separate reporting described an employee-led Mastercard Israel fundraising platform for victims of the Hamas attacks.2, 3 These sources describe regional or employee-led relief activity rather than a Mastercard corporate or executive political statement.1, 2, 3 No public evidence identified of a CEO Michael Miebach op-ed, formal letter, or dedicated press statement specifically addressing the Israel-Gaza war, distinct from routine earnings-call commentary.1, 5

Mastercard’s public materials concerning Israel emphasize payments, fintech, cybersecurity, and innovation activity, including its SHVA stake and the Beersheba FinSec lab, rather than geopolitical-partnership language.6, 7, 8, 9

Operations in Occupied or Contested Territories

Mastercard holds a documented 10% equity stake in SHVA (Automated Bank Services Ltd.), Israel’s national payment-card switch, following a Bank of Israel permit approving Mastercard’s 10% holding.6 Reporting contemporaneous with the transaction stated that Visa separately acquired a matching 10% SHVA stake from Bank Leumi.10 No post-2024 divestiture record was identified in the bounded research, although the current stake level was not independently refreshed.6, 10

Mastercard and Enel X were selected in 2019 to establish and operate the FinSec Innovation Lab in Beersheba under a tender involving the Israel Innovation Authority, the Israel National Cyber Directorate, and the Ministry of Finance.7, 8 The project’s operating entity received NIS 13 million for the three-year franchise period, and the opening was attended by senior Israeli innovation and cyber officials and the Mayor of Beersheba.7, 8 Mastercard also promoted the lab through its own perspectives channel.9 Its status after the original three-year period remains unknown.7, 8, 9

No public evidence identified of Mastercard direct operations, branches, dealership networks, or subsidiary activity specifically located in West Bank, East Jerusalem, or Golan Heights settlements.11, 12 The research notes record document-scoped checks of the OHCHR settlement-business updates and other canonical-library reports without identifying Mastercard. These checks are researched absences, not proof that no relevant relationship exists. The separate economic audit also records no Mastercard listing in the September 2025 OHCHR update.13 No public evidence identified of formal legal challenges, regulatory sanctions, or litigation specifically targeting Mastercard’s Israel operations in connection with occupation or settlement activity.6, 10, 11

Unresolved: prior research noted reports of a Turkish “#TroyKartaGeçiyoruz” consumer campaign but did not retain a fixed, dated primary source; that lead is not treated as an established campaign finding. No public evidence identified in the reviewed materials of Mastercard being a formally named official BDS Movement corporate boycott target.

Internal Governance, Content & Retail Policies

No public evidence identified of Mastercard HR actions, terminations, or legal disputes involving employee pro-Palestinian speech, symbols, or union activity in the reviewed sources.5, 14, 15 No public evidence identified of independent reports, academic studies, or regulatory inquiries concerning Mastercard algorithmic moderation or conflict-related content suppression; as a payment network rather than a content platform, this category has limited direct applicability.5, 11

No public evidence identified of reports or regulatory actions concerning Mastercard labeling, sourcing, or categorization of settlement-origin products, which is likewise not a conventional retail function of a payment-network business.11, 12 Payment and donation-processing restrictions involving Palestinian NGOs are addressed in the financing section below.16, 17

Brand Heritage & State Partnerships

No public evidence identified that Mastercard branding invokes military heritage, defense-sector origins, or state-security branding.11, 14 Mastercard’s Beersheba FinSec Innovation Lab nevertheless represents a documented partnership with the Israel Innovation Authority, National Cyber Directorate, and Ministry of Finance, including a public launch involving Israeli officials.7, 8 Mastercard’s own materials presented this activity as engagement with Israel’s fintech and payment-security ecosystem.9

No public evidence identified linking Mastercard’s global “Priceless” marketing platform to Israel’s state-sponsored “Brand Israel” public-diplomacy campaign.9, 11

Lobbying, Advocacy, Financing & Logistics

No public evidence identified in the reviewed U.S. Lobbying Disclosure Act materials of a Mastercard filing listing Israel, Palestine, BDS-related legislation, or Middle East policy as a specified lobbying issue.5, 15 No public evidence identified of a Mastercard corporate PAC contribution specifically tied to pro-Israel or Israel/Palestine-policy candidates; the reviewed OpenSecrets material returned aggregate “Pro-Israel” industry data rather than a verified company-specific Mastercard connection.5

In 2018, NGO Monitor reported that Mastercard, Visa, and American Express stopped processing online credit-card donations for Palestinian civil-society organizations, including Al-Haq, after allegations of links to the Popular Front for the Liberation of Palestine.16 The cited material reports the allegation and processing restriction; it does not independently establish the alleged links.16 Reporting in January 2020 stated that Mastercard, Visa, and American Express blocked donation processing for Samidoun.17 The continuing status of the 2018 and 2020 restrictions was not confirmed.16, 17

Mastercard’s giving platform hosted donation pages for UNRWA and other humanitarian agencies.18, 19 A shareholder proposal submitted in December 2023 and presented as Proposal 7 at Mastercard’s 18 June 2024 annual meeting alleged that such partnerships conflicted with Mastercard’s Human Rights Statement and asserted that Mastercard continued to host UNRWA donations.18, 5, 20 Mastercard’s Board recommended that stockholders vote against Proposal 7.5, 20 The annual-meeting voting-results filing was retained, but the exact vote tally was not independently retrieved in the prior research.21

No public evidence identified of direct Mastercard corporate donations to FIDF, JNF/KKL, Lev Echad, Israeli reservist funds, settlement organizations, Regavim, or Im Tirtzu.5, 11 Mastercard partnered with EML and CORE in April 2022 on a prepaid cash-assistance program for Ukrainian refugees and maintained a Ukraine emergency-response giving page.22, 19 For Israel-Gaza, the identified Mastercard mobilization remains the November 2023 employee fundraising, matching, and volunteer drives described by Mastercard EEMEA and reporting on Mastercard Israel employees.1, 2 No public evidence identified of a Mastercard-built cash-assistance product comparable to the EML/CORE Ukraine program for Gaza or Israeli civilians.1, 22, 19

The only newly identified Gaza Humanitarian Foundation (GHF) connection is a May 2025 document listing Raisa Sheynberg, a Mastercard vice president, among GHF’s Board of Directors.23, 24 The contemporaneous GHF overview named Truist and J.P. Morgan for banking and proposed a Goldman Sachs banking relationship for a Swiss affiliate; it did not name Mastercard as a payment, banking, logistics, donor, or financial partner.23 No public evidence identified of Mastercard authorization, funding, payment processing, donation hosting, staff secondment, communications support, technology, logistics, or other corporate resources provided to GHF.11, 14, 15, 23, 25, 26, 27

GHF’s funding sources were not publicly disclosed at launch according to Associated Press reporting, and later reporting stated that the organization never publicly disclosed its funding sources.28, 29, 30 A congressional oversight letter stated that the U.S. Department of State approved a $30 million GHF grant on 24 June 2025 and sought disclosure of funding sources and contracts with security and logistics contractors; it did not identify Mastercard as a funder, contractor, or service provider.31 USAID’s Office of Inspector General states that USAID signed a $30 million fixed-amount emergency-food-aid award with GHF for 26 June–25 July 2025, with State assuming management and oversight on 1 July 2025; OIG announced an audit in July 2026 concerning award design, compliance, and payment-milestone verification.27

Corporate Structure & Primary Mission

Mastercard’s 2025 Form 10-K defines Mastercard as Mastercard Incorporated and its consolidated subsidiaries, including Mastercard International Incorporated, and describes it as a global-payments technology company.11 Its significant-subsidiary exhibit includes Mastercard International Incorporated, Mastercard Middle East Africa FZ-LLC, Mastercard Europe SA, and Mastercard Technologies, LLC, while expressly omitting subsidiaries not significant in the aggregate.12

No public evidence identified that Mastercard’s corporate charter, ownership structure, or founding documents tie its primary mission to advancing any state’s geopolitical goals.5, 11 Mastercard is a U.S.-domiciled publicly traded company, and the reviewed corporate materials identify no Israeli state ownership or golden-share structure.5, 11 Mastercard’s April 2026 proxy reported Vanguard, BlackRock, and Mastercard Foundation Asset Management Corporation/Mastercard Foundation as beneficial owners at 8.6%, 7.7%, and 7.4%, respectively, and identified no holder at or above 10% in that table.15 Mastercard Foundation Asset Management Corporation is a wholly owned Mastercard Foundation subsidiary and became investment manager of the Foundation’s directly held Mastercard shares on 1 February 2024.15, 32

Executive & Leadership Footprint

Merit E. Janow became Mastercard’s Independent Non-Executive Chair on 1 January 2022.33 Mastercard’s April 2026 proxy and June 2026 annual-meeting results identify Janow as Chair and identify Michael Miebach as President and Chief Executive Officer.15, 32 No public evidence identified in the reviewed materials connecting Janow personally to Israel-related advocacy, defense-industry ties, or settlement-organization board roles; the earlier retained profile identified affiliations including Columbia Law School, Columbia SIPA, and prior U.S. government trade-policy work.33

Mastercard identifies Raisa Sheynberg in corporate bylines dated 12 September 2023 and 6 July 2026 as Vice President, Government Affairs and Policy; the bylines concern digital-asset regulation, compliance, and payments-system policy.34, 35 Her 6 July 2026 byline confirms that she remained a Mastercard VP after GHF’s cessation of operations.35

A May 2025 GHF overview memorandum listed Sheynberg under “Board of Directors” as “Vice President, Government Affairs and Policy at Mastercard,” and described the Board as providing strategic and fiduciary oversight, ensuring mission fidelity, and evaluating executive performance.23, 36 Axios independently reported on 8 May 2025 that the memorandum identified her as “VP of government affairs at Mastercard” and a GHF board figure.24 The available copy of the memorandum was republished by media outlets rather than retrieved from an authenticated GHF corporate register or official current governance page; it establishes the document’s contents and public visibility, not independently verified tenure or performance of board service.23, 24, 36

The memorandum presented Sheynberg’s biography with prior U.S. Treasury and National Security Council work and experience in illicit finance, sanctions, AML/CFT, trade, market access, and cybersecurity.23 It did not state her individual GHF committee assignments, votes, attendance, appointment date, end date, compensation, or actions.23 No public evidence identified of a Sheynberg public GHF statement, op-ed, interview, signed communication, fundraising solicitation, recorded board vote, or operational action, and no retrieved record states that she acted for Mastercard rather than in an individual capacity.23, 24

Mastercard’s 2025 Form 10-K officer roster and 2025 and 2026 proxy disclosures do not list Sheynberg as a corporate officer, named executive officer, Executive Leadership Team member, or Management Committee member.11, 14, 15 Mastercard’s 2026 proxy identifies Tucker Foote as Chief Government Affairs and Policy Officer and describes the Management Committee as responsible for alignment and implementation of key enterprise business decisions.15 The retrieved records therefore establish a VP government-affairs title but do not establish Sheynberg as a Mastercard corporate officer, C-suite executive, or Management Committee member, nor do they establish her reporting line, budget, delegated signing authority, equity position, or authority to bind Mastercard.11, 14, 15 Whether she was otherwise influential under an external attribution doctrine cannot be determined from the retrieved records.11, 14, 15

The GHF board association was publicly visible by 8 May 2025.23, 24 GHF’s operational relationship with Israeli authorities was documented separately from any Mastercard involvement: the UN Humanitarian Country Team stated on 4 May 2025 that Israeli officials sought a hub-based aid system under Israeli military conditions, while the IDF later stated that it facilitated GHF distribution, opened access routes, coordinated movements, and secured routes to distribution centres.28, 37, 38 GHF’s May 2025 overview stated that the IDF would not be stationed at or near its sites, which was a stated plan rather than a verified description of subsequent operations.23

Médecins Sans Frontières reported that GHF’s four sites were in heavily militarized zones, used U.S. armed contractors, and had an Israeli military-controlled wider perimeter; it described close coordination with Israeli authorities and military forces.39 Associated Press reported that GHF was Israel-approved, that its then-head wrote to COGAT, and that distribution hubs were near Israeli military positions, while also reporting GHF’s claim that it was independent and apolitical.29, 30 The UN Special Procedures communications record allegations and reported information concerning Israeli military control, site selection, private contractors, and security/logistics arrangements; these are not adjudicated findings in those documents.40, 25 GHF’s March 2026 response denied Israeli military or government control and Israeli-government funding, while acknowledging security restrictions imposed by military authorities.26

GHF’s operational end date is reported inconsistently: GHF’s March 2026 response says it operated from late May through late October 2025, while the UN communication and Associated Press report that operations ceased permanently on 24 November 2025 during a wind-down.41, 25, 26 No public evidence identified establishing whether Sheynberg remained a director after the May 2025 memorandum, resigned, was replaced or removed, or held a role at the time GHF ceased operations.23, 24, 25 GHF’s operational cessation does not itself establish the precise end date of her board association.41, 25

No public evidence identified of personal donations, family-foundation grants, board memberships, or public statements by Michael Miebach or other named Mastercard C-suite executives directed at FIDF, JNF, settlement organizations, or pro-Israel advocacy groups in the reviewed prior audit sources.5, 33 Apart from the publicly listed Sheynberg/GHF association discussed above, no public evidence identified in those prior sources of another relevant Mastercard executive board or advisory role.5, 33, 23, 24 The updated research did not complete a comprehensive person-by-person review of political contributions, philanthropy, investments, or public statements for all directors and executives; accordingly, those absences are limited to the reviewed materials.15, 32

Footnotes

  1. https://newsroom.mastercard.com/news/eemea/en/perspectives/en/2023/being-a-force-for-good-in-the-middle-east/ 2 3 4 5 6

  2. https://www.jpost.com/israel-news/article-770277 2 3 4

  3. https://www.jewishnews.co.uk/volunteers-from-mastercard-israel-launch-fundraising-for-hamas-terror-victims/ 2 3

  4. https://www.mastercard.com/us/en/news-and-trends/press/2022/march/mastercard-statement-on-suspension-of-russian-operations.html 2

  5. https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1141391/000114139124000078/ma-20240426.htm 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12

  6. https://www.boi.org.il/en/communication-and-publications/press-releases/the-governor-of-the-bank-of-israel-granted-mastercard-inc-a-permit-to-hold-10-percent-of-the-shares-of-shva/ 2 3 4

  7. https://www.timesofisrael.com/mastercard-opens-fintech-cybersecurity-innovation-lab-in-beersheba/ 2 3 4 5

  8. https://innovationisrael.org.il/en/news/mastercard-and-enel-x-selected-establish-and-operate-fintech-cyber-innovation-lab 2 3 4 5

  9. https://www.mastercard.com/news/perspectives/2021/israel-technology-finsec-innovation-lab/ 2 3 4 5

  10. https://www.haaretz.com/israel-news/business/bank-of-israel-approves-sale-of-stake-in-financial-services-firm-to-mastercard-1.7185470 2 3

  11. https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1141391/000114139126000013/ma-20251231.htm 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14

  12. https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1141391/000114139126000013/exb21-12312025.htm 2 3

  13. https://www.ohchr.org/sites/default/files/documents/hrbodies/hrcouncil/sessions-regular/session60/advance-version/a-hrc-60-19-aev.pdf

  14. https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1141391/000114139125000071/ma-20250414.htm 2 3 4 5 6

  15. https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1141391/000114139126000021/ma-20260427.htm 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11

  16. https://ngo-monitor.org/visa-mastercard-and-american-express-shut-down-online-credit-card-donations-for-terror-linked-ngos/ 2 3 4

  17. https://www.jpost.com/israel-news/mastercard-visa-amex-all-pull-option-to-fund-terror-group-linked-ngo-613277 2 3

  18. https://nationalcenter.org/ncppr/2024/06/18/mastercard-charged-with-maintaining-alliances-with-hamas-supporting-organizations-in-violation-of-human-rights-policy/ 2

  19. https://give.mastercard.com/p/ukraine-emergency-response 2 3

  20. https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1141391/000109690624001239/nlpc_px14a6g.htm 2

  21. https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1141391/000114139124000121/ma-20240618.htm

  22. https://www.businesswire.com/news/home/20220413005426/en/EML-CORE-And-Mastercard-Partner-To-Provide-A-Cash-Assistance-Program-For-Ukrainian-Refugees 2

  23. https://www.passblue.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/05/Gaza_Humanitarian_Foundation_Overview.pdf 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12

  24. https://www.axios.com/2025/05/08/gaza-humanitarian-foundation-david-beasley 2 3 4 5 6 7

  25. https://spcommreports.ohchr.org/TMResultsBase/DownLoadPublicCommunicationFile?gId=30635 2 3 4 5

  26. https://spcommreports.ohchr.org/TMResultsBase/DownLoadFile?gId=39634 2 3

  27. https://oig.usaid.gov/node/8185 2

  28. https://www.ochaopt.org/content/statement-humanitarian-country-team-occupied-palestinian-territory-principled-aid-delivery-gaza 2

  29. https://apnews.com/article/gaza-humanitarian-foundation-aid-israel-distribution-hamas-e517f3dc7e73b3d52bec47ee31fc20df 2

  30. https://apnews.com/article/israel-gaza-war-aid-groups-89068e30fe90e8c13a6203836945b122 2

  31. https://casten.house.gov/imo/media/doc/gaza_humanitarian_foundation_oversight_letter.pdf

  32. https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1141391/000114139126000041/ma-20260616.htm 2 3

  33. https://theorg.com/org/mastercard/org-chart/merit-e-janow 2 3 4

  34. https://www.mastercard.com/news/perspectives/2023/digital-assets-need-to-be-safer-here-are-some-ways-to-do-that/

  35. https://www.mastercard.com/global/en/news-and-trends/stories/2026/converging-payments-ecosystem-policy.html 2

  36. https://static-cdn.toi-media.com/www/uploads/2025/05/Gaza-Humanitarian-Foundation-Memo.pdf 2

  37. https://www.idf.il/en/mini-sites/humanitarian-missions/idf-response-regarding-idf-activity-near-humanitarian-aid-distribution-sites-in-gaza/

  38. https://www.idf.il/en/articles/secret-links/idf-response-regarding-allegations-of-deliberate-idf-fire-toward-gazan-civilians-waiting-for-humanitarian-aid

  39. https://www.msf.or.jp/publication/pressreport/pdf/202508_MSF-Gaza-ThisIsNotAid.pdf

  40. https://spcommreports.ohchr.org/TMResultsBase/DownLoadPublicCommunicationFile?gId=30629

  41. https://apnews.com/article/gaza-humanitarian-foundation-shuts-down-dce3d8f08c814839bdeef6aed31bfe3d 2