Corporate Communications & Public Stance
Carrefour stated in its 2024 shareholder response that it was “strictly politically neutral,” would not be involved in the Israeli-Palestinian conflict, and supported humanitarian aid for civilian populations, particularly in Gaza 1.
The same response states that food and basic-necessities distribution in Gaza had been financed on Carrefour’s behalf, but does not identify a programme, recipient, amount, implementing organisation, or delivery records 1.
Carrefour announced its Israel franchise arrangement with Electra Consumer Products and Yenot Bitan in March 2022, stating that the partnership would bring Carrefour banners to Israel and make Carrefour-branded products available to more than 150 Yenot Bitan stores 2.
By May 2023, Carrefour reported approximately 50 franchised Israeli stores, imports of more than 1,200 products, local production of certain Carrefour-brand products, e-commerce activity, and a plan for approximately 100 further stores by the end of 2024 3.
Carrefour’s chief executive described the Israeli launch as part of the Group’s international-growth strategy 4.
Carrefour’s 2024 shareholder response acknowledged boycott calls connected to its Israeli presence and photographs of food parcels provided to Israeli soldiers, characterized claims of continuing army support as untrue, and condemned demonstrations disrupting employees and shops 1.
The BDS Movement’s November 2024 guide lists Carrefour as a boycott priority target, which establishes the campaign’s position but does not independently establish its underlying allegations 5.
Operations in Occupied or Contested Territories
Carrefour stated in 2024 that use of its brand in “occupied territories” was prohibited and that a franchise partner’s breach could expose it to Group action 1.
Carrefour’s 2023 Universal Registration Document similarly states that its franchised partner signed a contract prohibiting development of Carrefour-banner stores in Palestinian territories 6.
The published corporate materials do not reproduce the relevant territorial clause or identify inspections, enforcement action, or a remedy applied under it 1, 6.
Carrefour Israel’s accessibility register currently lists branches in Ma’ale Adumim and Ariel, although the register does not state the format of every listed branch or historic opening dates 7.
A current third-party directory lists a Carrefour Maccabim store at Renanim Shopping Center in Modi’in-Maccabim-Re’ut and links it to Carrefour Israel, corroborating a currently listed Carrefour-branded location without establishing the site’s precise legal status 8.
Who Profits reports Carrefour-branded branches at Maccabim and Neve Ya’akov and differently branded stores at Ariel, Alfei Menashe, Ma’ale Adumim, Beit El, and Modi’in Illit, but the underlying store records, leases, and franchise agreement were not retrieved in the reviewed material 9.
The corporate prohibition statement and the later Who Profits account of Carrefour-branded Maccabim and Neve Ya’akov branches are not reconciled by the supplied sources 1, 9.
AFSC Investigate reported in 2022 that the franchise contemplated conversion of existing Yenot Bitan stores and attributed settlement-store information to Al-Haq, making it secondary contextual material rather than independently verified location evidence in this audit 10.
The supplied document review found no Carrefour mention in the OHCHR’s 2023 settlement-business database update, which is a document-scoped absence rather than a finding about all franchisees or affiliates 11.
The supplied review also found no Carrefour mention in the 2025 OHCHR update, while the UN Special Rapporteur’s 2025 report references Carrefour’s 2022 franchise announcement 12.
In a March 2024 response to a parliamentary question concerning Carrefour, the French Government made no Carrefour-specific enforcement finding and reiterated France’s general warning that settlement-related activity carries legal, economic, and reputational risks 13.
Internal Governance, Content & Retail Policies
Electra Consumer Products’ 2022 annual report states that its controlled subsidiary Bitan Wines entered an exclusive franchise agreement with Carrefour International Partnership Group on 3 April 2022 14.
The reported agreement permits operation in Israel under the Carrefour, Carrefour Market, Supeco, and Atacadão brands, use and marketing of Carrefour private-label products, and production of certain Carrefour-brand products in Israel 14.
The filing describes a 20-year term with automatic renewal for a further 20 years and potential additional 20-year extensions by mutual consent 14.
The filing also describes a fixed buy-in payment, revenue-percentage payments, branch and customisation investment, and rights to purchase and market Carrefour products 14.
Electra reported that the arrangement contemplated rebranding Bitan Wines, Mega, and Mehadrin Market chains, with 14 stores converted or renovated and one new store built by 31 December 2022 14.
Carrefour’s May 2023 release reports three hypermarkets, 10 supermarkets, and 37 convenience stores among approximately 50 opened franchised stores 3.
Carrefour stated that political neutrality was stipulated in the franchise contract and that repeated circumvention could expose the franchisee to a penalty, but it did not identify a sanction imposed in relation to the disclosed episode 1.
Carrefour’s 2024 response states that food-parcel photographs involving Israeli soldiers reflected individual franchisee initiatives in early October 2023, which it said stopped immediately and whose photographs were removed from social media 1.
The disclosed response does not identify the individuals involved, recipient units, quantities, payment source, removal date, or any contractual penalty 1.
No public evidence identified in the reviewed sources of employee-speech discipline, editorial-content moderation, retail labelling policy, settlement-origin sourcing policy, or employee-relations litigation related to Israel-Palestine.
Brand Heritage & State Partnerships
Carrefour S.A.’s 2025 Universal Registration Document identifies Carrefour S.A. as the reporting company and reports share capital of €1,840,786,972.50 divided into 736,314,789 shares as of 31 December 2025 15, 16.
Carrefour’s disclosed shareholder table reports Galfa holding 9.46% of capital, including 15 million shares held through stock options, Carrix holding 5.00%, and 79.98% of capital held by the public 16.
The same table does not disclose a shareholder holding at least 10% of Carrefour’s share capital 16.
No public evidence identified in the reviewed corporate records of a state-held golden share, founding mandate, or charter provision tying Carrefour’s corporate purpose to a state geopolitical objective.
The reviewed corporate records describe the Israel business as a franchise operated through an Electra Consumer Products-controlled subsidiary rather than a Carrefour S.A.-incorporated franchise operator 2, 14.
The supplied materials do not establish whether Carrefour S.A. maintains any separate Israel-incorporated subsidiary outside the disclosed franchise arrangement 2, 14.
An April 2026 Ministry of Economy price programme selected Carrefour Israel as the sole participating retailer for a fixed-price basket of 100 consumer products 17. The Ministry’s response quoted in the same report states that the engagement ran for six months, cost NIS 25 million, and covered 54 branches, expressly correcting the article’s earlier NIS 50 million and 50-branch figures 17. The reviewed material did not include the tender, executed agreement, payment record, or evidence that Carrefour S.A. rather than the Israeli franchisee was the contracting recipient 17. On the available record this is a state-funded commercial retail-price programme involving Carrefour Israel, not evidence of a non-commercial political alliance or direct Carrefour S.A. state partnership 2, 14, 17.
Lobbying, Advocacy, Financing & Logistics
Who Profits reports that Carrefour Israel supplied food and beverages for COGAT events in 2024, including amounts of NIS 9,610 and NIS 33,705, but no procurement record, tender, invoice, supplier confirmation, or Carrefour disclosure substantiating those figures was retrieved 9.
A 2025 DBIO report likewise describes an alleged 2024 COGAT food-and-beverage provision worth NIS 33,705, but it remains an unresolved secondary lead because the underlying primary procurement evidence was not retrieved 18.
Carrefour’s shareholder response states that it financed food and basic-necessities distribution in Gaza on Carrefour’s behalf, without publicly specifying the recipient, amount, implementing organisation, or delivery documentation 1.
No public evidence identified in the checked source set of Carrefour-specific political lobbying, PAC activity, executive donations to IDF, FIDF, JNF, or settlement organisations, executive roles in relevant advocacy bodies, or employee-speech litigation concerning Israel-Palestine 1, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13.
No public evidence identified in the checked materials of a Carrefour-specific court judgment, regulatory penalty, OECD National Contact Point outcome, or government enforcement action concerning the Israel franchise or alleged settlement operations 2, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13.
Corporate Structure & Primary Mission
Carrefour’s public governance page identifies Alexandre Bompard as Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, appointed on 18 July 2017, and lists a 15-member Board and 13-member Executive Committee 19.
Carrefour stated in November 2025 that Carrix is owned by the Saadé family and CMA CGM, held approximately 4% of Carrefour’s capital when announced, and was co-opted to the Board effective 1 December 2025 20.
Carrefour further stated that Carrix joined its Strategic Committee, while its current governance page lists Carrix represented by Rodolphe Saadé with a term expiring in 2028 19, 20.
The commercial relationship disclosed for Israel is a long-term franchise arrangement involving Carrefour International Partnership Group, Electra Consumer Products, and Electra’s controlled subsidiary Bitan Wines 2, 14.
Carrefour’s May 2023 release contains a date reference to a partnership entered into in “March 2020,” whereas Carrefour’s March 2022 announcement and Electra’s annual report place the agreement process in March-April 2022, and the executed agreement was not supplied to resolve the discrepancy 2, 3, 14.
Executive & Leadership Footprint
Carrefour’s governance page identifies Rodolphe Saadé as Carrix’s Board representative and Alexandre Bompard as Carrefour’s Chairman and Chief Executive Officer 19.
The reviewed sources contain no corporate-record evidence concerning Israel- or Palestine-related donations, investments, public advocacy, or organisational affiliations by Carrefour directors, executives, Galfa-associated principals, or Saadé-family principals 16, 19, 20.
The reviewed materials also do not establish post-July 2024 or post-November 2024 conduct by Carrefour leadership concerning the franchise, territorial restrictions, or the October 2023 food-parcel episode 1, 19, 20.
Footnotes
-
https://www.carrefour.com/sites/default/files/2024-07/Writter%20answers%20GA%20Carrefour%202024.pdf ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9 ↩10 ↩11 ↩12
-
https://www.carrefour.com/en/news/carrefourpartenariatisrael ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7
-
https://www.carrefour.com/sites/default/files/2023-05/PR%20Carrefour%20comes%20to%20Israel.pdf ↩ ↩2 ↩3
-
https://www.carrefour.com/en/news/2023/arrivee-de-carrefour-en-israel ↩
-
https://www.carrefour.com/sites/default/files/2024-03/CFR2023_URD_FR_MEL_24.03.29_0.pdf ↩ ↩2
-
https://www.whoprofits.org/companies/company/7373/ar ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5
-
https://www.ohchr.org/sites/default/files/documents/hrbodies/hrcouncil/sessions-regular/session31/database-hrc3136/23-06-30-Update-israeli-settlement-opt-database-hrc3136.pdf ↩ ↩2 ↩3
-
https://questions.assemblee-nationale.fr/q16/16-12415QE.htm ↩ ↩2 ↩3
-
https://www.ecp.co.il/wp-content/uploads/2023/06/%D7%90%D7%9C%D7%A7%D7%98%D7%A8%D7%94-%D7%9E%D7%95%D7%A6%D7%A8%D7%99-%D7%A6%D7%A8%D7%99%D7%9B%D7%94-%D7%93%D7%95%D7%97-%D7%A9%D7%A0%D7%AA%D7%99-2022-%D7%AA%D7%A8%D7%92%D7%95%D7%9D-%D7%9C%D7%90%D7%A0%D7%92%D7%9C%D7%99%D7%AA-%D7%A7%D7%95%D7%91%D7%A5-%D7%9E%D7%9C%D7%90-%D7%9E%D7%95%D7%A0%D7%92%D7%A9-25-6-2023.pdf ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9 ↩10
-
https://www.carrefour.com/sites/default/files/2026-04/CFR2025_URD_EN_PDF_MEL_270326.pdf ↩
-
https://www.carrefour.com/sites/default/files/2026-03/CFR2025_URD_EN_PDF_MEL_270326_0.pdf ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4
-
https://www.jpost.com/business-and-innovation/banking-and-finance/article-900726 ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4
-
https://www.france-palestine.org/IMG/pdf/2025-dbio-v-report.pdf ↩
-
https://www.carrefour.com/en/news/2025/new-core-shareholder-joins-carrefours-board-directors ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4