INDEX / DIRECTORY / CARREFOUR / DIGITAL

Carrefour DIGITAL

DIGITAL INFRASTRUCTURE AUDIT UPDATED 2026-08-30
Digital Score 0.96 /10 C Carrefour - Complicity Index 409
Digital 0.96

Evidence-only forensic audit. Scoring happens downstream - see the main dossier for the composite assessment.

Forensic audits like this are reader-funded - no sponsors, no ads. Support OpenIntel →

Enterprise Technology Stack & Vendor Relationships

Carrefour Group announced partnerships with six Israeli start-ups in May 2023: AI21 Labs, Juganu, Wasteless, Vulcan Cyber, Cymbio and Iguazio 1, 2.

The announcement described trials or specified use cases rather than evidence of enterprise-wide or continuing deployment 1.

AI21 Labs was to be tested in France for analysis and certification of customer feedback, in-store navigation and customer-request responses 1.

Wasteless was to be tested in two French hypermarkets and one Carrefour Market for AI-supported inventory management and dynamic pricing 1.

Carrefour stated that its cybersecurity teams would test Vulcan’s cyber-risk assessment and remediation-recommendation platform 1.

Cymbio was to be tested as a technical intermediary for Carrefour.fr marketplace activity, while Iguazio was described as already working with Carrefour Banque on proactive AI-based credit-risk management 1.

Carrefour’s Israel retail presence is structured through a franchise relationship with Electra Consumer Products and its subsidiary Yenot Bitan/Global Retail, rather than evidence in the reviewed record of Carrefour SA owning the Israeli operator 3, 4, 5.

Electra reported that 149 stores were operating under the Carrefour brand after completion of its conversion programme in 2025 5.

No public evidence identified in the reviewed materials of direct Carrefour licensing, subscription or integration relationships with Check Point, Wiz, SentinelOne, CyberArk, NICE, Verint, Claroty or Palo Alto Networks.

Surveillance, Biometrics & Retail Technology

Juganu’s proposed French Carrefour Market test involved cameras, sensors and lighting for energy management, product-outage analysis, checkout-wait anticipation and store Wi-Fi improvement 1.

Carrefour’s announcement does not state that the Juganu test used facial recognition, biometric identification, gait analysis or identity matching 1.

A2Z Cust2Mate’s SEC-filed material states that the terms and conditions of a previously announced Carrefour Israel purchase order were under renegotiation in 2026, so the final deployment scope cannot be treated as confirmed 6.

A2Z’s 2026 Form 20-F identifies Cust2mate Ltd. as an Israeli-incorporated subsidiary 7.

No public evidence identified in the reviewed sources of Carrefour’s use of Trigo, BriefCam, AnyVision/Oosto, Trax, predictive-policing, sentiment-monitoring or workforce-surveillance products.

Cloud Infrastructure, Data Residency & Sovereign Cloud Participation

A We-Ankor case study states that Carrefour Israel used Commvault Cloud SaaS to back up, recover and protect Office 365 applications serving approximately 800 users, after using Commvault for its on-premises data centre supporting headquarters and stores 8.

The same case study states that Carrefour Israel was migrating its data centre to Oracle Cloud and evaluating Commvault Cloud-based backup for that environment 8.

The case study does not specify the Oracle Cloud region, storage location, cross-border routing, controller/processor arrangements or Israeli legal-access exposure 8.

No public evidence identified in the reviewed corporate disclosures, announcements, integrator material and focused searches that Carrefour operates or leases a data centre in Israel, participates in Project Nimbus, or supplies sovereign-cloud or data-residency services to Israeli state or military bodies.

Defence, Intelligence & Security Sector Technology Relationships

No public evidence identified in the reviewed corporate disclosures, official announcements and SEC materials of contracts or service agreements between Carrefour or Carrefour Israel and the Israeli Ministry of Defence, IDF, intelligence agencies or other Israeli security bodies.

No public evidence identified of Carrefour-developed or Carrefour-supplied offensive cyber capabilities, exploit tools or digital weapons systems.

Who Profits reports that Carrefour Israel/Global Retail supplied food and beverages to COGAT in 2024, but no underlying procurement record was retrieved in the research memo and the claim is not independently corroborated here 9.

That reported supply claim concerns non-technology commercial goods and should not be treated as evidence of a technology, defence or intelligence-sector contract 9.

AI, Algorithmic & Autonomous Systems

The verified AI-related relationships concern civilian retail, customer-service, inventory/pricing and credit-risk applications through AI21 Labs, Wasteless and Iguazio/Carrefour Banque 1.

Carrefour’s 2023 announcement does not identify an Israeli state, military, police, intelligence or law-enforcement customer for those applications 1.

No public evidence identified in the reviewed sources that Carrefour AI systems were trained on Israeli or occupied-territory civilian-surveillance data, intercepted communications or other security-derived datasets.

No public evidence identified of Carrefour providing autonomous target generation, kinetic targeting, autonomous security-force tracking or other purpose-built weapons-effect systems.

Technology Ecosystem & R&D Footprint

Carrefour’s May 2023 partnerships with six Israeli start-ups establish a documented technology-ecosystem relationship spanning generative AI, smart retail, inventory and pricing AI, cybersecurity, marketplace automation and credit-risk AI 1, 2.

The disclosed engagements do not establish a Carrefour-operated Israeli R&D centre, engineering office, accelerator, acquisition of an Israeli technology company, equity investment, patent licence or university co-development arrangement 1.

No public evidence identified in the reviewed disclosures and announcements of a Carrefour-operated Israeli R&D centre, engineering office, acquisition or institutional research partnership.

Civil Society Scrutiny & Regulatory History

Carrefour stated that approximately 50 Israeli stores opened under its franchise partnership with Electra Consumer Products and Yenot Bitan on 9 May 2023 10.

Carrefour’s own releases contain an unresolved timing discrepancy: the 2023 release describes the partnership as entered in March 2020, whereas its 2022 franchise announcement and Electra’s corporate history place the arrangement in 2022 10, 3, 4.

Who Profits reports that the franchise term was extended by seven years in February 2024, but the underlying extension instrument or Israeli corporate filing was not retrieved in the research memo 9.

Who Profits also reports Carrefour-branded locations in Maccabim/Modi’in-Maccabim-Re’ut and Neve Ya’akov, but the underlying property, retailer-locator, municipal or franchise records were not retrieved in the research memo 9.

AFSC and Al-Haq materials document civil-society scrutiny of Carrefour’s Israel franchise and reported settlement-linked retail activity, but those materials are not primary records for technology provision 11, 12, 13.

The OHCHR’s 30 June 2023 settlement-business database lists Electra Group Ltd. as a parent company for specified activities, while the document does not list Carrefour 14.

That OHCHR record does not establish that Carrefour is the same legal entity as Electra Group Ltd. or that Carrefour is included in the database 14.

No public evidence identified in the reviewed sources of a technology-specific regulatory inquiry, export-control action, sanctions investigation or legal challenge concerning Carrefour technology services to Israeli state entities.

Footnotes

  1. https://www.carrefour.com/sites/default/files/2023-05/PR%20Carrefour%20enters%20into%20partnerships%20with%20six%20Israeli%20start-ups.pdf ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9 ↩10 ↩11 ↩12

  2. https://www.carrefour.com/en/news/2023/carrefour-noue-des-partenariats-avec-six-start-ups-israeliennes ↩ ↩2

  3. https://www.carrefour.com/sites/default/files/2022-03/Press%20release%20-%20Carrefour,%20in%20Partnership%20with%20Electra%20Consumer%20Products.pdf ↩ ↩2

  4. https://www.ecp.co.il/pages/about ↩ ↩2

  5. https://www.ecp.co.il/wp-content/uploads/2025/12/%D7%90%D7%9C%D7%A7%D7%98%D7%A8%D7%94-%D7%9E%D7%95%D7%A6%D7%A8%D7%99-%D7%A6%D7%A8%D7%99%D7%9B%D7%94-%D7%93%D7%95%D7%97-%D7%A8%D7%91%D7%A2%D7%95%D7%9F-%D7%A9%D7%9C%D7%99%D7%A9%D7%99-2025-%D7%90%D7%A0%D7%92%D7%9C%D7%99%D7%AA-%D7%9E%D7%95%D7%A0%D7%92%D7%A9.pdf ↩ ↩2

  6. https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1866030/000149315226037359/ex99-2.htm ↩

  7. https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1866030/000149315226014416/form20-f.htm ↩

  8. https://we-ankor.co.il/case-study/carrefour-implements-commvault-cloud-saas-data-protection-solution-for-office-365-with-we-ankor/ ↩ ↩2 ↩3

  9. https://www.whoprofits.org/companies/company/7373/ar ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4

  10. https://www.carrefour.com/sites/default/files/2023-05/PR%20Carrefour%20comes%20to%20Israel.pdf ↩ ↩2

  11. https://investigate.afsc.org/company/carrefour ↩

  12. https://www.alhaq.org/advocacy/20985.html ↩

  13. https://www.alhaq.org/publications/27615.html ↩

  14. https://www.ohchr.org/sites/default/files/documents/hrbodies/hrcouncil/sessions-regular/session31/database-hrc3136/23-06-30-Update-israeli-settlement-opt-database-hrc3136.pdf ↩ ↩2