Target: Chanel Limited / Chanel SAS
Audit phase: Economic Audit
Date: 8 September 2026
Scope: Chanel’s economic conduct related to Israel, including retail, distribution, sourcing, assets, investment, financing, and corporate control. Wertheimer-family capital managed through Mousse Investments Limited and Mousse Partners is distinguished from Chanel-corporate activity.1, 2, 3
Supply Chain & Sourcing Relationships
The prior broad description of Chanel’s global manufacturing geography relied on an aggregator source that the updated research does not treat as suitable standalone evidence; it is therefore not relied upon to establish Chanel’s sourcing footprint.4 No public evidence identified of Chanel sourcing raw materials, components, agricultural goods, or finished products from suppliers in Israel or occupied territory.5, 6
Chanel products enter Israel through an independent local import/distribution relationship rather than a disclosed Chanel-owned sourcing operation.7, 8, 9 Alpa Cosmetics Ltd describes itself as a private Israeli company that imports, markets, and distributes international cosmetics and retail brands; it states that it received rights in 2019 to operate Chanel luxury boutiques in three Israeli locations.8 Alpa’s Chanel-brand material characterises it as Chanel’s “official importer,” although this is Alpa’s own representation rather than a Chanel appointment letter or customs filing.9
Historical reporting stated that Alpha Group, led by Ronen Shamir, manufactured, imported, and marketed cosmetics and toiletries, including Chanel, and operated a Karmiel factory/distribution operation and Herzliya Pituah offices.7 Alpa’s current site reports more than 600 employees, a logistics/distribution centre in the Bar-Lev industrial area, and Herzliya offices.8 This evidence supports import, distribution, and boutique-operation activity into Israel; it does not establish Chanel manufacture or sourcing from Israel.7, 8
Product Origin, Labeling & Regulatory Compliance
No public evidence identified of Chanel products carrying Israeli or settlement origin, of Israeli-origin products supplied into Chanel’s global network, or of seasonal or white-label procurement from Israeli suppliers.5, 6
No public evidence identified of a Chanel customs, origin-marking, product-labeling, or regulatory-compliance proceeding connected to Israel or occupied territory.5, 6 The retrieved evidence does not include product-specific labels, customs declarations, or regulatory notifications that would establish the importer of record for particular Chanel consignments.8, 9
Chanel’s Israel-locale pages include product discovery, a shopping-bag interface, “Shop now” wording, and “Click & Collect” interface text.10, 11, 12 However, the retrieved pages do not provide Israel-specific terms of sale, identify an Israeli merchant of record, demonstrate completed checkout or delivery availability, or confirm that Chanel itself is the Israeli online seller.13, 12, 14 No public evidence identified that the Israel site currently completes e-commerce orders, rather than serving product discovery, boutique location, appointment, and client-service functions.13, 12, 14
Investment, Capital & Financial Exposure
Chanel’s official FY2024 results identify Chanel Limited as the private parent company of the Chanel group and report US$18.7 billion in 2024 revenue and US$1.755 billion in capital expenditure.6 Contemporary reporting described approximately US$1.8 billion of 2024 capex, a 43% increase, directed to global store expansion and property; neither that reporting nor Chanel’s official results identify a material Israeli allocation.15, 6
Chanel’s FY2024 and FY2025 disclosures describe worldwide retail, property, manufacturing, supplier, research, and innovation investment, including named activity outside Israel, but do not identify an Israeli factory, R&D centre, real-estate asset, acquisition, data centre, logistics hub, or investment fund.6, 13 No public evidence identified of direct Chanel investment in Israeli real estate, manufacturing, R&D, critical infrastructure, sovereign debt, Israel Bonds, trade finance, or underwriting.6, 13
The official Chanel group-entity schedule as at 31 December 2024 contains no Israel-incorporated Chanel group entity.5 No public evidence identified of Chanel Limited, Chanel SAS, or a disclosed Chanel group entity acquiring or controlling an Israeli operating subsidiary.5, 6, 13 This is document-scoped evidence and does not rule out distribution through an independent local company or every possible undisclosed historical asset or contract.5, 8
Mousse Investments Limited states that its proprietary portfolio includes Chanel Limited, “the parent company of the Chanel operating companies worldwide,” and identifies offices in New York City and the Cayman Islands.1 Le Monde reports that Alain and Gérard Wertheimer are equal shareholders in Mousse Investments Limited and that Charles Heilbronn heads Mousse Partners, the family-office function.2 No public evidence identified of a confirmed investment or financing transaction in an Israeli company, Israel-focused fund, Israeli sovereign debt, Israel Bonds, settlement-active company, or Israeli defence company by Chanel, Mousse Investments, Mousse Partners, Alain Wertheimer, or Gérard Wertheimer.1, 2, 3
Cross-domain source reconciliation: SeatGeek’s own April 2017 announcement identifies Mousse Partners among the participants in a $57 million Series D round financing SeatGeek’s $56 million acquisition of Israeli ticketing-software company TopTix. It identifies civilian ticketing software, an engineering team and international venue customers; it does not disclose Mousse’s individual contribution, equity percentage, control rights or current holding.16 Mousse Investments’ own description includes Chanel in its portfolio, while Mousse Partners describes itself as Mousse Investments’ investment division. This establishes a common holding/family-office relationship requiring attribution assessment, rather than assuming complete independence from legal form alone.1, 2, 17
A database profile attributes two historical MyCheck funding rounds to an “Alain Wertheimer,” but no underlying announcement, filing, cap table, or investor statement was retrieved to confirm that this was Chanel owner Alain Wertheimer, the investment amount, stake, vehicle, exit, or continuing interest.18 Contemporaneous October 2013 funding coverage quotes Eitan Wertheimer of Iscar as the investor; it does not name Alain or Gérard. The database attribution is therefore materially conflicted and is not treated as an established investment by Chanel’s controlling principals.18, 19
Operational Presence & Market Activity
Chanel’s official Israel locator showed four current Fragrance & Beauty / Eyewear boutiques on 8 September 2026, supporting an ongoing Israeli consumer-market presence.10, 11
- CHANEL Fragrance & Beauty Boutique, TLV Fashion Mall, 4 Carlebach St, Tel Aviv 6713208.20, 21
- CHANEL Beauty Boutique, Ramat Aviv Mall, 40 Einstein St, Tel Aviv 6910203.22
- CHANEL Fragrance & Beauty, BIG Fashion Glilot Mall, Harav Mecher Junction 1, Glilot, Ramat Hasharon.23
- CHANEL Fragrance & Beauty Jerusalem, 8 Sderot Alrov Mamilla, Jerusalem.24, 12
The official boutique records identify fragrance, makeup, skincare, and eyewear offerings; they do not show a fashion, ready-to-wear, leather-goods, watches, or fine-jewellery category for these locations.11, 20, 24, 21, 22, 23 No public evidence identified of a Chanel full-fashion or watches-and-fine-jewellery standalone boutique operating in Israel.11, 21, 22, 23, 12
Chanel’s dedicated-store entry in Israel dates to 2019, when reporting described the opening of dedicated locations at TLV Fashion Mall and Ramat Aviv after prior pharmacy-chain sales stands.7, 25 Alpa’s current statement that it received rights in 2019 to operate three Chanel luxury boutiques supports a local franchise/distribution arrangement.8 It does not disclose exclusivity, contract term, expiry date, fees, ownership of the retail assets, the legal entity holding the rights, or whether Alpa operates the fourth Glilot location.8, 9
No public evidence identified of an exclusive, continuing Chanel–Alpa agreement or its duration.8, 9 The available evidence supports an independent local importer/distributor and boutique operator, not a Chanel-owned Israeli importer of record.5, 8, 9
The Jerusalem locator identifies the address as 8 Sderot Alrov Mamilla, Jerusalem, but does not state a territorial or legal classification.24 No public evidence identified in the retrieved sources that any listed boutique is in the West Bank, East Jerusalem, the Golan Heights, or a settlement.10, 11, 24, 21, 22, 23 This is not a geographic adjudication: no authoritative address-boundary, land-registry, governmental, or UN geographic record was retrieved to classify the Mamilla address.24
Corporate Structure & Foundational Ties
Companies House records Chanel Limited, company no. 00203669, as an active UK private limited company incorporated on 6 February 1925, with a registered office at 5 Barlow Place, London W1J 6DG.26 Chanel’s FY2024 results identify Chanel Limited as the group’s private parent company, and Mousse Investments Limited independently identifies Chanel Limited as the parent company of Chanel operating companies worldwide.6, 1
Chanel completed a corporate reorganisation under which Chanel Limited became the group’s operating parent, consolidating global subsidiaries and accounts; Chanel International B.V. remains identified as a Netherlands-incorporated group entity in Chanel’s official schedule.27, 5 Chanel Limited’s active directors include Alain Wertheimer and Leena Kumar Nair, while Chanel identifies Nair as Global CEO.13, 28
Forbes identifies Alain and Gérard Wertheimer as Chanel’s owners, and Le Monde reports that they are equal shareholders in Cayman holding Mousse Investments Limited.2, 3 Mousse Partners is the family-office function led by Charles Heilbronn, rather than a Chanel operating subsidiary.1, 2 The Companies House PSC page’s statement that Chanel Limited knows of no registrable person or registrable relevant legal entity should not be read as disproving ultimate ownership through non-UK holding arrangements.29
Chanel’s disclosed ownership and operating structure is UK, Dutch, Cayman, and global; its official legal-entity schedule contains no Israel-incorporated group entity.5, 1, 26 No public evidence identified of Israeli founding capital, an Israeli holding entity, Israeli tax residence, Israeli headquarters, Israeli beneficial control, or Israeli state ownership of Chanel-corporate.5, 26
ISCAR is a separate named-entity lead. ISCAR identifies Stef Wertheimer and Eitan Wertheimer as its founders and states that Berkshire Hathaway became IMC’s majority shareholder in 2006.30 No public evidence identified of a corporate ownership, investment, control, or family-office connection between Chanel, Alain or Gérard Wertheimer, Mousse Investments, Mousse Partners, and Stef Wertheimer or ISCAR/IMC.1, 2, 3, 30
Profit Repatriation & Economic Contribution
Reporting stated that Chanel dividends flowed to its holding structure, including approximately US$5.7 billion for 2023, following US$5 billion for 2021 and US$1.7 billion for 2022.31, 32 In 2024, Chanel’s operating profit fell 30%, while the group increased investment and no dividend was taken, according to contemporary reporting.15 The disclosed corporate holding path runs through Chanel Limited and Mousse Investments Limited; no public evidence identified that Chanel-corporate profits are routed to, accumulated in, or contributed to Israel or occupied territory.6, 1
Chanel’s measurable Israeli economic activity is the ongoing sale and distribution of imported fragrance, beauty, skincare, makeup, and eyewear products through four listed boutiques and a local importer/distributor relationship.11, 8, 9, 21, 22, 23, 12 The evidence does not disclose Israel-specific Chanel revenue, local tax paid, local Chanel workforce, direct local assets, or profits retained in Israel.5, 6, 8
No public evidence identified of a larger direct Chanel economic contribution in Israel, including Israeli manufacturing, a Chanel-owned R&D centre, regional headquarters, direct corporate investment, government contract, or critical-infrastructure designation.5, 6, 13
Footnotes
-
https://www.lemonde.fr/en/summer-reads/article/2024/08/23/chanel-s-secretive-owners-the-wertheimers_6720656_183.html ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7
-
https://www.chanel.com/puls-img/1748254724003-20250602taxstrategydocument2024finalpdf.pdf ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9 ↩10 ↩11 ↩12
-
https://www.chanel.com/puls-img/1747810519769-20250520fy24resultspressreleasefinalfrpdf.pdf ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9 ↩10 ↩11 ↩12
-
https://en.globes.co.il/en/article-chanel-to-open-first-israel-stores-1001270208 ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4
-
https://www.alpa-cosmetics.co.il/en/%D7%90%D7%95%D7%93%D7%95%D7%AA ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9 ↩10 ↩11 ↩12
-
https://www.alpa-cosmetics.co.il/en/%D7%97%D7%98%D7%99%D7%91%D7%AA-%D7%94%D7%A7%D7%95%D7%A1%D7%9E%D7%98%D7%99%D7%A7%D7%94 ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7
-
https://www.chanel.com/il-en/fragrance-beauty/boutiques/ ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6
-
https://www.chanel.com/il-en/fragrance/coco-mademoiselle/ ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6
-
https://www.chanel.com/puls-img/1779118002743-fy25-results-press-release-en-final.pdf ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7
-
https://fortune.com/europe/2025/05/23/chanel-dividend-2024-earnings ↩ ↩2
-
https://seatgeek.com/press/seatgeek-acquires-toptix-in-56-million-deal-to-become-the-premiere-ticketing-platform-for-teams-artists-and-venues ↩
-
https://finder.startupnationcentral.org/investor_page/alain-wertheimer?section=investments ↩ ↩2
-
https://www.chanel.com/il-en/storelocator/store/chanel-fragrance-beauty-boutique-tlv-fashion-mall-110935/ ↩ ↩2
-
https://www.chanel.com/il-en/storelocator/store/chanel-fragrance-beauty-boutique-tlv-fashion-mall-110935/ ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5
-
https://www.chanel.com/il-en/storelocator/store/chanel-beauty-boutique-ramat-aviv-mall-110934/ ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5
-
https://www.chanel.com/il-en/storelocator/store/chanel-fragrance-beauty-big-fashion-glilot-mall-131580/ ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5
-
https://www.chanel.com/il-en/storelocator/store/chanel-fragrance-beauty-jerusalem-112741/ ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5
-
https://www.globalcosmeticsnews.com/chanel-grows-middle-eastern-presence-with-first-israel-based-stores/ ↩
-
https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/00203669 ↩ ↩2 ↩3
-
https://uk.fashionnetwork.com/news/Chanel-completes-reorganisation-becoming-a-british-corporation,1441109.html ↩
-
https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/00203669/officers ↩
-
https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/00203669/persons-with-significant-control ↩
-
https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2024-06-05/chanel-s-record-dividend-brings-owners-windfall-to-12-billion ↩