INDEX / DIRECTORY / CHANEL / MILITARY

Chanel MILITARY

MILITARY AUDIT UPDATED 2026-09-08
Military Score 0.00 /10 D Chanel - Complicity Index 344
Military 0.00

Evidence-only forensic audit. Scoring happens downstream - see the main dossier for the composite assessment.

Forensic audits like this are reader-funded - no sponsors, no ads. Support OpenIntel →

Target: Chanel Limited / Chanel SAS and controlled Chanel group entities.1, 2, 3
Audit phase: Military Audit.
Date: September 2026.
Scope: Chanel’s military/defence nexus relating to Israel, including review of its controlling principals and family-office vehicles. The sources distinguish Chanel corporate entities from separately held family interests; actual control, integration and any documented conduct must be established rather than inferred from names alone.4, 5, 1, 6

Chanel Limited is an active UK private limited company (No. 00203669) and the private parent of the Chanel group.1, 2 Chanel’s current disclosures describe its activities as Fashion, Fragrance & Beauty, and Watches & Fine Jewellery, including ready-to-wear, leather goods, accessories, eyewear, fragrances, makeup, skincare, jewellery and watches.2, 7, 8 Chanel’s 2024 governance report states that the group is privately held with one shareholder, without naming that shareholder in the retrieved report; the existing audit identifies the Wertheimer family as owners, while current primary records verify Alain Wertheimer as Global Executive Chairman and a Chanel Limited director.4, 5, 9, 10 Chanel’s 2024 group-entity schedule includes Chanel SAS and numerous manufacturing and distribution entities, but its exhaustive jurisdiction table contains no “Israel” text match; this does not rule out non-incorporated retail, distributor, franchise, travel-retail, or other commercial arrangements in Israel.3

Direct Defence Contracting & Procurement

No public evidence identified. Chanel’s disclosed products and UK activity classifications concern luxury goods, clothing, perfume/cosmetics, watches and jewellery, rather than defence, aerospace, weapons, security services, or military manufacturing.1, 2, 7

The Israeli Ministry of Defense states that domestic procurement is conducted through tenders or exempt engagements and that accepted orders and annexes form supplier contracts.11 Bounded searches of the public IMOD tender-search materials and SIBAT materials retrieved no Chanel- or שאנל-named tender, contract award, supplier listing, or defence-export relationship.12, 13 This public-search result does not exclude non-public, exempt, classified, historical, foreign-procurement, or unindexed arrangements.11, 12

The earlier audit’s searches likewise found no Chanel entry in the cited defence-contractor reference or record of procurement by IMOD, the IDF, or another armed force.14 No newly retrieved source establishes a Chanel, Chanel SAS, group-entity, director, or principal contract with IMOD, the IDF, Israel Prison Service, Border Police, Elbit, Israel Aerospace Industries, Rafael, or IMI/Elbit Land.2, 9, 11, 12, 13

Dual-Use Products & Tactical Variants

No public evidence identified. Chanel’s disclosed product lines are consumer luxury goods - fashion, fragrance, beauty, watches and fine jewellery - and no retrieved corporate disclosure identifies a tactical, military-issue, or defence-specific variant.2, 7, 8

The prior audit’s searches of dual-use-control material found no Chanel-specific classification, marketing, supply, licence, or military end-use record for Chanel cosmetics, fragrances, or chemical inputs.15 No refreshed source establishes that Chanel supplies a dual-use chemical, product, component, or technology for military or tactical end use.15, 2, 8

Heavy Machinery, Construction & Infrastructure

No public evidence identified. Chanel does not disclose heavy machinery, earth-moving equipment, construction plant, or infrastructure systems among its business activities or products.2, 7, 8

Chanel’s modern-slavery disclosure identifies construction, real estate, events, professional services and IT among indirect-procurement categories, but does not describe military construction, base-building, settlement infrastructure, barrier work, or a defence-infrastructure role.8 No retrieved source links Chanel to military construction, base services, or infrastructure work in Israel or the occupied Palestinian territories.14, 8, 16, 17

Supply Chain Integration with Defence Primes

No public evidence identified. Chanel describes direct procurement as raw materials and finished goods for product manufacturing, with the large majority of direct suppliers based in Europe; it identifies specialised suppliers as the Métiers d’art.2, 8

No source retrieved identifies Chanel as supplying components, materials, technology, or services to a defence prime, or identifies an Israeli defence prime as part of Chanel’s supply chain.18, 8 The prior audit’s Elbit-focused searches found material about Elbit’s own operations but no Chanel linkage.18

Targeted searches also produced no verified military-channel act by Alain Wertheimer, Gérard Wertheimer, or Mousse Partners involving the IDF, FIDF, Elbit, Rafael, Israel Aerospace Industries, or Israel Military Industries.9, 6 This searched absence does not establish that no such activity exists. The reviewed evidence identifies no specific military-channel investment to assess; legal separation by itself does not establish operational or capital independence.4, 5, 6

Logistical Sustainment & Base Services

No public evidence identified. No retrieved source identifies Chanel as providing logistics, sustainment, catering, facilities, fuel, transport, cosmetics, fragrance, sponsorship, or other base-support services to the IDF or another military body.19, 8, 11, 12

The earlier audit’s search results included Chanel consumer gift-set pages and a third-party military-discount FAQ rather than institutional supply evidence; that third-party material is retained only as non-authoritative context and does not establish an official Chanel military programme.19 No public evidence identified of a Chanel military-discount, IDF gifting, or military sponsorship programme.19

Munitions, Weapons Systems & Strategic Platforms

No public evidence identified. Chanel’s corporate disclosures identify luxury-product activities and do not identify munitions, weapons, ammunition, ordnance, missiles, aircraft, naval platforms, land platforms, or military software.2, 7, 8

No retrieved source connects Chanel to a weapons system or strategic platform of Israel or another state.14, 18, 13 SIBAT’s published channel concerns IDF/security-system equipment, including weapons, ammunition, spares, security knowledge and military software, but bounded searches retrieved no Chanel relationship in that channel.13

No public evidence identified. The earlier audit found only general dual-use export-control material and no Chanel-specific military or dual-use export licence, enforcement action, end-use case, sanctions action, or controlled-goods legal record.15

No new primary, regulatory, or official-source finding establishes a Chanel military-export licence, military-goods regulatory action, or defence-related sanctions or legal proceeding.15, 2, 11, 13 The public IMOD tender interface is not a complete contract-award archive, so its no-result outcome cannot independently exclude unindexed or non-public activity.12

Civil Society Scrutiny & Documented Investigations

Civil-society scrutiny relating to Chanel exists on a non-military basis. The existing audit recorded reporting that Chanel announced US$4 million for organisations providing emergency humanitarian aid in southern Israel following the October 2023 Hamas attacks, announced by Leena Nair and Alain Wertheimer.20, 21, 22, 23 The available reporting does not identify an IDF, Israeli-security, defence-industrial, or weapons recipient; on the present evidence, this remains a humanitarian-donation finding rather than a Military finding.23

The earlier audit’s BDS-aligned and aggregator-style boycott references are retained as secondary context only; their underlying source chains do not independently establish a military recipient or defence purpose.20, 21, 22 No primary recipient list or payment record was retrieved, so the named recipients and precise allocation of the 2023 donation remain unresolved.23

Document-scoped full-text checks found no “Chanel” mention in the cited UN Special Rapporteur report, the 2023 OHCHR settlement-business database update, the BDS National Committee’s December 2024 guide, AFSC Investigate’s occupation-company list, Who Profits’ accessible 2015 historical report, or DBIO V.16, 17, 24, 25, 26, 27 These are source-specific no-hit findings, not proof of absence from all UN, NGO, corporate, or public records, including records that may use affiliate names or concern undisclosed holdings.3, 16, 17, 24, 25, 26, 27

JDC’s 2020–21 annual report lists Alain Wertheimer among donors, but does not disclose an amount, date, programme, location, or purpose; it therefore does not verify military, IDF, settlement, political, or defence-industry funding.28 No post-19 July 2024 or post-November 2024 continuation of a Chanel military-channel relationship is established because no underlying Military activity was verified in the reviewed evidence.2, 11, 12, 13

Footnotes

  1. https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/00203669 ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4

  2. https://www.chanel.com/puls-img/1747810519727-20250520fy24resultspressreleasefinalwwpdf.pdf ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9 ↩10 ↩11 ↩12

  3. https://www.chanel.com/puls-img/1748254724003-20250602taxstrategydocument2024finalpdf.pdf ↩ ↩2 ↩3

  4. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chanel ↩ ↩2 ↩3

  5. https://worthbury.com/report/who-owns-chanel-wertheimer-family/ ↩ ↩2 ↩3

  6. https://www.mousseinvestments.ky/ ↩ ↩2 ↩3

  7. https://www.chanel.com/gb/legal-statement/ ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5

  8. https://www.chanel.com/puls-img/1750933102800-202506chanellimitedmodernslaveryreportaustraliafy24pdf.pdf ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9 ↩10

  9. https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/00203669/officers ↩ ↩2 ↩3

  10. https://www.chanel.com/au/fashion/event/chanel-fashion-new-artistic-director/ ↩

  11. https://www.mod.gov.il/%D7%A9%D7%99%D7%A8%D7%95%D7%AA-%D7%9C%D7%A2%D7%A1%D7%A7%D7%99%D7%9D/%D7%9E%D7%A0%D7%94%D7%A8-%D7%A1%D7%A4%D7%A7%D7%99%D7%9D-%D7%95%D7%9E%D7%9B%D7%A8%D7%96%D7%99%D7%9D/%D7%AA%D7%94%D7%9C%D7%99%D7%9B%D7%99-%D7%A8%D7%9B%D7%A9-%D7%91%D7%90%D7%A8%D7%A5/%D7%AA%D7%94%D7%9C%D7%99%D7%9B%D7%99-%D7%94%D7%A8%D7%9B%D7%A9%D7%94-%D7%91%D7%90%D7%A8%D7%A5 ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6

  12. https://www.online.mod.gov.il/Online2016/Pages/General/Support/balamhelp.aspx ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6

  13. https://mod.gov.il/%D7%A9%D7%99%D7%A8%D7%95%D7%AA-%D7%9C%D7%A2%D7%A1%D7%A7%D7%99%D7%9D/%D7%94%D7%90%D7%92%D7%A3-%D7%9C%D7%99%D7%A6%D7%95%D7%90-%D7%91%D7%99%D7%98%D7%97%D7%95%D7%A0%D7%99-%D7%A1%D7%99%D7%91%D7%98/%D7%A9%D7%99%D7%A8%D7%95%D7%AA%D7%99%D7%9D-%D7%95%D7%9B%D7%9C%D7%99%D7%9D-%D7%9C%D7%A8%D7%A9%D7%95%D7%AA-%D7%94%D7%99%D7%A6%D7%95%D7%90%D7%9F/%D7%9E%D7%9B%D7%99%D7%A8%D7%AA-%D7%A6%D7%99%D7%95%D7%93-%D7%A6%D7%94%D7%9C ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6

  14. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_defense_contractors ↩ ↩2 ↩3

  15. https://www.bis.doc.gov/index.php/licensing/forms-documents ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4

  16. https://digitallibrary.un.org/record/4088356 ↩ ↩2 ↩3

  17. https://www.ohchr.org/sites/default/files/documents/hrbodies/hrcouncil/sessions-regular/session31/database-hrc3136/23-06-30-Update-israeli-settlement-opt-database-hrc3136.pdf ↩ ↩2 ↩3

  18. https://www.elbitsystems.com/segments ↩ ↩2 ↩3

  19. https://www.jobzmall.com/chanel/faqs/does-chanel-offer-any-special-programs-for-veterans ↩ ↩2 ↩3

  20. https://boycott.thewitness.news/target/chanel ↩ ↩2

  21. https://brusselsmorning.com/does-chanel-support-israel-donations-statements-and-boycott-calls/82011/ ↩ ↩2

  22. https://masjidalaqsa.com/boycott/coco-chanel-israel-bds ↩ ↩2

  23. https://www.algemeiner.com/2023/10/18/chanel-tory-burch-others-fashion-donate-help-israelis-impacted-hamas-war/ ↩ ↩2 ↩3

  24. https://bdsmovement.net/Guide-to-BDS-Boycott ↩ ↩2

  25. https://investigate.afsc.org/occupations ↩ ↩2

  26. https://www.whoprofits.org/publications/report/121 ↩ ↩2

  27. https://www.alhaq.org/cached_uploads/download/2025/11/25/dbio-novemebr-2025-1764074548.pdf ↩ ↩2

  28. https://jdcorg-media.s3.amazonaws.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/10/JDC-Annual-Report-2020-2021.pdf ↩