Key Findings
- Economic: Cinnabon has a documented Israeli franchise presence operated by Sokolin Family Group, with reported 2024 openings in Kiryat Bialik and Tel Aviv; the available record characterises this as local franchise development rather than a disclosed GoTo Foods acquisition or Israeli subsidiary.1, 2, 3
- Political: No public evidence identified of Cinnabon, GoTo Foods, Roark, or the identified Israeli franchise principals funding or supplying the IDF, settlements, Israeli state agencies, or anti-BDS advocacy; individual donor references concerning Neal Aronson and Wendy Aronson are not attributable to Cinnabon, GoTo Foods, or a particular Roark fund.4, 5
- Settlements: No public evidence identified of a Cinnabon outlet, reseller, warehouse, office, contract, or other verified presence in a West Bank settlement, East Jerusalem settlement, or the occupied Golan Heights.1, 2, 6
- Not found: No public evidence identified of Cinnabon or its parent group holding Israeli military, security, defence-prime, surveillance, cloud, AI, or Israeli security-technology contracts or relationships.7, 8
Target Profile
| Field | Detail |
|---|---|
| Company Name | Cinnabon |
| Jurisdiction | United States; Cinnabon Franchisor SPV LLC is a Delaware-law foreign LLC registered in Georgia.9 |
| Headquarters | Atlanta, Georgia; the franchisor registration lists 5620 Glenridge Drive NE, Atlanta.10 |
| Sector | Bakery franchise and trademark-licensing business.11 |
| Ownership | Cinnabon Franchisor SPV LLC is reported as an indirect wholly owned subsidiary of GoTo Foods LLC through GoTo Foods Systems LLC; GoTo Foods is identified by Roark Capital as an investment. Available materials do not disclose a complete beneficial-ownership chain, ownership percentages, or fund control rights.12, 13 |
| Key Executives / Governance | Omer Gajial, GoTo Foods CEO; Mike Freeman, EVP and President, Brands; Dave Mikita, President of International and Retail Channels; Urvi Patel, SVP, Brands and Chief Brand Officer for Cinnabon. Vyacheslav Sokolin is identified as Sokolin Family Group managing partner and Stanislav Kesselman as Israel executive director.14, 2 |
| Israeli-Nexus Summary | A reported locally operated Israeli franchise network opened outlets in Kiryat Bialik and Tel Aviv in 2024; no verified occupied-territory, military, security, or state-partnership nexus was identified.1, 2, 7 |
Key Facts:
- Cinnabon was founded in Seattle in 1985 and is described by GoTo Foods as a cinnamon-roll bakery brand.11
- GoTo Foods, formerly Focus Brands, identifies Cinnabon as one of its affiliated brands.15
- Cinnabon reported more than 2,400 locations across 65 countries and territories in September 2026.16
Executive Summary
Cinnabon’s documented Israel nexus is commercial and franchise-based. Available Israeli reporting identifies Vyacheslav Sokolin as the local franchise holder and describes Cinnabon outlets at Ofer Krayon in Kiryat Bialik and Azrieli Mall in Tel Aviv, with Sokolin Family Group describing itself as Cinnabon’s and Carvel’s Israeli master franchisee. The record supports local Israeli market activity, but does not disclose the franchise agreement, its territorial schedule, payment terms, active-store count, or the legal entity holding the current franchise.1, 2, 3
The principal evidence-supported economic vector is therefore the operation and prospective expansion of a consumer franchise in Israel. A prior official franchise reportedly operated through R.O.K. Investments from 2011 until its reported 2016 closure; that earlier activity cannot be assumed to be continuous with the current Sokolin operation. Public material describes a standard Cinnabon franchise model with a 6% royalty on net sales and a stated marketing fee, but it does not establish the applicable Israeli agreement, actual remittances, Israel-specific revenue, tax payments, or GoTo Foods’ financial exposure.17, 18
The political-domain nexus arises from the continued commercial presence within Israel, not from a documented governmental alliance or political programme. The located outlets are reported in Kiryat Bialik and Tel Aviv, within Israel’s pre-1967 territory. No public evidence identified places a Cinnabon operation, contract, equipment sale, reseller, warehouse, or service activity in a West Bank settlement, East Jerusalem settlement, or the occupied Golan Heights. The reviewed OHCHR material contained no Cinnabon mention, although this document-scoped finding does not establish absence from all UN materials or databases.1, 6, 19
The record does not support military or digital complicity findings. No public evidence identified connects Cinnabon, GoTo Foods, the current Israeli operator, or the identified historical operator to Israeli military or security procurement, defence-prime supply chains, base services, weapons, surveillance, biometrics, cloud infrastructure, artificial intelligence, cyber, or defence-technology relationships. A generic historical reference to franchised venues including “military establishments” did not identify Israel, an installation, a Cinnabon operator, or a security end user.7, 8, 20
On the fixed, human-vetted V6.5 assessment, Cinnabon receives a BRS of 341, placing it in Tier D (Moderate Complicity). This reflects the documented Israeli franchise activity and associated economic/political nexus, while retaining zero military and digital scores and the evidence limits stated throughout this dossier.
Timeline of Relevant Events
| Date | Event |
|---|---|
| 1985 | Cinnabon was founded in Seattle.11 |
| November 2004 | AFC Enterprises reported the sale of all outstanding shares of Cinnabon International, Inc. to Focus Brands Inc., then described as a Roark Capital Group affiliate, for $21 million in cash subject to closing adjustments.21 |
| 2011 | Mako reported that a prior official Israeli Cinnabon franchise opened in Tel Aviv through R.O.K. Investments and contemplated ten outlets.17 |
| 2016 | Mako reported that the prior R.O.K. franchise closed in 2016.17 |
| February 2024 | Focus Brands announced its name change to GoTo Foods and identified itself as Cinnabon’s parent.15 |
| 2024 | Sokolin Family Group states that it opened the first Cinnabon and Carvel branches in Israel; this is franchisee self-reporting rather than a published franchisor agreement.2 |
| July 2024 | Mako reported an operating Cinnabon branch at Ofer Krayon, 192 Akko Road, Kiryat Bialik, and identified Vyacheslav Sokolin as franchise holder.1 |
| October 2024 | Israel Hayom reported a shared Cinnabon and Carvel location at Azrieli Mall in Tel Aviv.3 |
| September 2025 | OHCHR updated its business-and-settlements database; the supplied document review reported no Cinnabon mention in the checked material.19 |
| September 2026 | Cinnabon stated it had more than 2,400 locations across 65 countries and territories.16 |
Corporate Overview
Cinnabon is a U.S.-based bakery-franchise and licensing brand. Its public privacy policy identifies Cinnabon Franchisor SPV LLC and Cinnabon LLC as Cinnabon-group entities owned by GoTo Foods LLC. GoTo Foods’ franchise-disclosure material identifies Cinnabon Franchisor SPV LLC as a wholly owned direct franchising entity of GoTo Foods Systems LLC, itself described as a wholly owned indirect subsidiary of GoTo Foods LLC.22, 12
GoTo Foods was formerly known as Focus Brands and presents Cinnabon alongside Auntie Anne’s, Carvel, Jamba, Moe’s Southwest Grill, McAlister’s Deli, and Schlotzsky’s. Roark Capital identifies GoTo Foods as an investment and Cinnabon as one of its brands, but the reviewed public record does not disclose Roark’s ownership percentage, fund vehicle, beneficial owners, board composition, or control rights.15, 13
The documented Israeli relationship is a local franchise arrangement rather than a verified GoTo Foods-controlled Israeli subsidiary. Sokolin Family Group describes itself as the Israeli master franchisee and states that it is expanding the brands in key Israeli cities. Israeli reporting attributes the 2024 launches to Vyacheslav Sokolin. The legal entity holding the current Israeli franchise, the precise contract scope, and the relationship between the current network and the historical R.O.K. operation were not established from primary registration or franchise-agreement records.1, 2, 3
Domain Summaries
Military: Military
Mechanism of Involvement
No public evidence identified of a Cinnabon, GoTo Foods, current Israeli operator, or identified historical franchisee contract, tender award, framework agreement, or memorandum with the Israeli Ministry of Defense, IDF, Israel Prison Service, Border Police, or another Israeli security body.7
No public evidence identified of defence-specific products, military-end-user arrangements, defence-prime supply relationships, base-service contracts, weapons, munitions, military technology, export licensing, sanctions enforcement, or litigation concerning an Israeli defence-supply relationship. GoTo Foods’ materials describe civilian bakery franchise development, product development, distribution arrangements, regional supply chains, real-estate selection, construction review, and operating support; they do not identify defence customers or contracts.8
Counter-Arguments and Evidence Limits
Cinnabon’s strongest defence is that the available evidence depicts a civilian consumer-franchise business, with identified Israeli retail activity in Kiryat Bialik, Tel Aviv, and Petah Tikva rather than documented operations at Israeli military sites or in occupied territory.1, 3, 23
A 2021 Cinnabon statement referred generally to franchised locations in “military establishments,” but did not identify a country, site, operator, contract, Cinnabon outlet, or Israeli security end user. A 2004 SEC-filed announcement referenced military-base operations for Seattle’s Best Coffee while separately describing Cinnabon as civilian bakery outlets; it does not establish Cinnabon military-base services.20, 24
Named Entities and Evidence Map
- Cinnabon / Cinnabon Franchisor SPV LLC / GoTo Foods: No public evidence identified of Israeli military or security procurement, defence supply, or sustainment activity.7, 8
- Vyacheslav Sokolin / Sokolin Family Group: Reported local franchise operator; no public evidence identified of defence-sector activity.1, 2
- R.O.K. Investments / Ronen Sorinov: Reported in connection with the 2011 franchise initiative; the supplied evidence does not establish continuation of that relationship after the reported 2016 closure or its connection to the later Sokolin operation.17, 25
Digital: Digital
Mechanism of Involvement
No public evidence identified of Cinnabon enterprise-software, point-of-sale, CRM, payment-processing, marketing-technology, cloud, hosting, data-residency, surveillance, biometric, video-analytics, location-tracking, AI, autonomous-system, or cyber relationships relevant to Israel/Palestine.26, 22, 15
No public evidence identified of Cinnabon as a supplier, contractor, technology partner, or recipient of procurement from Israeli defence, intelligence, law-enforcement, or security institutions. Bounded research likewise identified no public evidence of Israeli surveillance, cyber, AI, signals-intelligence, or military-technology investments or board roles by Neal Aronson, Jim Holthouser, or Urvi Patel.26, 27
Counter-Arguments and Evidence Limits
Cinnabon is publicly characterised as a global franchisor and multi-channel licensor, not a technology company. This supports a civilian commercial interpretation, but does not itself prove that individual outlets use no ordinary retail technology. The reviewed public materials do not disclose technology specifications or surveillance practices for individual locations, so the conclusion is limited to the absence of publicly identified evidence, rather than a finding that no such systems exist.26, 28
Named Entities and Evidence Map
- Cinnabon / GoTo Foods: Corporate and franchise materials establish a parent-and-franchisor structure, but do not disclose a relevant technology stack or Israeli security-technology relationship.22, 15
- Neal Aronson: Roark identifies him as founder, managing partner, and Investment Committee member; reviewed materials do not disclose his ownership percentage in Cinnabon or GoTo Foods or identify relevant Israeli technology investments.27
- Urvi Patel: Identified as Cinnabon Chief Brand Officer; no public evidence identified of relevant Israeli defence, cyber, or AI investment or role.14, 27
Economic: Economic
Mechanism of Involvement
Cinnabon has a documented Israeli commercial presence through local franchise activity. Mako reported a branch at Ofer Krayon in Kiryat Bialik and identified Vyacheslav Sokolin as franchise holder; subsequent reporting identified an outlet at Azrieli Mall in Tel Aviv. Sokolin Family Group states that it opened Israeli Cinnabon and Carvel branches in 2024 and is expanding, though this is operator self-reporting and does not independently verify the full network.1, 2, 3
The record supports a potential franchisor-revenue mechanism. GoTo Foods’ standard Cinnabon franchise model states a 6% royalty on net sales and a marketing fee. This does not establish the terms of the Israeli agreement, payments actually made, remittance direction, Israel-specific revenue, tax contribution, or consolidated financial materiality.18
Mako reported that the earlier R.O.K. franchise was associated with a planned approximately NIS 10 million investment, contemplated ten outlets, and closed in 2016. The current activity is described as local franchise development, not as a disclosed acquisition of an Israeli company by GoTo Foods.17, 1, 2
Counter-Arguments and Evidence Limits
No public evidence identified of direct sourcing from named Israeli agricultural exporters, an identified Israeli importer-of-record, Israeli-origin seasonal procurement, Israeli factories, research facilities, technology partnerships, logistics hubs, data centres, real estate investments, Israeli sovereign-bond holdings, Israel-focused fund holdings, or Israeli-company holdings by Cinnabon or GoTo Foods.1, 2, 29
No public evidence identified of a branch, delivery operation, warehouse, office, or other verified operating presence in a West Bank settlement, East Jerusalem settlement, or occupied Golan Heights. The reported Kiryat Bialik and Tel Aviv sites do not establish activity in those territories.1, 3, 6
Named Entities and Evidence Map
- Cinnabon Franchisor SPV LLC: Identified as the Cinnabon franchisor and GoTo Foods affiliate; the public record does not establish a GoTo Foods-controlled Israeli subsidiary.10, 12
- Sokolin Family Group / Vyacheslav Sokolin: Local operator self-reports Israeli master-franchise development; reporting identifies Sokolin as franchise holder.1, 2
- R.O.K. Investments: Historical Israeli franchise operator reported to have closed in 2016; continuity with the current operation is unresolved.17
- Stanislav Kesselman: Press-reported as Cinnabon Israel CEO; reported turnover of roughly NIS 0.5 million per branch per month is local press reporting, not audited or consolidated GoTo Foods financial disclosure.30
Political: Political
Mechanism of Involvement
The documented political-domain nexus is commercial presence in Israel through local franchising. GoTo Foods lists Israel among Cinnabon’s international markets, while Sokolin Family Group identifies itself as master franchisee. This is evidence of market activity, not evidence of a state partnership, geopolitical position, or governmental sponsorship.31, 2
No public evidence identified of a Cinnabon, GoTo Foods, or Roark public statement addressing Israel-Palestine, Gaza, Israeli military action, or Palestinian civilian harm in the reviewed materials. No public evidence identified of Cinnabon-specific anti-BDS lobbying, PAC activity, or leadership roles in AIPAC, CFI, ADL, USISTF, or comparable advocacy organisations.4
Counter-Arguments and Evidence Limits
No public evidence identified of funds, sponsorship, goods, logistics, free services, or assets supplied by Cinnabon, GoTo Foods, Sokolin Family Group, or the named Israeli launch principal to the IDF, FIDF, JNF/KKL, settlement organisations, reservist funds, or Israeli state agencies.4
The strongest attribution limitation concerns individual giving. Donor and sponsor records mention Wendy Conrad/Aronson and Neal Aronson, including Jewish Federation, AJC, and a report titled Education Opportunities for Disadvantaged Israeli Children. Those sources do not identify purpose, restriction, military or settlement recipient, or a contribution by Cinnabon, GoTo Foods, Roark, or a particular Roark fund. They therefore do not establish corporate political support.5
Cinnabon’s privacy policy states that independently owned or operated franchisees fall outside its policy’s scope. That does not eliminate possible franchisor responsibility for contractual franchise activity, but it is relevant to avoiding unsupported attribution of every local franchisee act to the U.S. franchisor.22
Named Entities and Evidence Map
- Cinnabon / GoTo Foods / Roark: No public evidence identified of relevant political statements, state partnership, anti-BDS lobbying, or material support to Israeli military, settlement, or state entities.4
- Sokolin Family Group / Vyacheslav Sokolin / Stanislav Kesselman: Identified as local franchise leadership; no public evidence identified of verified Israel-Palestine statements, IDF/FIDF/JNF/settlement donations, or anti-BDS roles.2, 14
- Neal Aronson and Wendy Aronson: Individual donor/sponsor references exist, but the supplied material does not establish corporate attribution, a designated political purpose, or support for military, settlements, or anti-BDS activity.5
BDS-1000 Score
Method: V6.5.
| Domain | I | M | P | V-Domain Score |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Military | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 |
| Digital | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 |
| Economic | 3.90 | 5.20 | 7.80 | 2.90 |
| Political | 3.90 | 7.00 | 7.80 | 3.90 |
- V_MAX: 3.90 Avg_OTHERS: 0.97
- BRS Score: 341 Tier: D (Moderate Complicity)
V_MAX is driven by Political at 3.90, reflecting the documented Israeli franchise nexus while preserving the absence of verified state, military, settlement, or advocacy support. Economic reflects the reported local franchise operations and potential standard royalty mechanism, subject to unresolved contract, payment, and financial-materiality evidence. The V6.5 method is scale-free, evidence-only, and human-vetted; the scores are fixed assessments rather than an inference from allegations alone.
Methodology Note
- Evidence is limited to the four supplied domain audits and the source materials identified in their end notes.
- The assessment is evidence-only: allegations, inferred affiliations, and unsupported transitive associations are not treated as verified corporate conduct.
- Impact (I) evaluates the type of activity; Materiality (M) evaluates its evidenced scale; Proximity (P) evaluates directness to the relevant nexus.
- Divested, closed, exited, or historical operations are mitigated and are not treated as proof of continuing activity without evidence of continuity.
- Entity attribution is applied narrowly: conduct by individuals, parent-affiliated funds, historical franchisees, or independent local franchisees is not automatically attributable to Cinnabon.
- Settlement operations, if verified, would be assessed in both Economic and Political; no such verified Cinnabon operation was identified here.
- “No public evidence identified” denotes the audit’s bounded public-record result, not proof that no relationship could exist outside the reviewed materials.
Footnotes
-
https://www.mako.co.il/food-restaurants/restaurant-news/Article-e2c0657d9819091027.htm ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9 ↩10 ↩11 ↩12 ↩13 ↩14
-
https://sokolingroup.com/eng ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9 ↩10 ↩11 ↩12 ↩13 ↩14
-
https://www.israelhayom.com/2024/10/08/sweet-spot-carvel-cinnabon-come-to-tel-aviv/ ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7
-
https://development.gotofoods.com/cinnabon-international/ ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4
-
https://jewishatlanta.org/fiscal-year-2025-honor-roll/ ↩ ↩2 ↩3
-
https://www.gotofoods.com/introducing-goto-foods-focus-brands-unveils-new-name-and-identity/ ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5
-
https://development.gotofoods.com/cinnabon-international/ ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4
-
https://ecorp.sos.ga.gov/BusinessSearch/BusinessInformation?businessId=2331398&businessType= ↩
-
https://apps.dfi.wi.gov/apps/FranchiseSearch/details.aspx?hash=253400931&id=640665&search=external&type=GENERAL ↩ ↩2
-
https://pub-22da695f2b6542a48e234bc59bc67d23.r2.dev/fdds/2025/AUNTIE_ANNE_S_FRANCHISOR_SPV_LLC_cmfed99yh02op1vbtytnujba7.pdf ↩ ↩2 ↩3
-
https://www.gotofoods.com/introducing-goto-foods-focus-brands-unveils-new-name-and-identity/ ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5
-
https://www.mako.co.il/food-restaurants/restaurant-news/Article-e2c0657d9819091027.htm ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6
-
https://www.ohchr.org/en/press-releases/2025/09/un-human-rights-office-updates-database-businesses-involved-israeli ↩ ↩2
-
https://www.cinnabon.com/newsroom/industry-wide-supply-chain-shortages ↩ ↩2
-
https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1041379/000095014404010495/g91689e8vk.htm ↩
-
https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1041379/000095014404009000/g90895exv99w1.htm ↩
-
https://www.koshernexus.org/2011/07/cinnabon-comes-to-israel/ ↩
-
https://www.cinnabon.com/newsroom/industry-wide-supply-chain-shortages ↩
-
https://www.gov.il/en/departments/units/import-food-inspection-unit ↩







