Enterprise Technology Stack & Vendor Relationships
AB Volvo (publ), Swedish registration number 556012-5790, is the Gothenburg-headquartered parent company of the Volvo Group, whose activities include trucks, buses, construction equipment, power solutions, financing, and services 1, 2.
Volvo Group Venture Capital announced a 2019 investment in Tel Aviv-based Upstream Security, which Volvo described as an automotive-cybersecurity company focused on protecting connected vehicles from cyber threats and misuse 3.
The investment announcement described Upstream as potentially relevant to Volvo’s future cybersecurity requirements, but did not state that its software was deployed in Volvo production systems, vehicles, or customer-data infrastructure 3.
No public evidence identified of a Volvo Group licensing, subscription, or integration relationship with Check Point, Wiz, SentinelOne, CyberArk, NICE, Verint, Claroty, or Palo Alto Networks.
Volvo Construction Equipment’s dealer locator lists Mayer’s Cars and Trucks Co. Ltd. in Beer Sheva as a Volvo CE dealer, while Volvo Buses identifies Mayer’s Cars and Trucks Co. Ltd. in Tel Aviv as its Israeli contact 4, 5.
Mayer states that it began as an exclusive importer of Volvo products in Israel in 1967 and subsequently added trucks, buses, engines, and heavy machinery 6.
No public evidence identified of a named systems integrator or IT-outsourcer deploying Israeli-origin enterprise technology for Volvo Group in Israel.
Surveillance, Biometrics & Retail Technology
No public evidence identified that Volvo Group procured or deployed Israeli-origin facial recognition, biometric identification, gait analysis, retail analytics, or frictionless-checkout products, including Trigo, BriefCam, AnyVision/Oosto, or Trax 7, 8.
No public evidence identified of Israeli-origin predictive-policing, social-media monitoring, sentiment-analysis, or workforce-surveillance tools used by Volvo Group 7, 8.
Volvo’s disclosed Upstream Security investment concerns connected-vehicle cybersecurity and does not describe biometric or behavioural-surveillance capabilities 3.
No public evidence identified that biometric, retail-surveillance, or behavioural-monitoring technologies reached Volvo Group through a disclosed managed-security provider or bundled platform.
Cloud Infrastructure, Data Residency & Sovereign Cloud Participation
No public evidence identified that AB Volvo or Volvo Group operates, leases, or co-locates a data centre in Israel, or participates in Project Nimbus or another Israeli government cloud programme 7, 8.
No public evidence identified that Volvo Group markets or contracts sovereign-cloud, data-residency, or infrastructure-resilience services to Israeli state or military bodies 7, 8.
Mayer’s online registration materials state that personal data supplied to Mayer’s Cars and Trucks and Mayer Group companies may be used for service, operational, marketing, and statistical purposes and may be transferred to external parties as Mayer considers necessary, subject to law 9.
That Mayer statement verifies customer-data collection by the Israeli importer but does not identify Volvo Group as data controller, identify hosting geography, or establish an Israeli-state access route 9.
Defence, Intelligence & Security Sector Technology Relationships
No public evidence identified of Volvo Group digital-technology contracts, communications infrastructure, hosting, analytics, or cybersecurity services supplied directly to the Israeli Ministry of Defense, Israel Defense Forces, intelligence agencies, or other Israeli security bodies 7, 8, 10.
The UN Special Rapporteur’s 2025 report discusses Volvo Group in relation to heavy machinery supplied through exclusively licensed Israeli dealers, rather than a digital product or service 10.
The report states that Volvo machinery is supplied through exclusively licensed Israeli dealers and describes Volvo’s licensee as an entity listed in the OHCHR settlement-business database 10.
The report does not document a Volvo Group IT, cloud, surveillance, AI, or cybersecurity contract with Israeli security bodies 10.
No public evidence identified that Volvo Group developed, sold, licensed, or maintained offensive cyber capabilities, exploit tools, or digital weapons for Israeli state actors 7, 10.
AI, Algorithmic & Autonomous Systems
Volvo Group’s 2018 partnership with Tel Aviv-based DRIVE identified connectivity, artificial intelligence, and automation as potential fields for collaboration 11.
The 2018 announcement described Volvo as an active DRIVE partner intended to mentor, co-create, and establish business relationships with startups, but it does not identify an AI system supplied to an Israeli state, military, intelligence, or security customer 11.
In April 2021, Volvo described DRIVE TLV as a smart-mobility hub through which the Group could engage startups working on potentially relevant technology, and stated that Volvo representatives met DRIVE representatives every other week at that time 12.
The available DRIVE sources do not identify a particular AI product, vendor deployment, government customer, or present continuation of the relationship 11, 12.
No public evidence identified that Volvo Group AI or machine-learning systems were trained on Israeli or occupied-territory civilian data, intercepted communications, or surveillance-derived datasets 7, 10.
No public evidence identified that Volvo Group supplied autonomous target-generation, target-tracking, or lethality systems 7, 10.
Technology Ecosystem & R&D Footprint
Volvo Group partnered with the Tel Aviv-based DRIVE incubator in March 2018, with Volvo describing planned mentoring, co-creation, and startup business relationships 11.
Volvo Group Venture Capital announced a July 2019 investment in Tel Aviv-based Next Gear Ventures, described as an early-stage fund focused on Israeli mobility startups 13.
Volvo stated that the Next Gear investment was intended to provide early access to startups, while the announcement did not disclose the stake size 13.
Volvo Group Venture Capital’s October 2019 Upstream Security investment is a verified investment in an Israeli-origin automotive-cybersecurity company, but Volvo did not announce an acquisition or completed product integration 3.
The cited public announcements do not establish the continuing status after 2019–2021 of the Next Gear, Upstream, or DRIVE relationships 3, 11, 12, 13.
No public evidence identified of a Volvo Group-owned Israeli R&D centre, engineering office, or innovation laboratory 7, 8.
DRIVE is described in Volvo’s materials as an external Tel Aviv startup incubator or smart-mobility hub, not as a Volvo-operated facility 11, 12.
No public evidence identified of Volvo Group patents, IP licences, or co-development arrangements with Israeli universities or research institutions in the reviewed disclosures 7, 8.
Volvo Cars should be treated separately from AB Volvo and Volvo Group because Volvo Car Group states that it ceased to be part of Swedish Volvo Group in 1999 7.
Civil Society Scrutiny & Regulatory History
The UN Special Rapporteur’s 2025 report names Volvo Group in its discussion of heavy-machinery manufacturers and licensed Israeli dealers in the context of settlement-linked business activity 10.
The report’s Volvo-related discussion concerns machinery and dealer arrangements rather than a Volvo Group digital vendor relationship, cloud contract, surveillance product, or AI service 10.
Volvo Group’s 2024 annual report identifies Industrivärden as holding 28.0% of voting rights and Geely Holding 14.7% as of 31 December 2024, while listing no shareholder with at least 10% of capital 7.
Volvo’s 2024 corporate-governance report identifies Pär Boman as Chair and Martin Lundstedt as President and CEO 14.
No public evidence identified in the reviewed governance materials of disclosed investments, board positions, or family-office vehicles connecting the named directors or CEO to Israeli surveillance, cyber, AI, SIGINT, or military-technology companies 14, 15.
The 2025 OHCHR update is document-scoped evidence concerning businesses involved in Israeli settlements and does not by itself establish the status of every past, future, related-party, or licensee listing 16.
No public evidence identified of a boycott or divestment campaign specifically grounded in Volvo Group technology provision, or of a regulatory, export-control, sanctions, or legal action involving Volvo Group technology sales or services to Israeli state entities 7, 10, 14.
Footnotes
-
https://www.volvogroup.com/content/dam/volvo-group/markets/master/events/2026/volvo-group%E2%80%93annual-report-2025.pdf ↩
-
https://www.volvogroup.com/en/news-and-media/news/2026/feb/proposal-for-board-of-directors-of-ab-volvo.html ↩
-
https://www.volvogroup.com/en/news-and-media/news/2019/oct/news-3450618.html ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5
-
https://www.volvoce.com/europe/en/contact-us/dealer-locator/il/mayers-cars-and-trucks-co-ltd-beer-sheva/ ↩
-
https://www.volvogroup.com/content/dam/volvo-group/markets/master/news/2025/feb/4997940-volvo-group-annual-report-2024.pdf ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9 ↩10 ↩11 ↩12 ↩13
-
https://www.volvogroup.com/en/news-and-media/news/2021/apr/news-040121.html ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7
-
https://docs.un.org/en/A/HRC/59/23 ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9 ↩10
-
https://www.volvogroup.com/en/news-and-media/news/2018/mar/charging-vg-for-the-future.html ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6
-
https://www.volvogroup.com/en/news-and-media/news/2021/apr/news-040121.html ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4
-
https://www.volvogroup.com/en/news-and-media/news/2019/jul/volvo-group-venture-capital.html ↩ ↩2 ↩3
-
https://www.volvogroup.com/content/dam/volvo-group/markets/master/investors/corporate-governance/corporate-governance-report-2024.pdf ↩ ↩2 ↩3
-
https://www.volvogroup.com/en/investors/corporate-governance/board-of-directors.html ↩
-
https://www.ohchr.org/en/press-releases/2025/09/un-human-rights-office-updates-database-businesses-involved-israeli ↩