Key Findings
- Economic: Danone discloses a 20.00% equity-accounted interest in Israel-domiciled Strauss Health Ltd; Strauss reports manufacture and marketing of Danone-branded and Alpro products in Israel, and agreement-related licence, know-how and royalty costs of approximately NIS 39 million in 2025.1, 2
- Partner support: Strauss Group reported product donations, vehicles and food-service support for Israeli soldiers and security units. Danone maintains a 20% interest and exclusive licences with Strauss Health, a Strauss subsidiary; the final assessment applies indirect partner attribution, without claiming direct Danone participation.1, 2, 3, 4
- Investment: Danone Manifesto Ventures Europe SAS was disclosed as an interested holder in Israeli cell-based-milk company Wilk Technologies; proposed development and supply arrangements were non-binding, and their execution or current status was not established.5, 6
- Not found: No public evidence identified of Danone or Strauss Health defence contracting, direct military supply, Project Nimbus participation, or provision of Israeli state/security technology services in the reviewed record.7, 8, 9
Target Profile
| Field | Detail |
|---|---|
| Company Name | DANONE SA |
| Jurisdiction | France; Danone S.A. is registered in the Paris trade register under number 552.032.534.10 |
| Headquarters | 59–61 rue La Fayette, 75009 Paris, France.10 |
| Sector | Food and beverages, packaged waters, and specialised nutrition.11 |
| Ownership | Listed company; Danone disclosed BlackRock, Artisan Partners and Capital Group among major shareholders, with no controlling shareholder or named shareholder holding at least 10% in the reviewed record.12 |
| Key Executives / Governance | Gilles Schnepp, Chair of the Board; Antoine de Saint-Affrique, Chief Executive Officer.13 |
| Israeli-Nexus Summary | A 20% Strauss Health interest and current exclusive licences connect Danone indirectly to the wider Strauss Group, whose military-support activities are documented; direct Danone military participation and a qualifying digital-security result were not established.1, 2, 3, 4, 9 |
Key Facts:
- Danone’s 2025 schedule lists Strauss Health Ltd as an Israel-domiciled equity company held at 20.00%, not as a controlled subsidiary.1
- Strauss Group is controlled through a Strauss-family control chain; the record does not establish that Danone controls Strauss Group or has general day-to-day control of Strauss Health.14
- Danone’s Israel country-site entry routes to Strauss Group’s Danone-brand page.15
Executive Summary
Danone is a French food, beverage, water and specialised-nutrition company. Its documented Israel/Palestine nexus is principally commercial and financial: a 20.00% equity-accounted holding in Strauss Health Ltd, an Israeli entity within the wider Strauss Group, alongside licensing arrangements that allow Strauss Health to use Danone know-how, trademarks and specified trade secrets for covered products.1, 2
The commercial relationship includes the territorial reach and continuing character of those licences. Strauss’s FY2025 reporting describes an early-2017 dairy licence covering Israel, Gaza and the West Bank, and a June 2021 plant-based licence covering Israel, Ramat Hagolan/Golan Heights, East Jerusalem, the West Bank and Gaza. It also reports manufacturing and marketing of Danone-branded and Alpro products in Israel, and aggregate licence, know-how and royalty costs payable under the Danone agreement.2 These disclosures establish contractual territorial scope, but do not establish particular transactions, retail outlets, facilities, distributors or customers in settlements or other named locations in occupied territory.2
A second, more limited nexus is Danone Manifesto Ventures’ documented 2023 investment relationship with Wilk Technologies, an Israeli cell-based-milk company. Wilk disclosed both the investment and a non-binding memorandum concerning proposed specialised-nutrition development and potential supply arrangements. The reviewed filings do not establish a binding agreement, retention of the investment, or commercial deployment of the resulting technology.5, 6
The reviewed evidence does not support a direct defence, weapons, logistics, surveillance, Project Nimbus, Israeli-security technology, or direct IDF-supply finding concerning Danone or Strauss Health.7, 8, 9 Strauss Group separately reported war-period donations and support involving military bases, soldiers and security-force units, but the cited materials attribute that conduct to the wider Strauss Group and do not identify Strauss Health, Danone, Danone-branded products, or Alpro-Strauss products as participants.3, 4
On the fixed, human-vetted V6.5 assessment, Danone receives BRS 678, Tier B (Severe Complicity). The governing political finding is Strauss Group’s documented mobilisation of corporate products, vehicles and food-service resources for military support, assessed through Danone’s continuing exclusive-partner and minority-equity relationship. Physical logistics also contribute to Military. This is an indirect attribution under the methodology, with Proximity reduced to 5.8 in both domains; it is not a finding that Danone itself supplied the military or that Danone-branded goods were donated.1, 2, 3, 4 The separate economic score reflects the current 20% investment, while digital remains zero.1, 9
Timeline of Relevant Events
| Date | Event |
|---|---|
| March 2004 | A commercial report stated that Danone’s sales in Israel would occur through its Strauss partnership and referred to its then-20% holding in Strauss Dairies; current terms were not established.16 |
| 2006 | A Tel Aviv Stock Exchange filing described Danone Springs of Eden BV as Netherlands-incorporated and jointly owned through Groupe Danone and Eden Springs Ltd; its described operations were European, not an Israeli operating facility.17 |
| Early 2017 | Strauss Health’s disclosed dairy-products licence began, granting exclusive, non-transferable rights for covered products in Israel, Gaza and the West Bank.2 |
| June 2021 | Strauss Health’s plant-based licence began, covering Israel, Ramat Hagolan/Golan Heights, East Jerusalem, the West Bank and Gaza.2 |
| 2 April 2023 | Danone Manifesto Ventures Europe SAS agreed to invest US$2 million in Wilk Technologies within a US$3.5 million financing round.5 |
| 22 June 2023 | Wilk reported a non-binding MOU with Nutricia Research B.V. and Danone Manifesto Ventures Europe SAS for proposed specialised-nutrition development and a potential supply agreement.6 |
| November 2023 | Strauss Group reported war-period product support to hubs including hospitals, military bases and assembly areas; it did not attribute the activity to Strauss Health or Danone.3 |
| FY2025 | Strauss reported continuing manufacture and marketing in Israel of Danone-branded and Alpro products, and approximately NIS 39 million in licence, know-how and royalty costs under the Danone agreement.2 |
Corporate Overview
Danone S.A. is the listed French parent of the Danone Group and describes its business as commercial food and beverage activity across retail, e-commerce, hospitality, healthcare and pharmacy channels.10, 11 Its reviewed corporate record identifies no Israeli state ownership, Israeli controlling owner, golden share, or constitutional mandate tied to Israeli state policy.12
Danone’s 2025 subsidiary/equity-company schedule records Strauss Health Ltd in Israel at 20.00% capital ownership and accounts for it as an equity company. This establishes a minority commercial relationship, rather than a wholly owned Israeli Danone subsidiary or verified operational control.1 The record distinguishes Strauss Health from the broader Strauss Group: Strauss Group controls Strauss Health, while Strauss Holdings held approximately 50.98% of Strauss Group’s equity and voting rights in the cited disclosure, through a Strauss-family control chain.14
Danone’s country-sites directory publicly presents an Israel entry that routes users to Strauss Group’s Danone-brand page. This is evidence of brand web presentation, but does not itself establish Danone’s local office, importer-of-record status, workforce, revenue, manufacturing site, warehouse, or retail estate.15 No public evidence identified of Danone-operated offices, factories, logistics hubs, data centres or operations in the West Bank, East Jerusalem, Golan Heights, or other occupied territories.18
Domain Summaries
Military: Military
Mechanism of Involvement
Strauss Group’s November 2023 report describes adapting corporate operations for war-related activity, donating products to a mixed network of over 300 civilian and military hubs, and assigning group vehicles to distribute products and support soldiers at military centres. The FY2024 report separately records kits for about 120 reserve units and food-truck activity for soldiers.3, 4 The 300-hub figure includes civilian destinations and is not a count of military bases.3
The final assessment treats these as physical logistical support. Danone’s connection is indirect: its exclusive licensee Strauss Health is a Strauss Group subsidiary, and Danone has a 20% interest and continuing contractual relationship. The score applies I=3.8, M=6.5 and discounted P=5.8, reflecting the documented support and the absence of identified Danone products or direct participation.1, 2, 3, 4
No public evidence identified of Danone or Strauss Health contracts, tenders, framework agreements, supplier listings, or procurement relationships with the Israeli Ministry of Defense, IDF, Israel Prison Service, Border Police, or other Israeli security body in the reviewed interfaces and documents.7, 8 No public evidence identified of military-grade products, weapons, munitions, military logistics, base services, defence-prime supply, or military manufacturing involving Danone or Strauss Health.7, 11
Danone’s disclosed 20% interest in Strauss Health establishes a minority commercial equity relationship, not a verified defence relationship or evidence that Strauss Health is a defence or military-industrial entity.1
Counter-Arguments and Evidence Limits
Danone’s principal business is civilian food, beverages, packaged water and specialised nutrition; the reviewed filing identified no tactical, ruggedised or purpose-designed military product line.11 A historic statement concerning consumer-product distribution through Strauss is not evidence of military end use, and its current status was not established.16
The absence findings are source-bounded. The accessible Israeli procurement interfaces may not expose restricted, credential-gated or non-public records, so they do not constitute a database-wide negative determination.7, 8
Named Entities and Evidence Map
- Danone S.A.: no public evidence identified of direct Israeli defence contracting or military supply.7, 8
- Strauss Health Ltd: 20.00% Danone-held equity company; no public evidence identified of defence-prime supply or military contracting.1, 7
- Israeli Ministry of Defense / SIBAT: reviewed searchable interfaces did not identify a Danone- or Strauss Health-linked result.7, 8
Digital: Digital
Mechanism of Involvement
Danone describes enterprise digital transformation, including AI, cybersecurity, ERP, data governance and technology modernisation. Its 2024 Microsoft collaboration covers enterprise AI services, digital twins and data-driven decision-making in procurement, production and distribution.19, 20
No public evidence identified of Danone participation in Project Nimbus, Israeli data-centre operations, Israeli state/security technology contracts, Israeli-origin surveillance tooling, offensive cyber tools, or provision of AI, targeting, tracking or intelligence systems to Israeli state or security bodies.9, 19, 20
Counter-Arguments and Evidence Limits
The Microsoft material does not establish Israeli data hosting, Israeli-state access, or Israeli-government use of Danone systems.20 Public disclosures do not reveal Danone’s complete cloud, cybersecurity, data-processing or managed-service procurement, so the record does not support a conclusion about all indirect use of Israeli-origin tools.19, 20
No public evidence identified of a Danone-controlled Israeli data centre, R&D office or engineering office in the reviewed corporate disclosures; this does not establish the position of all distributors or third parties.21
Named Entities and Evidence Map
- Microsoft: enterprise AI collaboration; no documented Israeli state or military application.20
- Project Nimbus: Danone was not named in the cited Israeli Ministry of Finance announcement.9
- Wilk Technologies: Israeli food-technology investment relationship, not a documented surveillance, cloud or defence-technology relationship.5, 6
Economic: Economic
Mechanism of Involvement
Danone’s 20.00% equity-accounted interest in Strauss Health is the core documented economic nexus and was listed in Danone schedules by 2022 and in the current 2025 schedule.1, 22 Strauss’s FY2025 reporting describes manufacture and marketing in Israel of Danone-branded and Alpro products. It reports agreement-related licence, know-how and royalty costs of approximately NIS 39 million in 2025, NIS 37 million in 2024 and NIS 34 million in 2023.2
Danone Manifesto Ventures Europe SAS was disclosed as an interested holder in Wilk Technologies. The disclosed US$2 million investment and the proposed collaboration involve Israeli food technology, not a demonstrated Israeli state, military or settlement operation.5, 6
Counter-Arguments and Evidence Limits
The reported agreement-related costs are not Danone’s total Israel revenue, tax contribution, profit repatriation or earnings from Israel.2 The reviewed record does not disclose the investment amount in Strauss Health, its earnings contribution, dividend flows, tax payments, workforce or manufacturing footprint.1
No public evidence identified of Danone-specific importer registration, settlement-origin sourcing, named agricultural-supplier relationship, Israeli factory, Israeli sovereign-bond holding, Israel-focused fund holding, or investment in occupied territory.18, 23 The Wilk MOU was non-binding, could be terminated, and the evidence does not establish that any binding agreement was executed or remained active.6
Named Entities and Evidence Map
- Strauss Health Ltd: Israel-domiciled 20.00% equity-accounted investment and licensee.1, 2
- Strauss Group: reports Israel manufacture and marketing of Danone/Alpro products and agreement-related payments.2
- Wilk Technologies: documented Danone venture investment and unconfirmed proposed development relationship.5, 6
Political: Political
Mechanism of Involvement
The governing political act is Strauss Group’s documented use of corporate products, vehicles and food-service assets for Israeli military and security support during the crisis. The reports describe a corporate mobilisation across 2023–24, rather than only ordinary retail activity or a public statement.3, 4 Under the exclusive-partner and group-attribution rules, this supports I=9.1 and M=7.0; P=5.8 reflects Danone’s indirect connection through the current Strauss Health relationship.1, 2, 14, 3
The direct licence-only scenario is a lower alternative. The final assessment does not treat Danone as the direct operator or donor, and does not assume that donated products carried Danone or Alpro branding.2, 3, 4
The disclosed licences establish the continuing partner relationship underlying the Political attribution. The dairy licence covers Israel, Gaza and the West Bank; the plant-based licence covers Israel, Ramat Hagolan/Golan Heights, East Jerusalem, the West Bank and Gaza. The latter has a ten-year term with automatic five-year renewals subject to stated termination grounds, and FY2025 reporting does not disclose cancellation.2
The plant-based arrangement also includes specified product-related governance rights, including a Danone-appointed director’s objection right under stated conditions. These provisions establish contractual influence in the licensed arrangement, not general operational control over Strauss Health or Strauss Group.2
Counter-Arguments and Evidence Limits
Territorial licence wording does not establish an actual sale, factory, distributor, customer or retail outlet in a named settlement. No public evidence identified of a specific Danone or Strauss Health operation or transaction in a named settlement in the focused review.2 Danone was not identified as a positive listing in the reviewed OHCHR settlement-business materials or cited UN report; this is document-scoped and not proof of absence from every historic or current database edition.24, 25
The strongest additional defence is attribution. Strauss Group’s reported war-period support to soldiers, military centres and security-service units was attributed to the wider Group; the disclosures did not identify Strauss Health, Danone, Danone-branded products, Alpro-Strauss products, or an allocation of funding or goods by subsidiary.3, 4 No public evidence identified of direct Danone corporate donations to the IDF, Israeli Ministry of Defense, military-welfare funds, settlement entities, JNF/KKL, or state-aligned war-effort channels.3, 4
Named Entities and Evidence Map
- Strauss Health Ltd: minority Danone-held Israeli company and disclosed territorial licensee.1, 2
- Strauss Group Ltd: the documented actor behind the war-period support and controller of Strauss Health. The score applies indirect partner attribution, while the sources do not establish direct Danone or Strauss Health participation.14, 3, 4
- Danone Manifesto Ventures Europe SAS / Wilk Technologies: documented equity relationship with an Israeli food-technology company; current holding and governance rights were not established.5, 6
BDS-1000 Score
Method: V6.5.
| Domain | I | M | P | V-Domain Score |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Military | 3.80 | 6.50 | 5.80 | 2.92 |
| Digital | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 |
| Economic | 6.10 | 7.00 | 6.90 | 6.01 |
| Political | 9.10 | 7.00 | 5.80 | 7.54 |
- V_MAX: 7.54 Avg_OTHERS: 2.98
- BRS Score: 678 Tier: B (Severe Complicity)
V_MAX is Political (7.54), driven by the documented Strauss Group crisis mobilisation and military support under the exclusive-partner attribution rules. Military (2.92) reflects the physical logistics component of that support. Both use discounted P=5.8 because Danone’s link runs through its 20% Strauss Health interest and exclusive licences, and direct Danone participation is not established.1, 2, 3, 4 Economic (6.01) is governed by the minority equity investment; Digital remains zero because no qualifying Israeli state/security digital result was identified.1, 9
Methodology Note
- Evidence is limited to the four supplied domain audits and their cited materials.
- Scores are fixed V6.5 human-vetted results; this dossier does not recalculate, increase or reduce them.
- Impact measures activity type; M measures scale; P measures directness.
- Divested, exited or merely historical activity is mitigated and not treated as current without evidence of continuation.
- The exclusive-partner and controlled-group rules support an indirect attribution judgment from the documented continuing licences, minority interest and Strauss group relationship. The score discounts that connection; it does not assert that Danone or its branded products performed the reported acts.1, 2, 14, 3
- Settlement-related operations may bear on both Economic and Political, but territorial licence scope alone is not treated as proof of a particular settlement transaction.
- “No public evidence identified” records the result of the stated public, source-bounded checks; it is not proof of universal absence.
Footnotes
-
https://www.danone.com/content/dam/corp/global/danonecom/investors/facts---figures/listofsubsidiaries2025.pdf.coredownload.pdf ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9 ↩10 ↩11 ↩12 ↩13 ↩14 ↩15 ↩16 ↩17 ↩18 ↩19
-
https://ir.strauss-group.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/08/Reporting-Package-English-FY-2025.pdf ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9 ↩10 ↩11 ↩12 ↩13 ↩14 ↩15 ↩16 ↩17 ↩18 ↩19 ↩20 ↩21 ↩22 ↩23
-
https://ir.strauss-group.com/wp-content/uploads/2023/12/Strauss-Q3-2023-ENG.pdf ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9 ↩10 ↩11 ↩12 ↩13 ↩14 ↩15 ↩16
-
https://ir.strauss-group.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/08/Reporting-Package-FY-2024-ENG.pdf ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9 ↩10 ↩11 ↩12
-
https://mayafiles.tase.co.il/rpdf/1515001-1516000/P1515961-00.pdf ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7
-
https://mayafiles.tase.co.il/rpdf/1529001-1530000/P1529987-00.pdf ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8
-
https://www.online.mod.gov.il/ENG/pages/General/Info/start.aspx ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8
-
https://www.sibat.mod.gov.il/AdvancedSearch/Pages/default.aspx ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6
-
https://www.gov.il/en/pages/_bpress_20102022 ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7
-
https://www.danone.com/legal-pages/legal-information.html ↩ ↩2 ↩3
-
https://www.danone.com/content/dam/corp/global/danonecom/investors/en-all-publications/2025/registrationdocuments/urd2024accessibleversion.pdf ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4
-
https://www.danone.com/content/dam/corp/global/danonecom/investors/en-all-publications/2026/registrationdocuments/danoneurdaccessible.pdf ↩ ↩2
-
https://www.danone.com/gb/en/group/about-us/governance.html ↩
-
https://ir.strauss-group.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/08/Reporting-package-ENG-Q3-2025.pdf ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5
-
https://fanmilk.danone.com/footer/countries-websites.html ↩ ↩2
-
https://mayafiles.tase.co.il/RPdf/295001-296000/P295343-01.pdf ↩
-
https://www.danone.com/content/dam/corp/global/danonecom/investors/en-all-publications/2025/registrationdocuments/danoneuniversalregistrationdocument2024.pdf ↩ ↩2
-
https://www.danone.com/newsroom/stories/danone-s-digital-transformation.html ↩ ↩2 ↩3
-
https://www.danone.com/content/dam/corp/global/danonecom/medias/medias-en/2024/corporatepressreleases/pr-danone-collaborates-with-microsoft-to-accelerate-ai.pdf.coredownload.pdf ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5
-
https://www.danone.com/content/dam/corp/global/danonecom/investors/listedesfiliales2025.pdf.coredownload.pdf ↩
-
https://www.danone.com/content/dam/corp/global/danonecom/investors/danone-at-a-glance/listofsubsidiairies2022amf.pdf ↩
-
https://www.gov.il/en/service/non-animal-derived-food-importer-registration ↩
-
https://www.ohchr.org/en/press-releases/2025/09/un-human-rights-office-updates-database-businesses-involved-israeli ↩













