Enterprise Technology Stack & Vendor Relationships
-
Fairphone B.V. describes itself as a standalone Dutch entity whose principal activities are producing and trading electronic goods and components, with EU countries as its most important markets.1, 2
-
Fairphone’s legal notice and 2026 promotional terms identify Fairphone B.V. as a Dutch limited-liability company at Van Diemenstraat 200, 1013 CP Amsterdam, with KvK number 55901964 and VAT number NL851904270B01.3, 4
-
Fairphone’s 2024 audited accounts identify Raymond van Eck as CEO and managing director from 12 August 2024, Oscar Visser as CFO and managing director from 1 May 2024, Rutger Sneep as Chief Commercial Officer from 1 March 2024, Chandler Hatton as Chief Technology Officer from 1 November 2024, and Ellie Lang as Head of People and Culture from 1 October 2024.2
-
Fairphone’s current team page identifies van Eck as CEO, Hatton as CTO, Lang as Director of People and Culture, Monique Lempers as CIO, Visser as CFO, and Sneep as CCO; a 2026 Fairphone publication identifies Lempers as Chief Impact Officer, and the reviewed record does not resolve that title difference.5, 6, 7, 8
-
Clever Cloud publicly lists Fairphone as a customer, but the available announcement does not specify systems, workloads, data classes, scale, dates, or current status; the reviewed material describes Clever Cloud as a French vendor, not an Israeli-origin vendor.9
-
Fairphone’s current privacy policy identifies Auth0 and Bloomreach for My Fairphone App accounts, Zendesk for support tickets, and Firebase, Google Analytics, and Bloomreach for app-usage analysis; it also identifies Bloomreach for feedback invitations and profiles.10
-
Fairphone’s Data Disclosure Statement identifies Fairphone B.V. as the default data holder for product and related-service data, including the MyFairphone App, Fairbuds App, Fairphone Moments, and Activation Logger.11
-
The Data Disclosure Statement identifies Fairphone databases, Odoo CRM systems, Bloomreach digital-experience platforms, and/or Google Analytics tools as processing or storage contexts for related-service data; it does not identify implementation-level hosting locations, routing, processors, or access arrangements.11
-
Fairphone’s June 2017 Fairphone 2 supplier list identifies component and assembly suppliers and stated manufacturing or headquarters locations, but is pre-2020, does not establish current supplier relationships, and cautions that a listing does not necessarily establish a direct Fairphone relationship with every manufacturer.12
-
No public evidence identified in the bounded review of Fairphone licensing, subscribing to, or integrating Check Point, Wiz, SentinelOne, CyberArk, NICE, Verint, Claroty, Palo Alto Networks, or another identified Israeli-origin enterprise-security vendor.1, 10, 2, 11
-
No public evidence identified of a Fairphone systems-integrator, digital-transformation consultancy, or IT-outsourcing engagement deploying Israeli-origin technology.1, 10, 2, 11
Surveillance, Biometrics & Retail Technology
-
Fairphone’s Android Enterprise Recommended material advertises device-level fingerprint scanning and facial recognition, indicating consumer-device authentication features rather than a disclosed retail-analytics or surveillance deployment.13
-
Fairphone told Which? that its face-unlock implementation is 2D and Class 1, a convenience tier; Which? reports that Android does not permit its use for higher-stakes actions such as banking or payments.14
-
Fairphone’s Data Disclosure Statement describes local authentication-attempt history as temporarily stored in the device secure enclave; it does not identify transmission of biometric templates to Fairphone.11
-
Available sources do not identify the underlying biometric component or software supplier for these device features.13, 14, 11
-
No public evidence identified of Fairphone using Israeli-origin facial recognition, behavioural analytics, gait analysis, predictive policing, sentiment analysis, social-media monitoring, or workforce-surveillance products, directly or through a managed-service provider.1, 10, 2, 11
Cloud Infrastructure, Data Residency & Sovereign Cloud Participation
-
The My Fairphone App processes identifiers and device data including IMEI, serial number, device and network information, usage logs, and approximate IP-derived location.10
-
Fairphone’s Data Disclosure Statement states that account/profile data and device snapshots, including IMEIs, serial numbers, device model, RAM, storage, and OS build, are transmitted from app memory and retained in a backend; it also states that certain Activation Logger reports, including device identifiers and OS/build details, are uploaded to a backend.11
-
The statement distinguishes backend-related service data from numerous stock-device data categories stored locally or temporarily, including GNSS, cell-tower, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, sensor, diagnostics, secure-element, and system-log data; it does not state that all listed device data is transmitted to Fairphone.11
-
Fairphone states that it attempts to collect, store, and where applicable process personal data within the EU, EEA, and Switzerland, while allowing transfers outside those locations subject to stated safeguards.10
-
The available Fairphone records do not identify an Israeli data centre, Israeli routing point, Israeli legal-access arrangement, Israeli-controlled processor or infrastructure, or Israeli R&D controller for Fairphone customer or app data.10, 2, 11
-
Bloomreach’s public subprocessor list identifies Google Cloud EMEA in Ireland as hosting for Bloomreach Engagement/Clarity customers outside the United States, but does not identify Fairphone’s contracted Bloomreach product, configuration, region selection, or actual data flows.15
-
Bloomreach’s data-processing agreement states that it may transfer or process customer data in the United States and elsewhere where it, affiliates, or subprocessors maintain processing operations; this establishes a contractual possibility, not an actual Fairphone transfer to a particular country, including Israel.16
-
Zendesk’s subprocessor policy lists infrastructure-hosting locations in the United States, Ireland, Germany, the United Kingdom, Japan, and Australia, but does not identify Fairphone’s Zendesk regional-hosting selection or plan.17
-
For devices sold with Murena’s /e/OS, Fairphone states that the operating system’s email and cloud servers are located in Finland and operated by Murena; this does not establish the location of Fairphone’s own customer-data systems.18, 19
-
Public sources do not disclose Fairphone’s implementation-specific hosting regions, routing paths, legal-access arrangements, or subprocessor locations for its own databases, Odoo, Auth0, Bloomreach, Zendesk, Firebase, Google Analytics, or Clever Cloud.9, 10, 11
-
No public evidence identified that Fairphone operates, leases, or co-locates a data centre in Israel, or participates in Project Nimbus or another Israeli government cloud programme.1, 10, 20, 2
-
No public evidence identified that Fairphone provides data-sovereignty, resilience, cloud, or AI services to Israeli state institutions or military bodies.1, 20, 2
Defence, Intelligence & Security Sector Technology Relationships
-
Fairphone B.V. designs, produces, and sells modular, repairable smartphones rather than being described in its audited accounts as a defence or security-technology supplier.1, 2
-
Fairphone announced Eelco Blok as Chair of the Supervisory Board and Bas van Abel as a continuing supervisory-board member and co-founder; it also announced Astrid Rauchfuss, Elfrieke van Galen, Gustavo Burnier, and Besma Kraiem as board appointments, while Josephine de Zwaan stepped down.21
-
Fairphone’s 2025 Impact Report describes a two-tier board structure, a six-member management team, and supervisory-board capacity of six, but does not independently identify the current individual supervisory-board roster.22
-
Fairphone identifies Miquel Ballester as a co-founder; Waag identifies him as a Fairphone co-founder and Product & Resource Efficiency Manager.23, 24
-
Fairphone’s 31 January 2023 funding disclosure identifies a €49 million round involving Invest-NL, ABN AMRO Sustainable Impact Fund, Quadia through its Regenero Impact Fund, DALHAP, DOEN Participaties, and PDENH; it identifies Invest-NL and the ABN AMRO fund as new shareholders at that date, and the other named vehicles as existing shareholders.25, 26
-
The 2023 financing disclosure states that part of the financing settled existing loans and enabled partial exits by, among others, PYMWYMIC and more than 1,000 crowdfunders; it does not establish current ownership or ownership percentages.25, 26
-
The 2024 audited accounts record 14,213,348 Class A shares at 31 December 2024, three extraordinary general meetings and one annual general meeting during 2024, and a 26 April 2024 convertible-loan agreement with existing shareholders and “main shareholders,” including a first 2024 tranche of €2.6 million; they do not identify shareholders or lenders, ownership percentages, voting rights, or beneficial owners.2
-
No public evidence identified in the targeted review that Oscar Visser owns, controls, directs, or materially invests in an Israeli cybersecurity, surveillance, cloud, AI, data-infrastructure, or military-technology entity; Fairphone identifies him as CFO and managing director, and its April 2026 results announcement identifies him as CFO.2, 27
-
No public evidence identified in the targeted review that Miquel Ballester owns, controls, directs, or materially invests in such an Israeli technology entity; the reviewed records identify him as a Fairphone co-founder.23, 5, 24
-
No public evidence identified in the targeted review that Rutger Sneep owns, controls, directs, or materially invests in such an Israeli technology entity; the reviewed accounts record his CCO appointment effective 1 March 2024.2
-
No public evidence identified in the targeted review that Chandler Hatton owns, controls, directs, or materially invests in such an Israeli technology entity; ReFuels records identify her as a non-executive director, while a 2023 Euronext information document identifies her as CTO of ZiuZ Visual Intelligence, a Happycity partner, and a director of Chandlers Holding B.V.; neither reviewed record identifies an Israeli entity, operation, or technology investment.28, 29
-
No public evidence identified in the targeted review that Ellie Lang owns, controls, directs, or materially invests in such an Israeli technology entity; Fairphone records her October 2024 appointment and current people-and-culture role.2, 5, 6
-
No public evidence identified in the targeted review that Monique Lempers owns, controls, directs, or materially invests in such an Israeli technology entity; her reviewed external affiliations include chairing UN Global Compact Network Netherlands from June 2026 and a pre-2020 trusteeship at The Impact Facility, neither of which identifies an Israeli technology investment or operational relationship.30, 31
-
These principal-level findings are search-scoped because the reviewed records do not provide personal asset declarations, complete outside-directorship histories, family-office records, or a complete beneficial-owner register.2
-
No public evidence identified in the targeted review that Invest-NL, ABN AMRO Sustainable Impact Fund, Quadia/Regenero Impact Fund, DALHAP, DOEN Participaties, or PDENH has a material Israeli cybersecurity, surveillance, cloud, AI, data-infrastructure, or military-technology holding or operational relationship attributable to Fairphone under controlling-principal or group rules.2, 25, 26
-
Invest-NL’s public portfolio includes direct and fund investments across technology, energy, life sciences, and circular-economy sectors; its 2023 annual report records a €5 million commitment to the Dutch Security Tech Fund, described as investing in innovative Dutch data-security and cybersecurity start-ups and scale-ups, which does not identify an Israeli company or Israeli nexus.32, 33
-
ABN AMRO states that its Sustainable Impact Fund has €500 million of ABN AMRO equity committed and invests in high-growth climate-impact companies, including companies in Northwest Europe; its 2025 annual-report page records technology investments including UK-based construction-technology company Converge, but neither reviewed source identifies an Israeli holding of the fund.34, 35
-
The evidence does not establish that every named 2023 investor remains a shareholder or meets a controlling-principal threshold, because Fairphone’s accounts do not identify current shareholders, ownership percentages, voting rights, or the identities of the “main shareholders” and convertible-loan lenders.2, 25, 26
-
No public evidence identified of contracts, partnerships, service agreements, procurement awards, or documented operational deployments between Fairphone and the Israeli Ministry of Defence, IDF, intelligence agencies, Israel Police, Israel Prison Service, border bodies, or other Israeli security bodies.1, 20, 2
-
No public evidence identified that Fairphone products have been documented as deployed for Israeli military, intelligence, or law-enforcement surveillance applications in Israel or the occupied territories.1, 36, 37, 2
-
No public evidence identified of Fairphone developing, selling, licensing, or maintaining offensive cyber tools, zero-day exploits, or digital weapons systems.1, 2
AI, Algorithmic & Autonomous Systems
-
Fairphone’s publicly described product activity centres on modular consumer electronics, software support, operating-system options, and device features; the reviewed sources do not describe it as supplying AI, computer-vision, or autonomous decision-support systems.1, 2, 19, 38, 39
-
No public evidence identified of Fairphone providing AI, machine-learning, computer-vision, or autonomous decision-support systems to an Israeli state, military, intelligence, police, prison, or security body.1, 20, 2
-
The targeted review did not retrieve a Fairphone-specific Israeli public-procurement award, contract, partnership announcement, court filing, regulator record, or official Israeli-state/security-customer disclosure concerning those technologies; this search-scoped finding does not exclude undisclosed procurement, resale, end-user deployment, or device use by a public body.1, 20, 2
-
No public evidence identified that Fairphone AI models or platforms were trained on, or given access to, Israeli or occupied-territory civilian, communications, or surveillance-derived datasets.1, 10, 2, 11
-
No public evidence identified of Fairphone providing autonomous target-generation, automated threat-detection, or autonomous-tracking systems to Israeli forces.1, 2
Technology Ecosystem & R&D Footprint
-
Fairphone states that direct sales and shipping are limited to supported European countries and the United States, while global resellers are independent partners.40
-
This sales-policy statement does not identify an Israeli office, operator, distributor, or reseller, and it does not verify any particular reseller’s sales territory.40
-
Fairphone reported 132 employees, equivalent to 129 FTE, at year-end 2023, with one employee located outside the Netherlands in Germany.1
-
Fairphone’s 2024 Impact Report identifies employees in the Netherlands, Germany, France, China, and Taiwan; it does not identify legal entities, offices, controlled subsidiaries, staff, engineering operations, or R&D activity in Israel.41
-
Fairphone’s current team page includes an employee statement that they work from “the office in Taiwan”; this supports a Taiwan office or workplace but does not identify its legal entity, ownership, functions, or scale.5
-
Estonia’s official producer register lists FairPhone B.V. as a producer-representation member from 18 June 2026; this establishes a product-compliance registration in Estonia, not an Estonian subsidiary or office.42
-
French official enterprise data records a Fairphone B.V. foreign-company establishment created in 2013 and closed on 31 December 2021, characterising the sole French establishment as inactive; this is not evidence of a current French subsidiary.43
-
No public evidence identified of a Fairphone Israeli R&D centre, engineering office, innovation lab, accelerator, acquisition of an Israeli technology company, Israeli startup or fund investment, or co-development or patent arrangement with Technion, Hebrew University, or Weizmann Institute.1, 40, 2, 41
-
No public evidence identified of Fairphone-authorised sales activity or digital-service provision in West Bank, East Jerusalem, or Golan settlements.40, 2
-
As no qualifying Israel- or settlement-linked technology provision was verified, the reviewed record does not establish continuation after 19 July 2024 or after November 2024.40, 2
Civil Society Scrutiny & Regulatory History
-
The supplied document-scoped pre-scan found no Fairphone mention in the reviewed OHCHR settlement-business database updates, the UN Special Rapporteur report A/HRC/59/23, or the named civil-society reports; this does not establish database-wide or relationship-wide absence.36, 37
-
The BDS National Committee’s 2024 corporate-priority guide displays a range of corporate and technology targets but does not include Fairphone in its displayed target list; this is a document-specific finding, not a complete index of boycott activity or primary proof of corporate conduct.44
-
The retrieved Who Profits page is a searchable corporate-database interface; no Fairphone-specific company record was retrieved in the bounded review, and the interface alone cannot establish inclusion or non-inclusion.45
-
No public evidence identified in the bounded review of an Israeli state, IDF, Ministry of Defence, Project Nimbus, settlement, export-control, sanctions, regulatory, parliamentary, or court action involving Fairphone.1, 40, 36, 37, 20, 2
-
No public evidence identified in the bounded review of an organised Fairphone-specific boycott or divestment campaign grounded in technology provision to Israel or the occupied territories, or of a documented Fairphone response to such a campaign.36, 37, 2, 44, 45
-
Fairphone’s financial-information page links annual reports, but the located 2023 and 2024 accounts do not provide a complete ownership table, names of shareholders holding at least 10%, or all controlling-person vehicles.1, 20, 2
-
LEI data identifies Fairphone B.V. as an active Dutch private limited company registered with the Netherlands Chamber of Commerce under number 55901964 and records the parent non-disclosure reason as “NATURAL_PERSONS”; this does not establish the absence of a parent, shareholder, or controlling natural person.46
-
The 2024 audited accounts describe Fairphone B.V. as a standalone entity and identify no subsidiary in the reviewed accounts; this is not a complete beneficial-ownership or subsidiary-register extract.2
-
The 2024 accounts state that Fairphone was incorporated on 2 July 2015, while the LEI record gives an entity-creation date of 31 July 2012; the reviewed records do not explain whether the LEI date reflects a predecessor or registration metadata.46, 2
Footnotes
-
https://www.fairphone.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/06/Fairphone-BV-Annual-report-2023.pdf ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9 ↩10 ↩11 ↩12 ↩13 ↩14 ↩15 ↩16 ↩17 ↩18 ↩19
-
https://www.fairphone.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/11/Fairphone_BV_-_Annual-report-2024-fully-signed-ryq3tdbpptg8mp4hr439b3cu6e.pdf ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9 ↩10 ↩11 ↩12 ↩13 ↩14 ↩15 ↩16 ↩17 ↩18 ↩19 ↩20 ↩21 ↩22 ↩23 ↩24 ↩25 ↩26 ↩27 ↩28 ↩29 ↩30 ↩31 ↩32
-
https://www.fairphone.com/nl/legal/fairphone-promotions-and-offers ↩
-
https://www.fairphone.com/press/pdf/Fairphone%20Launches%20First%20Of%20Its%20Kind%20Nature%20Report%20-%202026.pdf ↩
-
https://admin.fairphone.com/stories/impact-is-where-the-work-begins ↩
-
https://corporate.ovhcloud.com/en-au/newsroom/news/ovhcloud-deep-clever-cloud-consortium/ ↩ ↩2
-
https://us.fairphone.com/legal/fairphone-privacy-policy ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9 ↩10
-
https://www.fairphone.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/09/Data-Disclosure-Statement-Fairphone.pdf ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9 ↩10 ↩11 ↩12
-
https://www.fairphone.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/06/List-of-Suppliers-June2017.pdf ↩
-
https://www.which.co.uk/news/article/why-using-face-unlock-on-a-phone-could-be-risking-your-data-az8fe2G7uX8n ↩ ↩2
-
https://support.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/4408883061530-Sub-processor-Policy ↩
-
https://www.fairphone.com/the-fairphone-gen-6-e-operating-system ↩ ↩2
-
https://www.fairphone.com/en/legal/investors-relations/ ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7
-
https://www.fairphone.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/02/Fairphone-welcomes-new-Supervisory-Board-members-for-its-next-growth-phase-1.pdf ↩
-
https://www.fairphone.com/wp-content/uploads/2026/04/Fairphone-Impact_Report-2025.pdf ↩
-
https://www.fairphone.com/stories/how-to-design-a-fairphone-101 ↩ ↩2
-
https://www.fairphone.com/wp-content/uploads/2023/01/Impact-investor-consortium-invests-E49-million-in-Fairphone.pdf ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4
-
https://www.doen.nl/en/nieuws/impact-investor-consortium-invests-49-million-in-fairphone/ ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4
-
https://www.fairphone.com/press/pdf/Fairphone%27s%20Smartphone%20Shipments%20Surged%20by%2042%25%20in%202025%20-%20Despite%20Shrinking%20Global%20Smartphone%20Market.pdf ↩
-
https://refuels.com/wp-content/uploads/2026/03/Board-Rules.pdf ↩
-
https://live.euronext.com/sites/default/files/2023-05/Refuels%20N.V.%20-%20Information%20Document%20%28FINAL%29.pdf ↩
-
https://www.unglobalcompact.nl/news/un-global-compact-nl-appoints-monique-lempers-fair ↩
-
https://www.theimpactfacility.com/introducing-our-trustees-monique-lempers/ ↩
-
https://www.invest-nl.nl/media/attachment/2024/5/22/invest_nl_jaarverslag_2023_nl.pdf ↩
-
https://www.abnamro.com/en/news/what-are-the-real-rewards-of-investing-in-sustainable-companies ↩
-
https://www.ohchr.org/en/press-releases/2025/09/un-human-rights-office-updates-database-businesses-involved-israeli ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4
-
https://support.fairphone.com/hc/en-us/articles/34512757194130-Buying-and-using-Fairphone-products-outside-of-Europe-and-the-United-States ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6
-
https://www.fairphone.com/wp-content/uploads/2025/04/Fairphone-Impact-Report-2024_1.pdf ↩ ↩2
-
https://proto.envir.ee/proto/registration/publicList?__checkbox_filter.showInactive=true&filter.organisationNameOrRegCode=80220514&filter.pageNr=0&filter.productTypeCode=&filter.protoNr=&request_locale=en ↩
-
https://annuaire-entreprises.data.gouv.fr/entreprise/799804653 ↩
-
https://lei.bloomberg.com/leis/view/724500CMLPSLXBZSUL67 ↩ ↩2