Key Findings
- Economic: Moroccanoil Israel Ltd. operates Israeli e-commerce activity and has offices in Rishon LeZion and a manufacturing plant in Ma’alot-Tarshiha.1, 2
- Digital: Moroccanoil Israel’s e-commerce policy documents collection and database storage of identifiable customer, payment, purchase, and shipping data; the record does not establish state use, precise data residency, or surveillance deployment.3, 4
- Political: No public evidence identified of verified lobbying, military-welfare or settlement-organization donations, Israeli military assistance, or a formal state or settlement partnership in the reviewed materials.5
- Not found: No public evidence identified of defence contracts, security-sector supply, military-specific products, Israeli government-cloud participation, or technology deployed for military, intelligence, or police-surveillance purposes.6, 4
Target Profile
| Field | Detail |
|---|---|
| Company Name | Moroccanoil |
| Jurisdiction | Moroccanoil Israel Ltd. is identified in available records as an Israeli-incorporated operating entity; the reviewed materials do not establish a single ultimate group jurisdiction.7, 3 |
| Headquarters | Moroccanoil’s LinkedIn profile identifies New York, New York as headquarters; this is self-published and not a legal-domicile filing.8 |
| Sector | Consumer and professional hair-care, body-care, fragrance, and salon-oriented cosmetic products.9, 10 |
| Ownership | Private group. Moroccan Oil Israel Limited, Israeli company no. 514031053, is recorded as holding 75% or more of Moroccanoil UK Limited. A 2010 decision described Ofer Tal as sole shareholder of several related entities at that time, but does not establish current ownership or control.11, 12 |
| Key Executives / Governance | Carmen Tal is identified as a co-founder. David Cohen is identified as President and CEO of Moroccanoil Japan Co., Ltd.; Ron Erenreich is identified as managing director of the disclosed Italian entity. These records do not establish global-group leadership or beneficial ownership.13, 14 |
| Israeli-Nexus Summary | Moroccanoil has a documented Israeli operating entity, Israeli retail and manufacturing footprint, and an Israeli entity recorded as controlling Moroccanoil UK Limited; no reviewed evidence substantiates military, settlement, or state-security activity.1, 2, 11, 6 |
Key Facts:
- Moroccanoil Israel Ltd. is identified as operator of the Israeli e-commerce site at 1 Moshe Levi Street, Rishon LeZion.1
- The company’s Israeli accessibility statement identifies a manufacturing plant at Koren Industrial Zone 10, Ma’alot-Tarshiha.2
- Moroccanoil states that it has offices in Canada, the United States, Israel, and Japan; it reports more than 900 employees and sales in more than 90 countries, without country-level allocation.15
Executive Summary
Moroccanoil is a consumer and professional hair-care and cosmetics brand with a documented Israeli nexus through Moroccanoil Israel Ltd. Its Israeli site identifies that company as the operator of local online sales, while the company’s accessibility statement identifies offices in Rishon LeZion and a manufacturing facility at Koren Industrial Zone 10 in Ma’alot-Tarshiha.1, 2 A 2017 safety data sheet also identified the Ma’alot-Tarshiha industrial-zone address as the plant address for Intense Hydrating Treatment.16
The strongest documented vector is economic and structural rather than military. Canadian trademark records list Moroccanoil Israel Ltd. as owner of a live MOROCCANOIL registration, and UK Companies House records Moroccan Oil Israel Limited as the sole active person with significant control of Moroccanoil UK Limited, holding 75% or more of its shares.17, 11 These records substantiate Israeli corporate and operational links, but they do not disclose the full global group chart, current ultimate beneficial ownership, dividend flows, Israel-attributable revenue, or Israeli tax contribution.11, 3
The digital score is narrower than a state-technology finding. Moroccanoil Israel’s policy documents collection and database storage of identity, contact, payment, purchase, shipping, account, website-use, and marketing or behavioural information, while the U.S. policy identifies affiliate sharing that includes Moroccanoil Israel.3, 4 Under the rubric’s Data-Exposure / Sovereignty Principle, that Israeli-operated pool of identifiable customer data supports the examiner-adjudicated Digital result. The record does not establish state access or use, exact data residency, biometric or precise-location data, surveillance deployment, or major deployment scale.3, 4
The evidence record does not substantiate a defence, security, or dual-use relationship. Moroccanoil’s public product materials concern hair colour, shampoos, conditioners, treatments, and other consumer or salon cosmetics; no public evidence identified indicates defence procurement, military-specified products, security-sector logistics, defence-prime supply, Israeli government-cloud involvement, surveillance technology, or AI systems for state-security use.9, 10, 6, 4 Nor did the reviewed sources identify Moroccanoil-operated facilities, contracts, authorized retailers, or distributors in West Bank, East Jerusalem, Golan Heights, or Israeli settlements.18
Political allegations likewise remain unverified or unsupported in the reviewed materials. No public evidence identified establishes corporate lobbying, PAC activity, military-welfare donations, settlement-organization donations, military assistance, or a formal government, state-academic, or settlement partnership.5 A Reverse Canary Mission page made allegations concerning David Cohen and Moroccanoil, but its accessible materials did not supply primary documentation sufficient to verify a relevant donation or contribution; it is therefore unresolved and not treated as a verified finding.19
Under the fixed, human-vetted V6.5 assessment, Moroccanoil receives a BRS score of 568 and Tier C, “Substantial Complicity.” This reflects the documented Israeli manufacturing, retail, trademark, and corporate-control nexus; the narrower identifiable-customer-data exposure described above; and a separate political score confined to sustained public business-as-usual Israeli operations. It does not rest on unverified donation claims, alleged occupied-territory production, state access to customer data, or unsubstantiated military or digital-security allegations.
Timeline of Relevant Events
| Date | Event |
|---|---|
| September 2007 | A later litigant’s filing quoted a declaration attributed to Ofer Tal stating that Moroccanoil Israel Ltd. purchased worldwide MOROCCANOIL rights. Because the filing alleged the declaration was false, this account is not treated as established fact.20 |
| 20 September 2007 | A registry-data republisher describes Moroccanoil Israel Ltd. as an active Israeli private company incorporated on this date; the underlying certified registrar extract was not obtained.7 |
| 2010 | A National Arbitration Forum decision described Moroccanoil, Inc., Moroccanoil Israel Ltd., and 3903150 Canada Inc. as related entities, and recorded Ofer Tal as sole shareholder at that time.12 |
| 16 March 2011 | Moroccanoil UK Limited was incorporated in the United Kingdom.21 |
| 14 February 2012 | Moroccanoil Japan Co., Ltd. was established as a Japanese sales entity.13 |
| 2012 | A CJPME boycott report recorded a campaign concerning Moroccanoil and products labelled “Made in Israel”; its suggestion of occupied-territory operations was expressly framed as a possibility, not evidence of a documented facility, contract, or address.22 |
| 28 June 2024 | Canada’s Intellectual Property Office records issuance of live MOROCCANOIL trademark registration TMA1240798 to Moroccanoil Israel Ltd.17 |
| December 2025 | Moroccanoil Israel’s accessibility statement identified offices in Rishon LeZion and a manufacturing plant at Koren Industrial Zone 10, Ma’alot-Tarshiha.2 |
| May 2026 | Moroccanoil Israel’s terms identified Moroccanoil Israel Ltd. as operator of the Israeli online store.1 |
Corporate Overview
Moroccanoil’s available corporate materials describe a globally distributed beauty business with hair-care, body-care, fragrance, and professional salon products.9, 10 Its careers page states that the group has offices in Canada, the United States, Israel, and Japan, and sells in more than 90 countries.15 Public materials also identify Moroccanoil Japan Co., Ltd.; MOROCCANOIL ITALY S.R.L.; Moroccanoil DE GmbH; and Moroccanoil UK Limited, although the reviewed record does not supply a consolidated corporate chart or establish ultimate group ownership.13, 14, 21
The Israeli entity is central to the documented nexus. Moroccanoil Israel Ltd. operates the Israeli online store and is associated with offices at 1 Moshe Levi Street, Rishon LeZion; an Israeli manufacturing plant is identified at Koren Industrial Zone 10, Ma’alot-Tarshiha.1, 2 It is also recorded as owner of a live Canadian trademark registration.17 UK Companies House identifies Moroccan Oil Israel Limited, registered under Israeli company number 514031053, as the person with significant control holding 75% or more of Moroccanoil UK Limited.11
The record also documents third-party distribution. Moroccanoil Netherlands identifies BeautyDistrict B.V. as distributor of Moroccanoil Israel Ltd. in the Netherlands.23 This establishes a named European distribution relationship, not product-ingredient sourcing, settlement activity, or a state relationship.23
Historical materials require care. The 2010 arbitration decision describes related entities and then-current sole shareholding by Ofer Tal, but it does not establish present control.12 Similarly, claims attributed to Tal in a 2014 trademark pleading are not treated as established because they appear in adversarial litigation and were challenged there.20
Domain Summaries
Military: Military
Mechanism of Involvement
No public evidence identified of Moroccanoil or its identified group entities receiving contracts from the Israeli Ministry of Defense, IDF, Israel Prison Service, Border Police, or another Israeli security body.6 The reviewed SIBAT 2018–19 directory did not identify Moroccanoil or a Moroccanoil defence-product entry.24
Moroccanoil markets hair colour, shampoos, conditioners, treatments, and colour-care products. The reviewed descriptions concern consumer and professional cosmetics rather than tactical, ruggedised, military-specified, or dual-use products.9, 10 No public evidence identified indicates militarised variants, military end-user certificates, defence-related export-control decisions, defence-prime supply relationships, weapons-system activity, infrastructure work, or military logistical support.6
Counter-Arguments and Evidence Limits
The strongest defence is the civilian character of the documented business: available materials describe beauty and salon products, not defence goods or services.9, 10 The absence of a name in the reviewed SIBAT directory is not conclusive proof of no defence activity, but the directory review supplied no positive evidence of a Moroccanoil defence offering.24 An unverified press allegation concerning production in occupied Palestinian territory was not treated as a finding because the research record lacked a substantiating primary corporate, regulatory, court, or documented-investigation source.
Named Entities and Evidence Map
- Moroccanoil Israel Ltd.: Israeli operating entity and website operator; no reviewed evidence of security procurement.1, 6
- Israeli Ministry of Defense / IDF / security bodies: no public evidence identified of contracts or supply relationships.6
- SIBAT: reviewed historical directory did not identify Moroccanoil.24
Digital: Digital
Mechanism of Involvement
Moroccanoil’s privacy materials disclose ordinary commercial web and advertising technologies, including Google Analytics, Meta and Google advertising services, TikTok, pixels, tags, cookies, web beacons, analytics tools, SDKs, browser local storage, and similar technologies.25 The Israeli policy documents collection and database storage of identity, contact, payment, purchase, shipping, account, website-use, and marketing or behavioural information, while the U.S. policy identifies affiliate sharing that includes Moroccanoil Israel.3, 25
Because Moroccanoil Israel directly operates the live e-commerce channel, the examiner applied the rubric’s Data-Exposure / Sovereignty Principle to this identifiable customer-data pool, without inferring a named state contract or actual state acquisition. The record does not establish state use, exact data residency, high-exploitability surveillance data, or major deployment scale.1, 3, 25
Moroccanoil Israel also states that it tracks products from manufacture to physical location through visible and concealed unique product codes.26 The cited source describes these codes as “like a fingerprint,” but does not establish human-biometric collection, facial recognition, a supplier, retention practices, or deployment geography.26
No public evidence identified establishes Israeli data-centre infrastructure, Project Nimbus participation, Israeli government-cloud contracts, Israeli-origin cybersecurity-vendor deployment, military or intelligence technology contracts, digital weapons, surveillance systems, or security-sector AI use.4
Counter-Arguments and Evidence Limits
The disclosed technologies are consistent with ordinary e-commerce, analytics, advertising, and product-traceability functions; the public policies do not identify cloud hosts, data-centre locations, processing routes, security vendors, or production-access scope.25 A protect.checkpoint.com redirect observed in rendered links is an indirect routing artifact, not evidence that Moroccanoil is a Check Point customer or deploys its products.27 The absence findings are limited to reviewed public sources and do not prove the absence of all undisclosed vendor relationships.
Named Entities and Evidence Map
- Moroccanoil Israel Ltd.: Israeli e-commerce operator and recipient of affiliate-sharing disclosures.1, 25
- Google, Meta, TikTok: identified advertising, analytics, or measurement platforms; no military or security use is established.25
- Check Point: no customer, licence, deployment, or procurement relationship established by the redirect artifact.27
Economic: Economic
Mechanism of Involvement
Moroccanoil’s economic nexus is documented through Israeli corporate, operational, manufacturing, retail, and intellectual-property links. Moroccanoil Israel Ltd. operates the Israeli online store, maintains Rishon LeZion offices, and is linked to a Ma’alot-Tarshiha manufacturing plant.1, 2 A 2017 safety data sheet names the same industrial-zone location as a plant address for Intense Hydrating Treatment.16
The entity is also recorded as owner of a live Canadian MOROCCANOIL trademark registration, while Moroccan Oil Israel Limited is recorded as the sole active person with significant control of Moroccanoil UK Limited, holding 75% or more of shares.17, 11 Moroccanoil Netherlands identifies BeautyDistrict B.V. as a distributor of Moroccanoil Israel Ltd.23
Open Budget displays ₪1,889,291 in government money received through recorded support and engagements during the preceding three years for Moroccanoil Israel Ltd. However, the retrieved entry does not specify authorities, dates, purposes, or underlying awards, and does not establish whether the aggregate represents procurement, subsidy, tax support, or another government relationship.28
Counter-Arguments and Evidence Limits
No public evidence identified establishes direct procurement from named Israeli agricultural exporters, sourcing from occupied territory, Israeli sovereign-bond holdings, Israel Bonds activity, acquisitions of Israeli companies, settlement-active investments, or a policy specifically governing sourcing from occupied territories.29 No public evidence identified establishes facilities, retail outlets, distributors, or authorized resellers in settlements, East Jerusalem, the West Bank, or the Golan Heights.18
The public record does not disclose Israel-market revenue, profit repatriation, tax payments, workforce size in Israel, dividend flows, or the full group ownership chain.3 The Open Budget aggregate should not be characterized as a defence contract, subsidy, or state partnership without its underlying records.28
Named Entities and Evidence Map
- Moroccanoil Israel Ltd.: Israeli e-commerce operator, manufacturing-linked entity, and Canadian trademark owner.1, 16, 17
- Moroccanoil UK Limited: UK entity whose disclosed significant controller is Moroccan Oil Israel Limited.11
- BeautyDistrict B.V.: Dutch distributor of Moroccanoil Israel Ltd.23
- Open Budget: republishes government-site data but does not identify the basis of the displayed aggregate.28
Political: Political
Mechanism of Involvement
The political score reflects the directness of Moroccanoil’s documented Israeli corporate presence rather than substantiated political advocacy or state partnership. Moroccanoil Israel Ltd. operates an Israeli retail site and is associated with offices and manufacturing in Israel.1, 2 Its ownership of a live Canadian trademark and recorded control of Moroccanoil UK Limited further document an Israeli corporate nexus.17, 11
Moroccanoil’s official history page identifies Carmen Tal as a co-founder but contains no Israel–Palestine conflict statement on the page reviewed.13 That page-level result does not establish company-wide silence.13
Counter-Arguments and Evidence Limits
No public evidence identified supports a verified corporate statement on the conflict, lobbying filing, PAC activity, military-welfare donation, settlement-organization donation, military assistance, or formal partnership with an Israeli government body, state academic institution, or settlement entity.5 The unresolved Reverse Canary Mission allegations concerning David Cohen lack the primary donation, grant, filing, contract, or comparable documentary support necessary to treat them as verified.19
The supplied full-text checks did not identify Moroccanoil in the specified 2023 or 2025 OHCHR settlement-business materials or the UN Special Rapporteur report. These are document-scoped absences and do not establish absence from every database version, affiliate listing, NGO record, court record, or primary source.30
Named Entities and Evidence Map
- Carmen Tal: identified as co-founder; current shareholding or governance authority is not established in the reviewed material.13
- David Cohen: identified as President and CEO of Moroccanoil Japan Co., Ltd.; the reviewed record does not establish global-group authority or verify alleged political contributions.13, 19
- Moroccanoil Israel Ltd.: Israeli operator and corporate-rights holder; no state-geopolitical corporate mission is established.1, 17
- OHCHR / UN Special Rapporteur materials: supplied document-scoped checks did not name Moroccanoil.30
BDS-1000 Score
Method: V6.5.
| Domain | I | M | P | V-Domain Score |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Military | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 | 0.00 |
| Digital | 5.50 | 5.50 | 9.00 | 4.32 |
| Economic | 6.30 | 7.00 | 9.10 | 6.30 |
| Political | 3.50 | 7.00 | 9.00 | 3.50 |
- V_MAX: 6.30 Avg_OTHERS: 2.61
- BRS Score: 568 Tier: C (Substantial Complicity)
V_MAX is driven by Economic, reflecting the documented Israeli manufacturing, retail, trademark, and corporate-control nexus. Digital is separately limited to the Israeli-operated identifiable customer-data exposure confirmed by the examiner; it does not assert state use, data residency, or surveillance deployment. Political reflects sustained public business-as-usual Israeli operations, while the audited military record is zero because no public evidence identified substantiates a defence or security relationship. The V6.5 assessment is scale-free, evidence-only, and human-vetted; it does not convert unresolved allegations or document-scoped absences into affirmative findings.
Methodology Note
- Evidence is limited to the four supplied domain audits and their cited documentary record.
- Impact assesses activity type; M assesses scale; P assesses directness. Scores are not a measure of moral intent, market popularity, or a legal finding.
- Divested or exited operations are mitigated rather than treated as current activity where the evidence supports divestment or exit.
- Entity attribution is specific: related entities, historical ownership, distributors, and alleged associates do not automatically establish responsibility for another entity’s conduct.
- Settlement operations may be assessed in both Economic and Political where documentary evidence establishes them; no such operation was established here.
- “No public evidence identified” means the specified reviewed checks produced no substantiating evidence; it is not proof of universal absence.
Footnotes
-
https://il.moroccanoil.com/policies/terms-of-service ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8 ↩9 ↩10 ↩11 ↩12 ↩13
-
https://il.moroccanoil.com/pages/%D7%94%D7%A6%D7%94%D7%A8%D7%AA-%D7%A0%D7%92%D7%99%D7%A9%D7%95%D7%AA ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8
-
https://www.moroccanoil.com/pages/moroccanoil-privacy-policy ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8
-
https://il.moroccanoil.com/policies/privacy-policy ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6
-
https://www.reversecanarymission.org/person/david-cohen ↩ ↩2 ↩3
-
https://www.sibat.mod.gov.il/Industries/directory/Documents/Sibatdir-dfs-en-2018-19.pdf ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7
-
https://en.checkid.co.il/company/MOROCCANOIL%2BISRAEL%2BLTD-VBorw6N-514031053 ↩ ↩2
-
https://www.moroccanoil.com/collections/color-care ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5
-
https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/07566458/persons-with-significant-control ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7 ↩8
-
https://www.adrforum.com/domaindecisions/1355353.htm ↩ ↩2 ↩3
-
https://www.moroccanoil.com/pages/our-story ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7
-
https://jp.moroccanoil.com/pages/company-information-japan ↩ ↩2
-
https://moroccanoilprofessionals.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/11/SDS41.body_.INTENSE.HYDRATING.TREATMENT.ver_.1.pdf ↩ ↩2 ↩3
-
https://ised-isde.canada.ca/cipo/trademark-search/2006582 ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6 ↩7
-
https://www.reversecanarymission.org/person/david-cohen ↩ ↩2 ↩3
-
https://ttabvue.uspto.gov/ttabvue/ttabvue-92059697-CAN-1.pdf ↩ ↩2
-
https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/07566458 ↩ ↩2
-
https://d3n8a8pro7vhmx.cloudfront.net/cjpme/pages/1103/attachments/original/1432233030/154-En-Moroccan-Oil-v3.pdf?1432233030= ↩
-
https://nl.moroccanoil.com/policies/terms-of-service ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4
-
https://www.sibat.mod.gov.il/Industries/directory/Documents/Sibatdir-dfs-en-2018-19.pdf ↩ ↩2 ↩3
-
https://il.moroccanoil.com/policies/privacy-policy ↩ ↩2 ↩3 ↩4 ↩5 ↩6
-
https://moroccanoilprofessionals.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/11/SDS41.body_.INTENSE.HYDRATING.TREATMENT.ver_.1.pdf ↩
-
https://www.un.org/unispal/wp-content/uploads/2023/06/OHCHRDATABASEOPT_300630.pdf ↩ ↩2










