INDEX / DIRECTORY / NOKIA / DIGITAL

Nokia DIGITAL

DIGITAL INFRASTRUCTURE AUDIT UPDATED 2026-09-11
Digital Score 4.00 /10 C Nokia - BDS-1000 568
Digital 4.00

Evidence-only forensic audit. Scoring happens downstream - see the main dossier for the composite assessment.

Forensic audits like this are reader-funded - no sponsors, no ads. Support OpenIntel →

Enterprise Technology Stack & Vendor Relationships

Nokia is a Finnish public limited-liability company domiciled in Helsinki, with operational headquarters in Espoo and shares listed on Nasdaq Helsinki and the New York Stock Exchange.1 Nokia’s principal-company schedule includes Nokia Solutions and Networks Oy, Nokia Technologies Oy, Nokia of America Corporation, Nokia Solutions and Networks B.V., Nokia Networks France, Nokia Solutions and Networks India Private Limited, Nokia Solutions and Networks Japan G.K., and Infinera Corporation; the schedule is not a complete affiliate register.2

Nokia’s affiliate register identifies Nokia Solutions and Networks Israel Ltd. as an Israeli affiliate, while Nokia’s office directory lists an Israel location at Atir Yeda 16, Kfar Sava.3, 4 Nokia’s 2025 annual report lists Nokia Solutions and Networks Israel Ltd. and Infinera (Israel) Ltd. as wholly owned Nokia Group entities domiciled in Israel as at 31 December 2025.5 A Norwegian registry entry records Nokia Solutions and Networks Israel Ltd. at the same Kfar Sava address as a foreign-registered enterprise in telecommunications; neither that entry nor Nokia’s directory identifies directors, customers, operational remit, data-processing functions, or a site in occupied territory.4, 6

IATI’s January 2025 profile states that Nokia Israel provided “comprehensive communication infrastructure services,” ranging from consulting to product supply, to major Israeli telecommunications companies and unspecified “government entities.”7 The source does not name a government recipient, product model, software title, contract, value, delivery date, or procurement vehicle.7 It describes Nokia Israel’s functions as software development, product management, sales, solutions engineering, technical support, project execution, and logistics, and its engineering work as analytics, AI, network monetisation, and automation for communications-service-provider products worldwide; it does not state that those particular products or functions were supplied to government entities.7

Cellcom’s SEC-filed 2021 Form 20-F states that it entered a 2014 framework agreement with NSN Israel, described as a Nokia Networks Group member, for an LTE/LTE-Advanced network and related services, including prior NSN equipment and services for GSM/GPRS/EDGE/UMTS/HSPA core and radio-access networks.8 The filing states that Cellcom bought NSN network-core components for 4G VoLTE and radio-access equipment for 4G/5G frequencies in 2020, with annual maintenance purchase eligibility through March 2030.8 This establishes a commercial communications-infrastructure relationship with Cellcom, rather than an Israeli-state recipient, and does not establish Nokia access to customer data, data hosting, or state access to the network.8

No public evidence identified in the reviewed materials that Nokia licenses, subscribes to, or integrates Check Point, Wiz, SentinelOne, CyberArk, NICE, Verint, Claroty, Palo Alto Networks, or comparable Israeli-origin enterprise-security products.9, 10 no public evidence identified of a disclosed systems-integrator engagement requiring deployment of an Israeli-origin security or enterprise-software product.9, 10

Surveillance, Biometrics & Retail Technology

No public evidence identified in the reviewed source set that Nokia uses Israeli-origin facial recognition, biometrics, gait analysis, retail analytics, predictive policing, sentiment analysis, social-media monitoring, or workforce-surveillance products.10, 11 no public evidence identified that such technology reaches Nokia through a documented managed-service, platform, or bundled-suite deployment.10, 11

No public evidence identified that Nokia supplies Israeli state or security bodies with biometrics, predictive monitoring, population-data training, surveillance-derived datasets, or surveillance-dataset access.10, 11, 7 The available materials do not identify Nokia-operated surveillance infrastructure, customer-data hosting, or state-body access arising from Nokia’s commercial carrier relationship with Cellcom.8

Cloud Infrastructure, Data Residency & Sovereign Cloud Participation

Nokia’s 2025 Binding Corporate Rules legal-entity list includes Nokia Solutions and Networks Israel Ltd., corroborating Nokia’s Israeli legal-entity presence.12 The reviewed corporate and registry materials do not identify an Israeli Nokia data centre, colocation facility, cloud region, or the storage, routing, or processing location for data handled by Nokia’s Israeli entities.4, 5, 12, 6

No public evidence identified of Nokia participation in Project Nimbus or provision of Israel-specific data-residency, sovereign-cloud, or resilience services to Israeli state or military bodies.10, 11, 12 Nokia’s 2024 annual report describes acquisitions including Rapid and Fenix, but does not identify an Israeli-government cloud initiative or Nimbus contract.10

No public evidence identified of data routing, storage, lawful-access arrangements, Israeli-controlled infrastructure, or Nokia access to Israeli customer communications or location data connected to Nokia’s Israeli operations.1, 4, 12

Defence, Intelligence & Security Sector Technology Relationships

IATI’s January 2025 profile says that Nokia’s identified telecommunications-company customers regarded it as a critical-infrastructure provider intended to support uninterrupted service during war and national emergencies.7 The profile names Cellcom, Bezeq, Bezeq International, HOT, HOT Mobile, and IBC Unlimited as telecommunications companies, but does not identify the unspecified “government entities” it separately references.7 Accordingly, the stated continuity result cannot be attributed to a named government recipient, agency, site, system, or contract.7

No public evidence identified in the reviewed official Nokia materials, corporate disclosures, IATI booklet, registry records, and targeted sources of a current Nokia contract, partnership, or service agreement with the Israeli Ministry of Defense, IDF, intelligence agencies, police, prisons, border authorities, or another named Israeli security body.1, 5, 7, 6 The available IATI disclosure does not establish whether the unspecified government-entity work supported civilian administrative communications, digital continuity, military, police, prison, intelligence, border, occupation, or settler capability.7 no public evidence identified of Nokia supplying offensive cyber capabilities, zero-day tools, digital weapons systems, autonomous targeting, target-generation, fire-control, or autonomous-tracking systems to Israeli forces.10, 11, 7

Nokia’s 2024 annual report records its acquisition of U.S.-based Fenix Group to strengthen Nokia’s wider defence-industry position, but does not identify an Israel-linked customer, deployment, or intermediary.10

A 2015 trade-press report stated that Alcatel-Lucent Israel won a Ministry of Defense procurement concerning planning, establishment, operation, upgrade, and maintenance of IDF communications sites, reportedly valued at NIS 15 million for three years, including work on communications systems connected to military optical-fibre infrastructure.13 The Ministry of Defense describes its current Applications and Technology Department as managing defence-establishment information and communications infrastructure, internal communications networks, and data centres, but does not identify Nokia, Alcatel-Lucent, or that reported procurement.14 No underlying tender notice, award record, contract, invoice, official Nokia confirmation, or evidence of continuation after the reported term was located in the supplied research; this remains a contemporaneous trade-press report of historical Alcatel-Lucent Israel activity, not a verified current Nokia contract.13

A 2018 technology-news report stated that Alcatel-Lucent responded to an Israeli Ministry of Defense request for information for a military-networking contract and that ECI Telecom received the reported award.15 The underlying procurement record was not independently verified in the supplied materials, so the report supports alleged RFI participation only and does not establish a Nokia or Alcatel-Lucent award.15

AI, Algorithmic & Autonomous Systems

IATI’s January 2025 directory describes Nokia Solutions and Networks Israel Ltd.’s engineering work as including analytics, AI, network monetisation, and automation for communications-service-provider products worldwide.7 The directory states that Nokia Israel had approximately 150 employees across development, product, commercial, support, execution, and logistics functions, but does not identify a state or security customer, data-processing location, or work for Israeli military or intelligence bodies.7

No public evidence identified that Nokia AI/ML, computer vision, autonomous decision-support, population-data training, or surveillance-derived dataset systems are supplied to Israeli state or security bodies.10, 11, 7 no public evidence identified of Nokia supplying autonomous targeting, target-generation, fire-control, or autonomous-tracking systems to Israeli forces.10, 11

Technology Ecosystem & R&D Footprint

Nokia acquired Rapid’s technology assets and R&D unit on 13 November 2024, and stated that the assets included a public API marketplace and enterprise API hub for designing, building, testing, sharing, managing, and exposing APIs.9 Nokia stated that the transaction closed on the same day, had undisclosed financial terms, and was intended to expand its Network as Code/API ecosystem.9 Contemporary Israeli business reporting described Rapid as an Israeli API company, while Nokia’s official announcement did not identify an Israeli government, military, settlement, or occupied-territory customer or deployment.9, 16

Nokia Siemens Networks completed its acquisition of carrier-Ethernet specialist Atrica on 7 January 2008 and stated that Atrica’s portfolio would be integrated into its carrier-Ethernet offering.17 Contemporary Israeli business reporting described Atrica as an Israeli company, but the supplied research does not establish the current status of the former Atrica operation as a distinct unit.18

The Israeli Innovation Authority’s current grant-recipient registry lists Nokia Solutions and Networks Israel Ltd., company number 512897216, at the Kfar Sava address.19 The available registry page does not disclose a grant date, value, programme, project, deliverables, or state-security customer, and does not establish procurement or deployment.19

European Commission CORDIS records show Nokia Solutions and Networks Israel Ltd. participated as an Israeli private for-profit participant in the EU-funded SONATA project, “Service Programming and Orchestration for Virtualized Software Networks,” from 1 July 2015 to 31 December 2017, with participant total costs of €326,980.20 The record concerns virtualised-network service development and orchestration and identifies no Israeli-state or security customer.20 Histadrut reported on 10 June 2025 that the National Labor Court confirmed its representative status for Nokia Solutions and Networks Israel Ltd. employees, evidencing employment by the entity at that date but not identifying customers, data operations, or technical deliverables.21

No public evidence identified of a Nokia co-development or licensing arrangement with Technion, Hebrew University, Weizmann Institute, or another Israeli research institution in the reviewed material.9, 10, 7

Civil Society Scrutiny & Regulatory History

The supplied document-scoped full-text checks found no Nokia mention in the OHCHR’s 30 June 2023 settlement-business database, the OHCHR’s 2025 update, or the UN Special Rapporteur’s A/HRC/59/23 report.22, 23, 11 Those are document-scoped absences only and do not establish absence of settlement-related, state, military, or other activity outside the reviewed records.22, 23, 11 no public evidence identified in the reviewed sources of Nokia digital products, services, platforms, resellers, or licensees serving settlements in the West Bank, East Jerusalem, or the Golan Heights.22, 23

No public evidence identified in the reviewed materials of an organised boycott or divestment campaign specifically directed at Nokia for technology provision to Israel or occupied territories, or of a Nokia response to such a campaign.10, 22, 23, 11 no public evidence identified in the reviewed materials of export-control, sanctions, regulatory, or legal action concerning Nokia technology sales or services to Israeli state entities.10, 22, 23, 11

Nokia’s 2025 Form 20-F states that Nokia is not, to its knowledge, directly or indirectly owned or controlled by another corporation or government.1 It reports BlackRock beneficial ownership as of 1 July 2025 of 373,750,775 Nokia shares and 9,252,262 ADSs, approximately 6.85% and 0.16% respectively, and an FMR LLC notification dated 2 March 2026 representing approximately 5.04% of shares and 4.83% of voting rights; it identifies no shareholder holding at least 10%.1

Current Nokia materials identify Timo Ihamuotila as Board Chair and Justin Hotard as President and CEO; Nokia states that Hotard became CEO on 1 April 2025.24, 25 The current Board roster is Thomas Saueressig, Timo Ahopelto, Elizabeth Crain, Thomas Dannenfeldt, Pernille Erenbjerg, Lisa Hook, Mike McNamara, Meredith Whittaker, Kai Öistämö, and Ihamuotila.24 Nokia’s management-shareholding disclosure reports, as of 17 August 2026, that Ihamuotila held 345,394 Nokia shares, Hotard held 1,015,578 shares, and Chief Geopolitical and Government Relations Officer Mikko Hautala held 35,304 shares.26 Nokia’s 2025 reporting-period Board composition differed, with Sari Baldauf as Chair and Ihamuotila as Vice Chair.1

Nokia’s March 2026 candidate-resume document provides a consolidated record of the nine named current directors’ disclosed current and past professional roles, but does not identify Israeli equity, Israel-based board memberships, donations, foundations, or Israeli cyber, surveillance, AI, defence, settlement, or digital-infrastructure investments for those persons.27 The following are completed-search findings rather than comprehensive clearances, because public biographies and ordinary web searches cannot establish the absence of undisclosed private holdings, family-office interests, donations, or investments by entities not publicly associated with a director.27

No public evidence identified in completed searches of an Israel-related personal equity holding, board role, donation, advocacy act, or investment for Thomas Saueressig.27, 28 SAP identifies his external board membership as Nokia; his SAP executive responsibilities are employer roles and are not treated as personal acts.28

Timo Ahopelto is publicly identified as a founding partner of Lifeline Ventures and as holding various private-company board positions, but the reviewed sources did not identify an Israeli portfolio company, personal Israeli shareholding, Israeli board appointment, donation, or relevant investment.29, 27 His 18 October 2013 personal post discussed Israel’s public policy for attracting foreign capital and its technology ecosystem favourably, including an OrbiMed fund described as investing in Israeli companies.30 The post identifies no Ahopelto, Lifeline Ventures, or Nokia transaction, recipient, investment vehicle, company, ownership interest, beneficiary, or participation in Israel.30 Ahopelto’s role evidenced by that item is author of commentary, dated 18 October 2013; no ownership, control, board role, donation, investment relationship, downstream digital result, deployment, customer, state recipient, or technology outcome was documented.30

No public evidence identified in completed searches of Israel-related equity, a board role, donation, advocacy, foundation vehicle, or investment for Elizabeth Crain.27 Her disclosed roles include Consello advisory partner and Core Scientific director, which do not in the reviewed record establish an Israel nexus.27

No public evidence identified in completed searches of Israel-related equity, board role, donation, advocacy, foundation vehicle, or investment for Thomas Dannenfeldt.27 Nokia’s disclosure lists T-Mobile US and past Deutsche Telekom-related roles, without an identified Israel-linked personal act.27

No public evidence identified in completed searches of Israel-related equity, board role, donation, advocacy, foundation vehicle, or investment for Pernille Erenbjerg.27 Nokia’s disclosure lists boards at Genmab, RTL Group, KK Wind Solutions, and GlobalConnect, without an identified Israel-linked personal act.27

No public evidence identified in completed searches of Israel-related equity, board role, donation, advocacy, foundation vehicle, or investment for Lisa Hook.27 Her disclosed boards and advisory roles include FIS, Philip Morris International, NextNav, Zayo, and Trilantic Capital Partners; the reviewed sources do not identify a relevant Israeli personal investment or board role.27

No public evidence identified in completed searches of Israel-related equity, board role, donation, advocacy, foundation vehicle, or investment for Mike McNamara.27 The disclosed record lists his former Target and Tesco executive roles and former Hawaiian Holdings directorship, without a relevant Israel-linked personal act.27

No public evidence identified in completed searches of Israel-related equity, board role, donation, advocacy, foundation vehicle, or investment for Meredith Whittaker.27 Nokia identifies her Signal Foundation, AI Now, NYU, Google, FTC, and Hubert Burda Media roles; these employer and non-profit roles are not attributed as personal Israel-related acts.27 Time reports that Signal is a non-profit without equity ownership, but that organisational fact does not establish Whittaker’s personal holdings or Israel-related activity.31

No public evidence identified in completed searches of Israel-related equity, board role, donation, advocacy, foundation vehicle, or investment for Kai Öistämö.27 Öistämö is disclosed as Vaisala CEO and Kvanted venture partner, and Kvanted describes his investment-evaluation role in industrial technology, but the reviewed material identifies no Israeli portfolio company or relevant Israeli investment.27, 32

No verified Israel-related equity, board role, donation, advocacy act, or investment in cyber, surveillance, AI, defence, settlement-linked, or digital-infrastructure entities was identified in the targeted research for Hotard, Ihamuotila, or Hautala.24, 33, 26, 25, 34, 35, 29 Hautala’s Nokia biography identifies his global government-affairs role and Finnish academic, foundation, legal, and governance roles, without describing an Israel-related external board seat, investment, donation, or advocacy activity.33, 34 Ihamuotila’s disclosed additional board roles are Kone Oyj and Oras Invest Oy, without an Israel-related role listed.35

No other qualifying director-linked act was confirmed in the completed focused research; therefore, no additional beneficiary, date, ownership or control relationship, or downstream digital result can be documented from the reviewed records.27, 30 Ahopelto’s disclosed “various board positions in private companies” are not individually enumerated in Nokia’s résumé, and the reviewed sources did not identify Israeli holdings among them.27 The reviewed sources establish certain employer, board, or venture roles, but do not prove that every organisation in those wider networks lacks Israeli operations; employer activity is not attributed to a director without evidence of a personal Israel-related act.27, 28, 32, 31

This is a scoped no-evidence finding rather than a comprehensive clearance: person-by-person examination was not completed for every Group Leadership Team member, BlackRock, FMR, their affiliates, or associated personal and family-office entities.1, 24, 33, 26 No confirmed principal-linked Israel-related act was identified beyond Ahopelto’s non-transactional 2013 commentary; therefore, no beneficiary, date, ownership or control relationship, or downstream digital result can be documented for a confirmed investment, donation, board role, or operational technology act from the reviewed records.27, 30 BlackRock describes its stewardship as undertaken for client assets, and Fidelity describes itself as a privately held investment manager; those materials do not establish either as a controlling owner of Nokia or identify Nokia-related Israel-directed action.36, 37

Footnotes

  1. https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/924613/000162828026015034/nok-20251231.htm 2 3 4 5 6 7

  2. https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/924613/000162828026015034/R69.htm

  3. https://www.nokia.com/privacy/notices/affiliates/

  4. https://www.nokia.com/contact-us/worldwide-offices/europe/ 2 3 4

  5. https://www.nokia.com/system/files/2026-03/nokia-annual-report-2025.pdf 2 3

  6. https://virksomhet.brreg.no/nb/oppslag/enheter/918674594 2 3

  7. https://iati.co.il/wp-content/uploads/2025/01/Booklet-2025.pdf 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14

  8. https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1385145/000117891321001059/zk2125758.htm 2 3 4

  9. https://www.nokia.com/newsroom/nokia-acquires-rapid-technology-and-rd-unit-to-strengthen-development-of-network-api-solutions-and-ecosystem/ 2 3 4 5 6

  10. https://www.nokia.com/system/files/2025-04/nokia-annual-report-2024_1.pdf 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14

  11. https://docs.un.org/en/A/HRC/59/23 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11

  12. https://www.nokia.com/sites/default/files/2025-08/binding-corporate-rules-for-data-processor_public-version-legal-entities.pdf 2 3 4

  13. https://www.pc.co.il/news/200878/ 2

  14. https://mod.gov.il/en/departments/applications-and-technology-department

  15. https://www.calcalistech.com/ctech/articles/0%2C7340%2CL-3728575%2C00.html 2

  16. https://en.globes.co.il/en/article-nokia-acquires-israeli-api-co-rapid-1001494030

  17. https://nokia.gcs-web.com/static-files/0107e1a0-e6a0-45f8-b1ac-20adcf5471d8

  18. https://en.globes.co.il/en/article-1000267727

  19. https://innovationisrael.org.il/%D7%A2%D7%9E%D7%95%D7%93-%D7%96%D7%95%D7%9B%D7%99%D7%9D/ 2

  20. https://cordis.europa.eu/project/id/671517 2

  21. https://global.histadrut.org.il/news/histadrut-secures-major-legal-victory-national-labor-court-upholds-union-representation-at-nokia-israel/

  22. https://www.ohchr.org/sites/default/files/documents/hrbodies/hrcouncil/sessions-regular/session31/database-hrc3136/23-06-30-Update-israeli-settlement-opt-database-hrc3136.pdf 2 3 4 5

  23. https://www.ohchr.org/en/press-releases/2025/09/un-human-rights-office-updates-database-businesses-involved-israeli 2 3 4 5

  24. https://www.nokia.com/we-are-nokia/leadership-and-governance/board-of-directors/meet-the-board/ 2 3 4

  25. https://www.nokia.com/we-are-nokia/leadership-and-governance/group-leadership-team/justin-hotard/ 2

  26. https://www.nokia.com/about-us/investors/stock-information/management-shareholding/ 2 3

  27. https://www.nokia.com/sites/default/files/2026-03/appendix-1-resumes-2026.pdf 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22

  28. https://www.sap.com/belgique/about/company/leadership/thomas-saueressig.html 2 3

  29. https://www.nokia.com/we-are-nokia/leadership-and-governance/board-of-directors/timo-ahopelto/ 2

  30. https://timoahopelto.com/ 2 3 4 5

  31. https://time.com/6238482/signals-president-meredith-whittaker-interview/ 2

  32. https://www.kvanted.com/insights/%E2%80%9Cthe-industrial-tech-scene-is-ready-for-a-revolution%E2%80%9D-%E2%80%93-introducing-kai-%C3%B6ist%C3%A4m%C3%B6-venture-partner-at-kvanted 2

  33. https://www.nokia.com/we-are-nokia/leadership-and-governance/group-leadership-team/ 2 3

  34. https://www.nokia.com/we-are-nokia/leadership-and-governance/group-leadership-team/mikko-hautala/ 2

  35. https://www.nokia.com/we-are-nokia/leadership-and-governance/board-of-directors/timo-Ihamuotila/ 2

  36. https://www.blackrock.com/corporate/insights/thought-leadership/investment-stewardship

  37. https://about.fidelity.com/